We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for three nights! We ate in The Brasserie for two nights, disappointed on our first visit but we went back for a second time and it proved worthwhile! Breakfast was excellent with good choice. There is a lovely guest lounge which was closed on our second day due to a meeting but we were not informed of this. The lounge was cosy with a roaring fire. The hotel is only 10 minutes walk to the Minister which was marvellous. The hotel is a little tired in places but we would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineF280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

My first stay at the Grange with my daughter and what a lovely hotel. Pretty rooms with individual touches, warm friendly staff and the perfect location. The beds were to die for and they were putting all the Christmas decs up so a stylish hotel looked even better. Many thanks and if I wanted to stay in York this would be it..

Room Tip: We stayed in a quiet room but had no view but others may be more scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferrari550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is our second stay at the Grange, and again it was excellent. The staff are friendly and efficient, room perfect and breakfast was delicious .
The location is perfect for all the shops and the Minster is only a five minutes walk.
we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is in a very easy to find location less than a 10 minute walk from the Minster. The carpark is small but was adequate for us and meant we didn't need to pay for any parking throughout our trip.

When we arrived we were met by a really friendly and helpful receptionist who talked us through the amenities and where was good to visit locally. (She didn't warn us to avoid eating at the hotel's Ivy Restaurant, but she obviously couldn't).

We were upgraded so I cannot stte what our original room would have been like but the one we were in was beautiful. It was large and well decorated and whilst some of the furniture was a little less than in perfect condition this for me fitted with the building and showed they were genuinely old and not cheap knock-offs.

Breakfast was exceptionally good and the selection was very large. My only negative comment about breakfast was that the orange juice was really poor quality which made me question the quality of the ingredients in the rest of the food although everything else tasted great.

We were made to feel really welcome by all the staff we interacted with and housekeeeping did a great job in the rooms although they need to learn to tidy up afterthemselves. There is a linen cupboard outside room 10 which continually had doors open - I walked into one of them one morning although I am a clutz.

Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone although would suggest you go elsewhere for dinner as the food in the evening certainly did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Room 10 is beautifully decorated, very quiet and doesn't require any rabbit warren-esque trips t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I chose a two day stay in York at The Grange as a present for my fiancé for his birthday. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly girl on the front desk who was very helpful, told us where to park and that we had been upgraded. I don't know what our original standard room would have been like but the room we were upgraded to was beautiful, spacious, clean and gorgeously decorated. The White Company toiletries were a lovely touch.

Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and a good selection. The freshly squeezed orange juice on the first morning was lovely, shame that the next day it was from concentrate. We had afternoon tea on one day which was great - some of the best scones I have ever had.

Only a couple of minor negative points. The first was that the housemaids didn't always clean up after themselves in public areas and so there was a laundry bag outside our room for a good few hours, and the storage cupboard was left open outside our room as well. The second is that hall areas and reception could do with a bit of decorating. It looks a bit tired, wallpaper flaking, chipped paint etc. None of these negatively impacted on my stay, but stopped it being a five for me.

Overall a great stay in York. The service was excellent, staff could not be more helpful, the room was beautiful, quiet and very comfortable and breakfast was fresh and delicious. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to York.

Thank you for helping to make my fiancés birthday a memorable for the right reasons.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the Grange Hotel for two nights whilst attending a Wedding which was at the Hotel. The Hotel gives a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have an 8 month old and he was really happy the whole weekend and we were accommodated really well for him.

The Hotel is really central so perfect to just walk into York and do some sight seeing.

Everyone was so friendly and the Wedding was beautiful. We may be booking our Wedding there in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked this for a one night stay in September 2013 for my partner's birthday. It was quite expensive compared to other places we have stayed and we were a little disappointed. The hotel was in a great convenient place for our day and night out in York. It looked very grand from the front.

Was disappointed that the car park was full and had to pay for on street parking. However after enquiring at reception we were told that a member of staff would move their car for us. I felt it was poor that staff were taking up spaces when guests were due to be arriving.

We found the room to be very dated. It was spacious but the furniture was worn and dated, the bathroom blind was broken, the leads on the lamps seemed insecure and unsafe.

The breakfast was nice but we felt that for the price of the room it ought to have been included in the price really. We probably would not stay again given the competition in York.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z0zz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
2.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £95 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing