We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Week Get Away”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is generally clean and tidy but it is a little dated and frayed around the edges. Not what you would expect from a 4* hotel paying £169 per night. But if you can ignore the frayed/well worn parts of the hotel then you will enjoy your stay. The rooms are comfy and clean. The staff are very helpful and polite. The location is very good with a short walk into York centre. The food is in my opinion a bit over priced but is an acceptable quality. But there are plenty of quality places to eat in York it’s self. There are limited free parking spaces at the back of the hotel. There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs it may be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Grange for a couple of nights before we set off on a tour of the Cotswolds.
I could not bring myself to pay £15.00 each for the full English breakfast so I have no idea what the quality is like - however the Grange is less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre so finding good food is quite easy. Same goes for the evening meal - we wanted to cram in as much as possible so we did not dine in.
So, our room was very clean, a reasonable size but the décor is a bit dated - stripes and swags are not my cup of tea but this is just a personal thing.
The bathroom was very clean and spacious - the built in flat screen TV was pretty neat!
Large white fluffy towels and always loads of hot water.
Parking was available but there are not that many spaces.
All in all very nice.

Room Tip: maybe avoid rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AL_the_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is expensive £160 a night so we expected a lot. When we arrived at 3.30, after a long drive from London, the room was not ready, so we were asked to wait in the lounge. We were not offered any refreshment whilst we waited until we made a fuss. The room was OK but had seen better days. There was knack to turning on the bedside lights to flushing the loo ,and to operating the television, which took some working out, The television had London News as their local news which was a bit bizarre. None of this is dreadful but it gave the impression of a hotel that had seen better days but was in decline. Not worth the money then. Plusses were free wi-fi and location

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MagLit42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

this is the second time i have stayed at this beautiful hotel and my wife and i were not disappointed with our stay,our room was very spacious,bed superbly comfy and bathroom of an excellent standard,but the thing we were most impressed with was the service and attitude of the staff which was excellent,we were given on arrival a room on the ground floor which was lovely but i am a bit of a light sleeper and could hear every creek and sound coming from the room directly above so we asked if we could be moved to a higher floor,and we were moved immediately with the minimum of fuss,to which we were very grateful seeing as the hotel was quite busy.The same can be said for the breakfast staff for which nothing was too much trouble.
We will be staying at this lovely hotel on our next visit to the grand city of york.

Room Tip: if like me your a light sleeper go for an upstairs room as the floorboards are quite creeky in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigkev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for your 5 Star review! It really does mean a lot to me and the team. I was pleased to read that the small problem you did encounter was resolved quickly.

If thinking of a return visit do not hesitate to contact me personally at the hotel for the best rate guaranteed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights in a good sized, clean and attractive room. The bed was very big and comfortable, the linen crisp, the towels large and fluffy and the toiletries were from the White Company. We were pleased with the complimentary bottles of water and fresh milk in the fridge as well as the free morning newspaper. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Granville7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Just like York everything about the Grange is wonderful, the food was amazing, the staff were brilliant and predominantly British (nothing against hard working immigrants, we assure you - it was just unusual in this day and age). My wife and I will definitely be staying again when we return to York.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 600aland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

After booking online internationally we arrived to be warmly greeted by Charli at reception, and all the team made sure we felt welcomed and part of the family. Our large room was beautifully decorated and appointed. The bed extremely comfortable as well with great linen and comfortable pillows. As my partner had a rolled ankle we ate in the Bistro and Mick made us welcome there. The food was great over the two nights we were there as was the breakfasts as well.
The hotel has parking on site which was important a York is so busy. A great venue , elegant, with warm staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eklasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £76 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing