We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grange Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$107
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$204
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
US$68
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
641
415
184
86
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
415
184
86
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsivy restaurantpremier roommorning roomcar parklovely hoteldrawing roomfresh milk in the fridgecity centrethe ground floorfour posterwedding partyyorkshire breakfasteggs benedictsmall roomyork minsterlovely roomten minute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a well run hotel and an excellent place to stay for a business or leisure trip to York. Staff are proactive in their approach to service which is refreshing. Our room was actually a bit disappointing when I read about some of the other rooms on offer. However, it was clean, well organised and the bed was brilliantly comfortable. Breakfast was v good. and people we met who live in York all commented on the excellence of the restaurant for dinner. We went out so I can't comment.

Room Tip: Ask for advice on the rooms - tell them what you want. Wish I had - was too short of time checking in
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longweekendsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have just returned from this hotel, ideally situated for town, parking car also wasn't an issue! Hotel staff really friendly especially the blonde girl who works in reception.... Sorry don't know her name!
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of selection but only downfall for us was we booked premier double but was disappointed with what we received, wasn't anything special! I had booked it as a surprise and felt a bit downhearted when seeing it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is very nice, old fashion, the rooms are a good size and comfortable. Position to city centre great, but the only thing to be aware of is parking as it is very limited, with having a restaurant open to the general public. If you can not get a space it is the Public car park at £25 a day and a few hundred meters away, which for older people like myself is not good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guests

Thank you for you for posting the review. I am delighted to read the positive comments you made and for the sake of clarity any possible guests reading this review please do not pay for 2 days in the public car park as I am very confident that during your stay car park spaces in our car park do become available on regular basis. On road parking next to the hotel is also available for short term parking.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Grange in the very near future

Best wishes

George Briffa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed at the Grange Hotel in York UK for 4 days for a conference at the University of York. It was a very beautiful hotel and what made the stay so wonderful was the very helpful and friendly staff. The hot breakfast at the hotel restaurant was excellent every morning. Peferct location and only a 5-10 minute walk from the Minster. I had a package mailed to me at the hotel and did not arrive before I left and they have mailed it to to my home in Canada. Would definetely stay there again. thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Grange. The staff were helpful and friendly and we had a pleasant, spacious room. We ate at the restaurant and the food was excellent. The hotel is well situated, in walking distance to the Minster / City Walls, etc.. Note that parking is limited.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry22131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews