We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely building but such a disapointment”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night with work. Car parking space limited - offered free parking over the road but would have to get up at 8 am to move it. I think not. A small "single" room - dark green wallpaper all over the walls and ceiling made it more depressing than it needed. Had a stale, dirty smell to it - glad I was going out for the night. The whole hotel, stairs etc looks shabby and in need of TLC. Got back late to find the front door closed and locked. The pass key did not work. Rang and rang the door bell - did it work or not. In the end had to bang loudly (very) on the door. Man arrived to let me in and did confirm that the door bell wasnt working. As a woman alone in a strange city this was not reassuring. Staff had not informed me of this.
Hardly slept most of the night. Really noisy room - noise from outside in the corridor, from the room above and when the bathroom was used it sounded like my shower was on!
120 for the night - I think not. Would never stay here again. Most hotels in York are a rip off but this one is the worst.

Room Tip: Just dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydiad24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

A recent stay here found us with dirty cups and saucers in our room and the same at breakfast the next morning. I think it's just a matter of checking the seeing if there is a problem with the dishwasher, but, in a hotel which is a bit pricey, an eye should be kept on such things.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

very welcoming. the blend of old (lovely pictures and rugs) and new (white company products) was just right. would have given 5 stars if our ground floor room wasn't quite so noisy in the morning with banging doors and stairs creaking. otherwise spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Grange with family the night before our wedding, all the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Even though the actual ceremony was at the Register Office (2 mins along Bootham - very convenient), we adjourned back to the Grange for post wedding drinks and a wonderful lunch. Thank you to manager Steven Hodgkinson and his staff for their excellent service which helped to make our magical day run smoothly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wotthebutlersaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Grange is conveniently located a short walk away from the old city walls in a nice neighborhood. Parking was provided in the rear. The entrance opens into a lobby that looks up a large, winding staircase that is your only access to the upper floors. There is no elevator. That could be problematic for those unable to lug heave suitcases up two or three flights of stairs…although they are wide and not steep. Our room was large, but the carpet had been recently shampooed and the smell didn’t agree with us. We asked for another room, but the availability was slim, so we opened the window and hoped for the best. The room had a king (English King) bed and the closet was spacious. The bathroom is large, with an enclosed shower and bidet. (We later learned that the shower leaked into the dining room!) Our two night stay was pleasant enough, and we became accustomed to the smell. The breakfast options were satisfactory and the bar, while minimally stocked, was suitable. We would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swingtowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Grange Hotel was a comfortable place to stay for 2 nights recently in York. The room was a reasonable size, the hotel staff were helpful with questions, and we enjoyed our time spent in the common areas reading or enjoying a drink. I will note that the internet access was very good and free, which during a long trip to many places is lovely indeed. They also provided free bottled water in the room, which was a nice touch. The hotel is also a reasonable walk into the heart of York.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the building, so do take that into account when booking if many stairs would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryK104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very impressed with meticulous preparation and attention to detail. Superb food and excellent service. All the staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble
Helped make our wedding day very special.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dac1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
2.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing