We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use a little more attention to detail”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Could use a little more attention to detail”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A recent stay here found us with dirty cups and saucers in our room and the same at breakfast the next morning. I think it's just a matter of checking the seeing if there is a problem with the dishwasher, but, in a hotel which is a bit pricey, an eye should be kept on such things.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    369
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
155
714
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

very welcoming. the blend of old (lovely pictures and rugs) and new (white company products) was just right. would have given 5 stars if our ground floor room wasn't quite so noisy in the morning with banging doors and stairs creaking. otherwise spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Grange with family the night before our wedding, all the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Even though the actual ceremony was at the Register Office (2 mins along Bootham - very convenient), we adjourned back to the Grange for post wedding drinks and a wonderful lunch. Thank you to manager Steven Hodgkinson and his staff for their excellent service which helped to make our magical day run smoothly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wotthebutlersaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Grange is conveniently located a short walk away from the old city walls in a nice neighborhood. Parking was provided in the rear. The entrance opens into a lobby that looks up a large, winding staircase that is your only access to the upper floors. There is no elevator. That could be problematic for those unable to lug heave suitcases up two or three flights of stairs…although they are wide and not steep. Our room was large, but the carpet had been recently shampooed and the smell didn’t agree with us. We asked for another room, but the availability was slim, so we opened the window and hoped for the best. The room had a king (English King) bed and the closet was spacious. The bathroom is large, with an enclosed shower and bidet. (We later learned that the shower leaked into the dining room!) Our two night stay was pleasant enough, and we became accustomed to the smell. The breakfast options were satisfactory and the bar, while minimally stocked, was suitable. We would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swingtowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Grange Hotel was a comfortable place to stay for 2 nights recently in York. The room was a reasonable size, the hotel staff were helpful with questions, and we enjoyed our time spent in the common areas reading or enjoying a drink. I will note that the internet access was very good and free, which during a long trip to many places is lovely indeed. They also provided free bottled water in the room, which was a nice touch. The hotel is also a reasonable walk into the heart of York.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the building, so do take that into account when booking if many stairs would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very impressed with meticulous preparation and attention to detail. Superb food and excellent service. All the staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble
Helped make our wedding day very special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dac1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Although we knew only small double bedrooms were available when we booked we were unprepared for a single room with a double bed pushed up against the wall. One person had to climb over the other to get in and out and could not read in bed as no bedside light. The room was tiny, hot, dark, oppressive and needed a complete makeover. The fridge had been taken out so no cold drinks, one lamp had no bulb, the loo did not flush, there was no bath and worst of all the biscuits on the tea tray had been opened and half eaten. The road noise was indescribable and could not shut the windows because of the heat. The noise from the upstairs floorboards was also very bad and there were also quite embarrassing noises that kept us awake most of the night. This was our anniversary and was totally spoilt. I would not recommend this hotel at all. Although the staff were quite pleasant they were unable to move us but offered nothing by way of compensation other than sympathy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CandM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review of the Grange Hotel York, I am sorry your experience has caused you to reflect on the visit in a negative light.
We make no allusions of our three small doubles which are priced well away from our other rooms and on checking your confirmation which did include a picture of the room the rate reflected the last let nature of your bedrooms.
That said I agree more could have been done to put you at ease during your stay and I will use your feedback to aid our Guest Service training.
Lastly thank you for your kind comments relating to the team and should you wish to discuss your stay further feel free to contact me at the Hotel.

Kind Regards

Steven Hodgkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing