We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy room but service needs attention” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cosy room but service needs attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at The Grange, and were lucky enough to have a four-poster bed in Room 35.

Based on the decor of the rest of the hotel (dated and dark), I was pleasantly surprised that the room was decorated in whites and pale blues, with white-washed furniture and a modern bathroom with rain shower and tub.

The reason I have only scored the hotel as average is mainly because of the DREADFUL room service breakfast! We ordered scrambled eggs with bacon, and poached eggs with smoked salmon. Our tray contained literally that. No accompanying toast, condiments etc. The food was stone cold, and honestly inedible. Cold eggs for breakfast are just horrible.

I was disappointed with the way reception handled this as we called up straight away and were told that whatever we didn't eat would be taken off the bill. We then had a lengthier than necessary checkout, as nothing had been done. I don't want to waste my time talking about cold eggs to the hotel manager, when the receptionist should be able to just sort it out and apologize.

This hotel is well-situated for a trip to York, well-priced and if you get the right room (35 in our case) and avoid room service, you could have a good stay!

Room Tip: Room 35 was beautiful - white, airy and up the stairs away from the rest of the hotel (avoid if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for placing your review on trip advisor.

Thank you also for the nice comments relating to the bedroom (36 not 35). Most of our bedrooms are individually decorated and although some of the soft furnishings are dark I must disagree that they are dated, The Grange is a boutique hotel and some 75% of the bedrooms have been refurbished in the last 12 months.

With regards to the room service breakfast, you were served every item that was ticked on the room service order form, if you desired the additional aforementioned items all you had to do is request them by ticking the form, however there is no excuse for cold eggs

I am sincerely sorry for the shortfalls and hope your next visit we will be able to demonstrate our normal standards

Best wishes

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    352
    166
    81
    30
See reviews for
148
675
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

An excerpt from the email I sent to the Manager who could not be bothered to reply :-

I booked a King Size Double Room, at the check in we were given room 25 which as I was to find out was a standard room. The room we were given was awful, with a very grubby dirty carpet, a dead fly stuck to the wall, black marks along the wall and dusty dirty skirting boards. The bathroom had a cracked sink, yellow stained marble sink top and a yellow stained “white” ceiling. Leaving our awful room the next day on a table outside our room was part of someone’s dinner, partially eaten asparagus wrapped in a tissue, when we returned hours later it was still there to welcome back to the room. We also encountered some food on the stair carpet, which was still there when we left having spent all night in plain view of your guests
On arrival at breakfast the next day we were greeted with sour milk, I ordered the English breakfast which came without sausage, in itself not a problem but no explanation, the waitress didn’t even tell me it was missing and lastly the orange juice tasted like soapy dishwater.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeanTaylor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for placing your review on trip advisor.

Due to the high and sensitive security we have on our system your email went straight to my junk box, I had to wait to speak to the early shift receptionist to establish why she allocated you the wrong bedroom. As it happened she was on holiday and could not speak to her until last Tuesday. That is the reason why I did not respond to your email.

I do apologise for unintentionally allocating you a standard and not a King size bedroom. As you well know once this was brought to our attention we insisted on changing the bedroom for you and for the inconvenience we even offered you a free upgrade, which you declined. As you are also aware the duty manager explained to you that we had another guest with the same name, hence the error. We also discounted the tariff by nearly 50% which you appreciated prior to departure.

Having checked the bedroom and the public areas I could not identify any of the negative comments you made, perhaps by the time I inspected the areas my housekeeping team had already addressed them.

I am also very sorry to hear that the sausage was missing from your breakfast, again when you brought it to our attention the sausage was provided within seconds. With reference to the milk, we did have an unacceptable bad supply and this was brought to the attention of our supplier. I am also surprised to read the negative comment about the orange juice as this is freshly squeezed to order from our supplier. Again sorry for the shortfalls.

Yours

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Afraid I can't agree with the more glowing reports. Of all the places we stayed on a 10 day tour this was the most disappointing. It's a toss up whether I'd rate it 2 or 3. Certainly not much to recommend it. We were on the top floor ( Room 23) which involved several flights of stairs - there is no lift. A cheery porter tried to make the best of it by lugging our suitcases upstairs for us. 'Faded glory' is perhaps the most generous I could manage to describe this place. Tourist attraction leaflets in the lounge proved to be out of date and we wasted time trying to find a bus tour that no longer existed. We had sandwiches in the bar on arrival which were good. This gave us a false sense of security as breakfast was very poor. Service was unacceptably slow and when the cooked breakfast arrived it was not what we had ordered: scrambled eggs were cold - generally poor quality. Perhaps in a tourist trap like York this is what counts as acceptable standards but we were disappointed and would not go back. Not terrible but nothing special either.

Room Tip: Avoid room 23 and the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midtermers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Needless to say it is disappointing to read that even the cheery porter could not make your stay an enjoyable one; being a Grade 11 listed building, finding a location for a lift and having it approved by the local council is not as easy as it sounds, rest assured if we could we will moreover that is the purpose of having these cheery porters on duty.

I am also sorry to read that you feel The Grange is riding on “Faded Glory” as 75% of the public areas and some 30% of the bedrooms have so far been refurbished in the last 8 months.
I must also apologise for not being able to demonstrate our normal breakfast standards. From time to time we do fall short; when we do we try our utmost to rectify the issues as swiftly and as soon as we possibly can. Previous reviews praise the level of service and cuisine we provide, it is with regret you did not want to speak to the duty manager as at least we would have apologised personally for the shortfalls.

Yours sincerely

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

It was a pleasant surprise that our dog ( well behaved pug) could stay with us at the Grange. It was an extra £20 but worth it. We checked in lateish on a Saturday evening and parked just outside on the street without any problem. We enjoyed our stay in the standard double in this beautiful hotel.
We dined in the brasserie and had an excellent meal with delicious wines.. Breakfast the next day was also superb. The poached haddock was v. good. My Yorkshire breakfast included an unusualblack pudding ```not too salty. The staff were enthusiastic and helpful and made up for any shortcomings with the building itself. and the excessively hot water.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafydd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

First time in York - Was very impressed with the Grange Hotel; beautiful room and lovely bathroom. Staff extremely friendly and very helpful - would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bar and restaurants were also really lovely. You need to get there as soon as you are able to check in and there is only limited car parking at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We visited the Grange last weekend. It is a wonderful hotel, beautifully decorated and furnished with good sized rooms. The bars, restaurants and lounge areas were also really nice.
We had booked a standard room and was really impressed. It was a good sized room with a very big bathroom. We had absolutely no complaints with our room.
It was my wife's birthday during our stay and the hotel left a card in our room, a really nice touch.
If and when we return to York we will definitely look to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed one night with my husband. A friendly welcome and our room was ready before the official booking in time.The room was clean and the bed very comfotable. An excellent choice for breakfast.Very good service.The decor is very old fashioned (not my choice) however in keeping wiyh the building. Get there early to ensure a free car parking space!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#17 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing