We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very let down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked a table of nine at The Ivy Brasserie to celebrate my sons 18th birthday with family on the 17th December

The starters were perfect - just what you would expect from a restaurant with two rosettes. It went quickly down hill from there. The service was very slow and when the main courses finally arrived all were on cold plates. Three people had ordered rump of lamb which was uncooked in the middle - the waitress who was very apologetic confirmed they were raw in the middle. A medium rare steak (which should be pink in the middle?) had been cremated. The dishes were sent back which after a long wait did arrive perfectly cooked.

After ordering sweets we had another very long wait - five apple crumbles arrived stone cold. The waitress who was even more apologetic took them back and we had a further long wait during which a waiter asked those that were sat politely with their choice in front of them waiting for the apple crumbles to come back hot whether they had finished. The Apple crumbles then arrived back - thankfully hot - and we're served at the same time as coffee was served.

Having asked to see a manger the wine waiter appeared and asked if I could leave a number so one could call me. We did this but no one called so I e-mailed the general manager to give them an opportunity to get in touch before I resorted to a negative review. I am still waiting forthe call.

Over the years I have recommended this hotel to quite a few people. I could accept that we had a one off bad experience if we had got a call as we had been promised but unfortunately it seems the hotel doesn't care so my recommendation to anyone will be go somewhere else in future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    352
    166
    81
    30
See reviews for
148
676
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quorn, Loughborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our second Christmas visit to The Grange, a lovely, Georgian Hotel, only 10 minutes stroll to York Minster, within the walls of this fascinating city.

This year was even better than the first, with excellent food and service to accompany the very comfortable (and newly re-furbished) room. It was so pleasant - and, unlike what is, regrettably, an all too often experience elsewhere - to be greeted with smiling staff wherever we were, and whatever our request. This is definitely a can-do hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park, if you want to be absolutely free from traffic. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

First of all it must be said that the staff are friendly, polite and try to be accommodating - but that is where it ends. Breakfast was truly dreadful with slow service and cold food which when sent back was returned in exactly the same condition. Not good.
The room was not at the standard expected for the price. Whilst the bathroom was quite spacious, the room itself was cramped and the heating took ages to kick in (as did hot water) making it uncomfortable. And it certainly isn't acceptable to leave dirty linen bags at the top of stairs in various places - first impressions mean a lot!
So overall poor I'm afraid and we won't be returning or recommend to friends that they stay here in any visit they may undertake to the lovely city of York.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Grange. I am grateful for praising the staff – Thank You.

I am so very sorry to hear of the breakfast issue it is certainly not the norm as the other reviews state.

I would have liked the opportunity to discuss the bedroom’s standard personally and I suspect that you booked one of our smaller bedrooms. We are constantly praised for the quality of accommodation The Grange offers. The Grange has 5 different types of bedrooms and the tariff is dictated by the standard of each category.

As to the linen, again I suspect that you arrived during the servicing of the bedrooms hence the reason why we state that check in is from 2.00pm to give us the opportunity to ensure that such linen is stored away. The heating in most of the 36 bedrooms is by electric radiators and usually they produce immediate heat.

It is a shame you did not bring these issues to the duty manager’s attention during your stay as I am positive we would have addressed them immediately. I take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Yours

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbrian
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

A very good 1 night stay for the 4 of us. The porter was very helpful when we arrived with the bags and they opened the NY restaurant 30 minutes early for us so we could get to the theatre in time. Food was excellent as was Breakfast. Staff very friendly and difficult to fault although not the cheapest, worth staying.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ber909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Grange Hotel, during the weekend before Christmas 2011. Service at the hotel was polished and professional ~ due to the staff and the highly visible General Manager (Mr Briffa), who clearly took pride in his work and the service to the guests, and ensured a highly presentable appearance of the hotel. Our room was excellent ~spacious, clean, well-serviced and the bath towels were exceptionally large and fluffy. Regrettably, we weren't able to book a table at the hotel's finest restaurant: "The Ivy" (as we had left it too late). Nevertheless, we had a pleasant meal in their basement restaurant: "New York Grill" and sampled their various cocktails! If there was one negative, it was the cold plate on which breakfast was served on our first morning (making the food lukewarm) ~ but this was corrected on the second day, after we had pointed it out. We would recommend the hotel to others, except that we intend to return, and don’t wish the hotel to be full and prevent us from coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel and away from reception and the restaurant are (clearly) going to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, Co Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Our initial impression of the The Grange Hotel was very favourable, and we were delighted with our room. When booking, your staff were most helpful and efficient, putting us in touch with a local taxi company who collected us from Leeds Bradford airport. After an enjoyable first days shopping in York, it was lovely to return to our very comfortable room. On our first evening we ate in the New York Grill, and found the quality of food to be excellent. We particularly enjoyed the service and chat with the barman who was on duty that evening. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, and could not be faulted. The service and the quality of the food was first class. After another busy days shopping, it was lovely to return to the open fire in the morning room.

We had a very pleasant stay at The Grange and would like to thank the management and staff for making this possible. We will certainly recomment The Grange to our friends and hope to return again some day.

Room Tip: Room 10, beautiful, comfortable, clean, quiet, spacious, excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 82Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Comfortable Hotel, (no lift) with Excellent chef!! Very close to York city centre, good for concerts at the Minster and Christmas shopping.Some parking. Very pleasant stay, and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back will be quieter, there is no lift so check if this is a challenge. We found the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing