We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Wonderful Grange Hotel”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Not so Wonderful Grange Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is expensive £160 a night so we expected a lot. When we arrived at 3.30, after a long drive from London, the room was not ready, so we were asked to wait in the lounge. We were not offered any refreshment whilst we waited until we made a fuss. The room was OK but had seen better days. There was knack to turning on the bedside lights to flushing the loo ,and to operating the television, which took some working out, The television had London News as their local news which was a bit bizarre. None of this is dreadful but it gave the impression of a hotel that had seen better days but was in decline. Not worth the money then. Plusses were free wi-fi and location

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MagLit42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    365
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
154
708
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

this is the second time i have stayed at this beautiful hotel and my wife and i were not disappointed with our stay,our room was very spacious,bed superbly comfy and bathroom of an excellent standard,but the thing we were most impressed with was the service and attitude of the staff which was excellent,we were given on arrival a room on the ground floor which was lovely but i am a bit of a light sleeper and could hear every creek and sound coming from the room directly above so we asked if we could be moved to a higher floor,and we were moved immediately with the minimum of fuss,to which we were very grateful seeing as the hotel was quite busy.The same can be said for the breakfast staff for which nothing was too much trouble.
We will be staying at this lovely hotel on our next visit to the grand city of york.

Room Tip: if like me your a light sleeper go for an upstairs room as the floorboards are quite creeky in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 Star review! It really does mean a lot to me and the team. I was pleased to read that the small problem you did encounter was resolved quickly.

If thinking of a return visit do not hesitate to contact me personally at the hotel for the best rate guaranteed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights in a good sized, clean and attractive room. The bed was very big and comfortable, the linen crisp, the towels large and fluffy and the toiletries were from the White Company. We were pleased with the complimentary bottles of water and fresh milk in the fridge as well as the free morning newspaper. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Granville7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just like York everything about the Grange is wonderful, the food was amazing, the staff were brilliant and predominantly British (nothing against hard working immigrants, we assure you - it was just unusual in this day and age). My wife and I will definitely be staying again when we return to York.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

After booking online internationally we arrived to be warmly greeted by Charli at reception, and all the team made sure we felt welcomed and part of the family. Our large room was beautifully decorated and appointed. The bed extremely comfortable as well with great linen and comfortable pillows. As my partner had a rolled ankle we ate in the Bistro and Mick made us welcome there. The food was great over the two nights we were there as was the breakfasts as well.
The hotel has parking on site which was important a York is so busy. A great venue , elegant, with warm staff.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eklasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I loved the grange hotel! It was near the city centre, it was beautifully decorated and the staff was really nice. We only stayed here for one night, in a 'small' room. If that was small, i can only imagine how big a luxury room must be! Because we had another full day in York but had to check out of the hotel before 11.00 am, we asked the receptionist if we could leave our bags there and pick them up later. That was no problem and free of charge. So, my overall experience of the grange hotel is great! If i'm ever going back to York, i'm definetely going back to the grange hotel!

It has the atmospere of a small town B&B, but all the luxury of a hotel. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed two nights, very good location, 5minute walk in to the centre. Rooms are a good size. Food was very good and very good value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend staying as just a short walk from the centre.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidzaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing