We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay.”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Another fabulous stay.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is our second stay at the Grange, and again it was excellent. The staff are friendly and efficient, room perfect and breakfast was delicious .
The location is perfect for all the shops and the Minster is only a five minutes walk.
we will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    376
    174
    82
    31
See reviews for
158
733
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is in a very easy to find location less than a 10 minute walk from the Minster. The carpark is small but was adequate for us and meant we didn't need to pay for any parking throughout our trip.

When we arrived we were met by a really friendly and helpful receptionist who talked us through the amenities and where was good to visit locally. (She didn't warn us to avoid eating at the hotel's Ivy Restaurant, but she obviously couldn't).

We were upgraded so I cannot stte what our original room would have been like but the one we were in was beautiful. It was large and well decorated and whilst some of the furniture was a little less than in perfect condition this for me fitted with the building and showed they were genuinely old and not cheap knock-offs.

Breakfast was exceptionally good and the selection was very large. My only negative comment about breakfast was that the orange juice was really poor quality which made me question the quality of the ingredients in the rest of the food although everything else tasted great.

We were made to feel really welcome by all the staff we interacted with and housekeeeping did a great job in the rooms although they need to learn to tidy up afterthemselves. There is a linen cupboard outside room 10 which continually had doors open - I walked into one of them one morning although I am a clutz.

Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone although would suggest you go elsewhere for dinner as the food in the evening certainly did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Room 10 is beautifully decorated, very quiet and doesn't require any rabbit warren-esque trips t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I chose a two day stay in York at The Grange as a present for my fiancé for his birthday. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly girl on the front desk who was very helpful, told us where to park and that we had been upgraded. I don't know what our original standard room would have been like but the room we were upgraded to was beautiful, spacious, clean and gorgeously decorated. The White Company toiletries were a lovely touch.

Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and a good selection. The freshly squeezed orange juice on the first morning was lovely, shame that the next day it was from concentrate. We had afternoon tea on one day which was great - some of the best scones I have ever had.

Only a couple of minor negative points. The first was that the housemaids didn't always clean up after themselves in public areas and so there was a laundry bag outside our room for a good few hours, and the storage cupboard was left open outside our room as well. The second is that hall areas and reception could do with a bit of decorating. It looks a bit tired, wallpaper flaking, chipped paint etc. None of these negatively impacted on my stay, but stopped it being a five for me.

Overall a great stay in York. The service was excellent, staff could not be more helpful, the room was beautiful, quiet and very comfortable and breakfast was fresh and delicious. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to York.

Thank you for helping to make my fiancés birthday a memorable for the right reasons.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Grange Hotel for two nights whilst attending a Wedding which was at the Hotel. The Hotel gives a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have an 8 month old and he was really happy the whole weekend and we were accommodated really well for him.

The Hotel is really central so perfect to just walk into York and do some sight seeing.

Everyone was so friendly and the Wedding was beautiful. We may be booking our Wedding there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked this for a one night stay in September 2013 for my partner's birthday. It was quite expensive compared to other places we have stayed and we were a little disappointed. The hotel was in a great convenient place for our day and night out in York. It looked very grand from the front.

Was disappointed that the car park was full and had to pay for on street parking. However after enquiring at reception we were told that a member of staff would move their car for us. I felt it was poor that staff were taking up spaces when guests were due to be arriving.

We found the room to be very dated. It was spacious but the furniture was worn and dated, the bathroom blind was broken, the leads on the lamps seemed insecure and unsafe.

The breakfast was nice but we felt that for the price of the room it ought to have been included in the price really. We probably would not stay again given the competition in York.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z0zz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

York must be experienced to be believed. Eminently civilized, and fairy-tale special in its charm, you can see why no one has torn down the centuries-old buildings to replace them with anything new. Each generation has built new edifices carefully outside the limits of the "old city." The Grange is one of those "new" buildings - not new to us, dating from early in the 20th century, I would guess, and composed of large, spacious, comfortable rooms with updated bathrooms and two top-notch restaurants. There was a lovely and welcoming coal fire in the parlor the night we checked in. It is about a 15-minute walk from the hotel to the Minster, which was not a problem for us as we had excellent weather for the three nights we were there, but might be a concern for some in the winter months.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times for work meetings. It is a very nice hotel indeed. The rooms aren't huge, but they are very comfortable with some beautiful features. The food is also excellent: they make the best poached eggs I've had in a long time (I had them both for dinner with haddock and wilted spinach and for breakfast with black pudding and bacon - great in both versions!). It's very near the Minster and the city centre, too. I hope to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing