We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A confortable hotel but a couple of quibbles”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A confortable hotel but a couple of quibbles”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel is very comfortable and the position is great for walking into York. The bedroom was beautiful, spacious and comfortable, and we were initially delighted. It was only a short walk into town.
Problems: the Wi Fi was elusive, despite paying more for superior roooms which were supposed to have their own router.
The recycling dustcart emptied all the bottles, noisily, at 4.20am! Right outside our window!
The breakfast was not as good as we had hoped, with a rather pompous manager serving us without warmth. The smoked salmon had run out for the scambled eggs and the granola was not on. Petty but disappointing on top of a disturbed night.
Solutions: A really attentive, friendly waiter on duty late at night helped us obtain Wi Fi and a helpful receptionist the next morning responded to our quibbles constructively and sympathetically. Things can go wrong. It is how they were dealt with which gives this hotel four stars.
A lovely hotel but there needs to be a little more attention to some details to make it five star. They had excellent staff on duty while we were there apaprt from a couple of less helpful people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    369
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
155
714
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Location and parking with a decent restaurant were the criteria when we booked. The Grange is a pleasant town house hotel in an excellent location for an easy walk to the Minster. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Our room was on the top floor and was nicely presented and with decent bed though it felt a little plain.

We ate at the Brasserie on the Sunday (as the restaurant was closed). The food was ok though my goats cheese tart was the size of a Ritz cracker! My friend ordered a chicken breast on lentils and received a chicken breast on lentils in the middle of a large plate - no decoration or vegetables at all. Some attempt to make the serving look attractive would have been welcomed. We looked at the the restaurant menu again and felt that by the time you took the steak options out there wasn't a great deal left so opted to eat out for the next two nights. The restaurant decor was a little odd anyway with a different personality for each section and I found the mural of the York races from the inside of a marquee slightly disconcerting in some ways.

We managed to park each day though we did grab the last space on one afternoon so I wouldn't rely on the parking in the height of season.

I felt very comfortable in the hotel and have to say again that every single member of staff we encountered was friendly and keen to help. I would not wish my critque to be seen as a negative review. I would happily stay here again and it was great being able to walk to most places from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs you may not wish to have the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It really was central less than 5 minutes walk to the minster and other shops, tours etc within 10 minutes max. We ate out all three nights of our stay for two reasons: 1) We thought both restaurants were expensive side and 2) putting a 10% surcharge onto the bill is very odd these days.
Breakfast was very good and the staff all the way through our stay were very pleasant and helpful.
I would suggest a small bar food menu.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k1pperf1llet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was our first time in York and i picked this hotel based on others reviews and the AA**** rating and the two highly awarded restaurants. We had a room right next to reception on the ground floor. The room has a small passageway as you enter with an additional door that kept out any noise from the reception area. The room itself was pleasant with an enormous 4 poster bed in it. The room was clean but the decor if i'm honest was a little tired. This did not detract greatly from our stay and we were very comfortable there. Surprisingly, the t.v did not appear to be receiving a digital signal or freeview as the picture was quite grainy. We ate in the Brasserie restaurant in the old wine cellars below which was pleasantly presented. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was delicious (so much so that we ate there on the second night too!). Drinks at the bar were fairly pricey (1 vodka/coke and 1 malibu/coke = £10). We didn't eat dinner in the Ivy restaurant so cannot comment on actual dishes but i'm sure it had the same chefs. Breakfast was served in the Ivy and the food choice was excellent. There was a buffet with cereal, fruit juices, cold meats etc and there was a cooked breakfast menu including hot cereals, pancakes, Yorkshire breakfast, kippers and salmon with scrambled egg and toast. The dining hall was very well decorated and again the food was delicious and service friendly and prompt. The hotel itself was just a few minutes walk to York Minster down one straight road and only a little further to the train station. The room rate wasn't particularly cheap but as this was for a special occasion i wanted it to be a great experience for my wife and i think that was achieved. Would we stay again?.......definitely!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Very nice hotel with nice airy double room. Decor very pleasant in charming old town house. The only downside was the portion size for cooked breakfasts and in the Ivy restaurant - 1 mushroom, 1 tomato slice and half a slice of black pudding with the breakfast. Dinner was haute cuisine gone mad 2 green beans, 2 tiny potatoes and minute other veg. Food v nice but left you needing more!

Room Tip: rooms on back of hotel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBone007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbrian
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed few times at the Hotel and found it fairly good. The last visit we stayed in a ‘Prestige’ room which was a good, modern and very airy. We expected the same again by paying a premium but were given an old tired room which was nowhere near the same standard. I immediately queried this and they changed the room to one in the newer part of the hotel which, whilst small with sloping ceiling, was at least modern and fresh. Unfortunately the traffic noise reverberated around the room all night which does not seem to have much sound proofing so the sleep quality was very poor.

I am not sure how the hotel can have such a spread of rooms within the same class and we certainly did not get value for money.

The reception staff were indifferent when we asked to change the room, the senior member of staff not coming out from behind the screen behind reception, just muttering instructions to the receptionist. On checkout we were not even asked if we had a nice stay.

The Hotel is in a good position and has a lot going for it but they need to sort out what they are charging a premium for on rooms and get reception staff more customer focussed.

Room Tip: No idea with the variety from terrible to excellent that we have seen, its pot luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ber909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Grange Hotel. We do have 36 very different bedrooms at the Hotel and I am very sorry the first room you were allocated was not to your taste. We of course always try to ensure our guests are aware of the rooms criteria when booking with plenty of photos, content and testimonials on all on and off-line marketing. We are located in the heart of York City center and so one would expect some noise however not to the magnitude you describe.
Despite the negative headline of your review, I welcome your comments and should you ever be thinking of a return visit please contact me directly and we can discuss your specific room requirements one to one.

Kindest Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Having read other reviews stating how cramped the standard double rooms were I was a little worried, but I neednt have been. It's a lovely old hotel with a lot of character and the rooms' decor matched. Ok the room was a little dark, but on a dismal April day it was only to be expected. The bed was really comfy, bathroom airy and sparkly and fresh milk and water in the fridge a nice touch. All in all a comfortable stay with friendly staff and only about a 6 min walk back to the minster area, so well positioned too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salthedrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing