We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel was good in most respects but a little overpriced for the quality it offered. The front room we were allocated opens onto a busy street and was very noisy. Most of the staff (but not all) were pleasant and helpful. I didn't much care for the way some of them expected a tip for everything.

Room Tip: The standard room we booked was small and located on the noisy side of the building. We upgraded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FelixNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    370
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
155
716
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Very pleased to be able to book for one night at the weekend. Lovely hotel, easy walking distance to river or York city centre. The office/reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The double room was large and the bathroom was spotlessly clean with fantastic quality bath-sheets to wrap up in after a bath or shower. The room was quient despite being at the front (the hotel is on a main road) and it was one of the best night's sleep I have had for a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186411Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were let down very badly by a previous hotel.The staff all made our evening turn out much better, we loved our room and it was luxurious compared to what we would have had. We had a superb meal although we did tell the waiter it coud have been hotter.T he receptionist on the evening was helful and arranged a taxi from a part of town we did not know. Thank you for that as our driver previously dropped us off before we knew where the hotel was.[ no name outside]. Our veiw of this hotel was excellent throughout and very nice staff a bit out of our price range glad to have stayed here we will save to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank 221yogibear221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed for a weekend and were allocated Room 25 (given a very dubious review elsewhere on these pages)! FIrstly, to reiterate other comments, the car park is compact, the hotel is not ultra-modern and there is no lift. Apart from that, it is quite wonderful. It is walking distance to the city, the hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. You even get a two-page breaksfast menu! York is a beautiful town, and this hotel is a fanastic base from which to explore it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Last minute booking, but worked out better than our normal venue, we'll be staying again after a very peaceful stay. Vfm, friendly staff, a big thumbs up & in a great location for York attractions. Nice to be given the choice of fresh milk in the room, a nice touch. Would recommend to family & friends anytime..*****!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ymseqwhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I recently booked 2 rooms at The Grange Hotel for myself, husband and parents and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is beautiful and just what we wanted, classical elegance and fantastic service, the staff couldn’t do enough for us.

The rooms we stayed in were premium doubles and were large, modern and clean. The bathrooms were fantastic with TV's at the end of the bath and also a separate walk in rainshower. Also liked the touch of the carton of fresh milk in the fridge for our tea and coffee.

Bit of trek from the reception to our bedroom, but to be expected for an old building.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the premium double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at The Grange, and were lucky enough to have a four-poster bed in Room 35.

Based on the decor of the rest of the hotel (dated and dark), I was pleasantly surprised that the room was decorated in whites and pale blues, with white-washed furniture and a modern bathroom with rain shower and tub.

The reason I have only scored the hotel as average is mainly because of the DREADFUL room service breakfast! We ordered scrambled eggs with bacon, and poached eggs with smoked salmon. Our tray contained literally that. No accompanying toast, condiments etc. The food was stone cold, and honestly inedible. Cold eggs for breakfast are just horrible.

I was disappointed with the way reception handled this as we called up straight away and were told that whatever we didn't eat would be taken off the bill. We then had a lengthier than necessary checkout, as nothing had been done. I don't want to waste my time talking about cold eggs to the hotel manager, when the receptionist should be able to just sort it out and apologize.

This hotel is well-situated for a trip to York, well-priced and if you get the right room (35 in our case) and avoid room service, you could have a good stay!

Room Tip: Room 35 was beautiful - white, airy and up the stairs away from the rest of the hotel (avoid if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you for placing your review on trip advisor.

Thank you also for the nice comments relating to the bedroom (36 not 35). Most of our bedrooms are individually decorated and although some of the soft furnishings are dark I must disagree that they are dated, The Grange is a boutique hotel and some 75% of the bedrooms have been refurbished in the last 12 months.

With regards to the room service breakfast, you were served every item that was ticked on the room service order form, if you desired the additional aforementioned items all you had to do is request them by ticking the form, however there is no excuse for cold eggs

I am sincerely sorry for the shortfalls and hope your next visit we will be able to demonstrate our normal standards

Best wishes

George Briffa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing