We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,466 results
Traveller rating
707
443
192
89
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
443
192
89
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ivy restaurant premier room morning room car park lovely hotel drawing room city centre the ground floor fresh milk in the fridge four poster wedding party yorkshire breakfast eggs benedict small room booked this hotel york minster ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 1,466 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed few times at the Hotel and found it fairly good. The last visit we stayed in a ‘Prestige’ room which was a good, modern and very airy. We expected the same again by paying a premium but were given an old tired room which was nowhere near the same standard. I immediately queried this and they changed the room to one in the newer part of the hotel which, whilst small with sloping ceiling, was at least modern and fresh. Unfortunately the traffic noise reverberated around the room all night which does not seem to have much sound proofing so the sleep quality was very poor.

I am not sure how the hotel can have such a spread of rooms within the same class and we certainly did not get value for money.

The reception staff were indifferent when we asked to change the room, the senior member of staff not coming out from behind the screen behind reception, just muttering instructions to the receptionist. On checkout we were not even asked if we had a nice stay.

The Hotel is in a good position and has a lot going for it but they need to sort out what they are charging a premium for on rooms and get reception staff more customer focussed.

Room Tip: No idea with the variety from terrible to excellent that we have seen, its pot luck!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ber909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Grange Hotel. We do have 36 very different bedrooms at the Hotel and I am very sorry the first room you were allocated was not to your taste. We of course always try to ensure our guests are aware of the rooms criteria when booking with plenty of photos, content and testimonials on all on and off-line marketing. We are located in the heart of York City center and so one would expect some noise however not to the magnitude you describe.
Despite the negative headline of your review, I welcome your comments and should you ever be thinking of a return visit please contact me directly and we can discuss your specific room requirements one to one.

Kindest Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Having read other reviews stating how cramped the standard double rooms were I was a little worried, but I neednt have been. It's a lovely old hotel with a lot of character and the rooms' decor matched. Ok the room was a little dark, but on a dismal April day it was only to be expected. The bed was really comfy, bathroom airy and sparkly and fresh milk and water in the fridge a nice touch. All in all a comfortable stay with friendly staff and only about a 6 min walk back to the minster area, so well positioned too.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salthedrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We attended a family wedding at the hotel and stayed for two nights. The rooms were clean, the food was good and the atmosphere was excellent and it is this that I will take away with me. I cannot emphasize how attentive, friendly and helpful everyone was, from the girls that cleaned the rooms to the duty managers. The hotel had the comfortable feel of a family business and we were made to feel very welcome. There were lots of personal touches and the staff turned what was already a very special day into a truly memorable occasion. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveYorkshirepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked in to this hotel for easter Saturday couldnt have been more disappointed when i seen the room I know it was a small double it should have been a single there was no room for two people to be in it at the same time one of us had to climb over as the bed was up against the wall at one side there was imitation drawers beside the bed you couldnt open them to put anything in the hairdryer was fixed to the inside of the wardrobe which is normal but you couldnt see in the mirror on the door because it wouldnt open wide enough plus it was so dark in the room ,the table lamp wouldnt work .there was nowhere to put a case so you were tripping over it on the floor the only place that was ok was the bathroom although you had to sit on the toilet before you could shut the door could not fault the staff as they were very pleasant

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel, rooms were of a high standard with personal his and hers bath robes and toiletries, a lovely open coal fire and lovely food in the Cellar Bar a bit pricey but well worth it for decent home cooking, i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet61718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews