We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curates Egg near The Minster”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Keyboard
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Curates Egg near The Minster”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Spent 2 nights with wife and her siblings in a family gathering.
Couldn't get a space in the hotel car park on night 1, and with a wedding party in the hotel on day 2, I had to park nearby in Marygate at £11 for maximum stay.
We agreed that the hotel lounge was "tired but comfortable" after arguing about the definition of "shabby chic".
Dinner on night 1 was fine ; we were seated in an exclusive alcove. On night 2 we had to go downstairs, where we had the end bay to ourselves. Here, my main course came devoid of some of the items mentioned on the menu : must have been a shortage, I assume. I had to assume, because nobody explained what had transpired.
Our breakfasts were a bit of a mish-mash ; orders were not fulfilled, and the breakfast chef had a bit of a problem on day 2. Service was bit on the slow side.
Check-out was interesting ; a queue of people complaining about various things, while our bills needed quite a bit of sorting-out.
The hotel is well-placed for the town centre which is only a few minutes away on foot, and the staff are very friendly and helpful, but the car park is too small and the rooms are comfortable without being above average, with bathrooms which are up for renovation, and why do we persist with these tiny bottles of shampoo etc ?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHairyJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    361
    172
    81
    30
See reviews for
153
698
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We arrived early on our first trip to York. We popped into reception to notify we had parked our car (it is limited so if you arrive around check out time there will be spaces) and booked in and were told when the room was available. We did some sight seeing and returned around 5 and again got a warm welcome and shown to our room. We were pleasantly surprised as we got a free upgrade to a four poster bedroom! The breakfast was fantastic and the service was good and always with a smile. The hotel has lots of character and only 5 minutes walking distance to the city. We highly recommend the hotel and York. We will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley and Bolton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This was a special deal via Secret Escapes. Two days bed and breakfast for £180 per room.
Lovely hotel and friendly staff. The jury is still out on the breakfast but a quiet word at reception resulted in a £20 refund. Less than 10 minutes walk to York Minster. Worth a visit

Room Tip: Our deal was for a standard room but it was a four poster and the bathroom was spacious and included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billgresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My husband and I have just returned after staying at this hotel for one night. We arrived at the hotel at 1.30pm and managed to find a parking place in the hotel car park which has limited parking, we were able to access the hotel from the car park check in was easy with an extremely helpful receptionist who offered to call the porter to take our bags to our room. The hotel is rather old but beautifully decorated and maintained with an old worldy feel to it. We were on the second floor and our room looked over the car park. The room was adequate for one night but on the small side but the bed was queen sized and super comfy. There was the usual hospitality tray with biscuits tea, coffee etc. The bathroom was lovely and clean with an over bath shower good quality toiletries and fluffy towels. There was also a turn down service at night and fresh towels supplied.

We chose to eat dinner that evening in the award winning Ivy restaurant which was good although service was a little slow considering the restaurant was only quarter full. We also thought the menu was limited and quite expensive. Waiting staff were friendly.

Breakfast the following morning served from 7.00am til 10.00am was also in the Ivy restaurant we had the full Yorkshire breakfast it was good but not exceptional there was also a continental breakfast available but again nothing out of the ordinary. The service at breakfast was even slower than the night before.

The hotel is o ly a 10 minute walk to the city therefore near enough but not too noisy would we stay there again yes but would not dine in the restaurant as there is a greater choice in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel could be noisy as they face a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caplac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I was on the top floor of this hotel in one of their better rooms, but found the noise from the street quite loud.
The positive points are that this is a good location, just outside of the city walls, the staff were all very friendly and took time to make sure that everything was okay.
I was in the new part of the building, but it was quite a long walk from the reception.
Free parking always helps

Room Tip: Try the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I booked 3 nights' stay at the Grange Hotel for my boyfriend's birthday, following its recommendation in the Telegraph as one of the top hotels to stay in the UK for under £150 per night.

I booked a standard double bedroom, located on the ground floor overlooking the A-road outside. Unlike other reviewers we did not find this a problem; the building is old and noise from other rooms can be heard but not to a deafening or uncomfortable extent. The room was lovely and excellently decorated, as was the en-suite bathroom. One issue was that the water 2 mornings out of 3 was freezing cold - I imagine this was linked to others using the water at the same time before breakfast so this may be a common problem experienced by others.

The hotel does have a car park which is ideal to then leave the car and walk into the city centre each morning (15 mins maximum). However this is on a first-come-first-serve basis, we were ok but there are plenty of nearby car parks to use if this is a problem.

Breakfasts each morning were fantastic, we picked a different breakfast each morning, ranging from pancakes with warm maple syrup, smoked salmon and scrambled egg with toast and porridge with honey. The service was top-notch and we were made to feel welcome and looked after throughout our stay. Room service regularly checked on facilities in our room each day whilst we were out too - topping us up with biscuits and chilled bottled water which was a nice touch.

We will definitely stay again at the Grange and felt very lucky to have stayed there for 3 nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurac2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

After much research and reading of reviews, I finally decided on the grange hotel to take my mum away for her 50th Birthday. The choice was largely based on what hotels offered 1 night and close proximity to the town but I did want a nice hotel as this was a treat. We arrived about 12 midday on the day of check in and whilst we didn’t expect to be able to park we luckily managed to get ourselves parked in the car park at the hotel. As we were early we took the 5/10 minute walk into the town for the afternoon. We came back to the hotel and checked in and was asked If we would like our bags carried to our room (much to the excitement of my mum). We declined but grateful for the offer. We were also asked if we would like to dine in the hotel that evening and even though no menus were to hand we were told one would be brought to the room. We went up to our room where they was a porter again on the landing asking if we needed help. We were in a twin room at the front of the hotel and it was wonderful! As I had emailed before our visit there was chocolates and a birthday card waiting for my mum which was a lovely touch. Within 10 minutes the menus arrived and a phone call to check all was satisfactory. The prices were very reasonable but as we were only there for the night we decided to decline and go out for the evening. Upon our return to the hotel the lights had been switched on, beds pulled back and the teacups from earlier had been washed – lovely.
We had a lovely night’s sleep, no noise and very comfortable beds. In the morning we went for breakfast and were greeted by a lovely gentleman and seated wherever we requested. We both opted for the Yorkshire breakfast with endless tea and coffee which was lovely. All the staff were very helpful and I'm glad we opted for the breakfast. All in all we had a wonderful stay. We came for a nice weekend and were certainly very pleased with the hotel and the service we received. I would highly recommend the hotel for quality, location and service. Whilst I read reviews to give me a general idea of the hotel I certainly don’t live by them and any negative comments I may have seen before never turned into reality for us. I’m a firm believer in a thing like this is what you make but luckily no complaints from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing