We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday stay”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“birthday stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband had booked 2 nights at the hotel as a birthday suprise. The room ( room 12) was large and very quiet as situated at the rear of hotel. The room was furnished to a good standard and the bathroom was large and very clean ,the beds were lovely and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly.We dinned in the Ivy Brasserie the first night although the food was very good and the service exellent, the atmosphere was very bland. As hotel guests we thought paying a service charge on the food bill was a bit of a cheek !!! Although we had full breakfast , choice for continental option was VERY sparse. Would stay at this hotel if visiting York again as location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of hotel as busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEFAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to learn of your enjoyable birthday stay at The Grange. I am also pleased that the level of service, hospitality and cuisine provided met with your approval. As always I listen to what guests say and as you mentioned the sparse selection of the continental breakfast I am reviewing the selection on offer, however please note that as our rates are inclusive of Full Yorkshire (English) Breakfast most guests opt for the latter selection.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future

Regards

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    365
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
154
708
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We stayed here for a short break in York. The hotel is far enough from the city centre to be away from the city centre bustle, but close enough to walk in. The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay. However, you have a feeling that the hotel ought to be better and it just misses somewhere - can't quite put my finger on it. Perhaps the level of service is more large hotel chain and this is an individual hotel where you expect that little extra. Having said that we would happlily stay here again when visiting York.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaterondryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor.

Although I am delighted to read you will be happy to stay at The Grange again I am rather inquisitive as to what else we could do to make guests more comfortable. As you stated we are a privately owned hotel and I will welcome any suggestions at gm@grangehotel.co.uk no matter how small they are.

I very much look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future

Best wishes

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Does it deserve 2 rosettes. Food adverage, not much choice in the menu, particularly the desserts, and 'soup of the day' was the same every evening (we stayed 4 nights). No atmosphere, and as a hotel guest, paying a service charge, what a "rip off".

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that you found our cuisine to be average. We hardly ever get negative comments about the aforementioned; with two restaurants o site we normally meet most guests’ expectations and go as far to say that some guests even commented on how extensive the selection is, however there is no excuse as to why we had the same soup on four consecutive nights. I already mentioned this to the chef as it is not acceptable.

I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to place your review on trip advisor. I wish you brought the above to the management attention as we could have addressed it immediately

Yours

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed at The Grange Hotel in York for business and the hotel itself is full of old world charm. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food 9I had room service) was also very good. I would advise anyone booking this hotel to request NOT to stay in room 13. i can honestly say I had a terrible nigts sleep which was due to all the creaking floor boards as people above me walked about. It sounds very silly but i can assure you it sounded like I was trying to sleep in a subway under a railway line or something. The staff were very sweet about the issue but there were no spare rooms so I had o put up with it.

Room Tip: Not room 13!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Guest

I am sorry to hear that you had an uncomfortable stay with us. Having inspected the floor boards they are slightly noisy and in due course we will endeavour to remedy the noise.

I am pleased to read that the cuisine, the level of service and hospitality provided met with your approval.

Hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again to The Grange in the not too distant future.

Yours


George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had one night at the hotel, wish I had two. My first impression was OLD, but as we moved on in I realised that it was in good shape, it was just the original style was maintained. We had requested two single beds in one of the rooms. Upon arrival at the hotel this was not done, but very quickly rectified once we notified the front desk.
The resturant at the hotel was AMAZING! We had dinner there and we all enjoyed what we ordered and the serving staff were very warm and friendly. We were the last table and they did not hustle us out so that they could go home.
The hotel is easily within walking distance to all the sites (10 mins), yet far enough away for peace & quiet of a small town.

Room Tip: The single room is VERY small, bt well put together. If you have confinment issues, don't book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triniruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and the level of service, hospitality and cuisine met with your approval.

We hope to have to pleasure of welcoming you again to The Grange in the not too distant future

Best

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Excellent hotel, the room we stayed in was better than we anticipated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the Ivy Brasserie and the quality of food was excellent. We were welcomed like family and the staff were courteous and obliging. Definitely worth another visit, we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10, it was at the back of the hotel and so was very quiet. The bed was very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Kenneally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor

I am delighted to learn of your enjoyable stay and we surpassed your expectation – it is our ongoing mission.

I am also delighted to read that the level of service, hospitality and cuisine met with your approval.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future

Best wishes

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

we really enjoyed our stay here, we paid a little bit extra to stay in a nicer hotel as it was a special trip way, really glad we did.
very nice.
Would recommend to friends.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clairelouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at The Grange Hotel.

Thank you also for commenting about recommend The Grange to friends

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing