We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our daughter's Naming Day”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We have just recently celebrated our daughters Naming Ceremony at The Grange Hotel. Let me tell you that after searching for the perfect venue we definately found it. We held our reception in the Drawing room and library which was a private room that was absolutely beautiful and for no extra cost !.

The service we received right from the start was excellent. They offered so much flexibility around choices. Suzanne the Conference & banqueting Manager was right on the ball and kept in regular contact with us, nothing was too much trouble.

The food and service was fab, modern, hot, tasted good and very well served.

The wines were good and reasonably priced.

Overall the experience was wonderful and The Grange Hotel helped to make our daughters Naming Day a very memorable occasion. We left a CD and they even posted it back to us.

We would definately recommend them for any special event.

Diane & Anne marie.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeAnnemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for The Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2008

When we started our search for a reception venue, our priorities were quality, ambiance and flexibility. From the moment I first called the Grange to enquire if they had availability for our wedding day I received all three in spades!

We were able to book the Library and Drawing Room for our reception - the perfect venue I would recommend to any couple searching for an intimate setting. Suzanne was incredibly prompt and thorough in her replies (by email and phone) to each of our questions, and her suggestions for how to arrange the tables, flowers, cakes, drinks, music, etc. were fantastic and greatly appreciated!

The staff went well beyond what we expected. For instance, we had individual homemade cupcakes instead of a traditional cake. As it was such a lovely warm day, we were afraid the icing might run, but they were to store the cupcakes until we arrived in the afternoon. Suzanne even personally helped to arrange the flowers and greenery on our cake stand - the result of which was stunning! We did very little decorating of the venue beforehand - we didn't feel we needed to. We were wholly comfortable leaving the table decorations and party favours in their hands - everything looked beathtaking when we arrived. Moreover, we had forgotten to bring many things for our 2-yr-old, all of which Amie (the GM) recified in mere moments. Above all, everything on the day was done very descreetly and well that we felt completely relaxed and able to fully enjoy the celebration - something I will cherish!

Best of all was the food - absolutely gorgeous!! And they were very flexible, easily complying with dietary/vegetarian requirements and strange requests from grandparents. :) Afterwards everyone commented on how fantastic the food was. My husband and I stayed the night and both had a full English breakfast in the morning. We simply couldn't stop commenting on the quality of the food. We will DEFINITELY stay there again, if only for the food!

Our room was in the new extension and although some of ceiling was sloped, there was loads of space. The bed was so large that I woke up in the night wondering where my husband had gone, only to find him asleep on the bed. :) The bathroom was gigantic with a 2-person bath AND 2-person free-standing shower; and besides his and hers bathrobes, there was also a television at the end of the bath! After such a warm day, the air conditioning was most appreciated! :)

Overall, my husband and I had a very memorable experience and bemoaned the fact that we hadn't arranged to stay longer. We will definitely be staying at the Grange again! Thanks again for everything!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piercel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We stayed here for our 4th wedding anniversary. We were looking for somewhere romantic but not old fashioned.

The Grange was a bit of a walk from the station - not a problem except it was raining! Good first impressions, a lovely facade and entrance. The bedroom was very nice, a little floral for my taste but it was clean and grand with a four-poster (very comfy). The bathroom was large and stylish with a big bath and his and her robes.

We were happily able to walk into York Centre for an evening meal although you can eat at the hotel (quite pricey).

The only thing that let it down was the dreadful breakfast service. The lovely room did not make up for the fact that we had to seat ourselves, some of the cutlery was unclean and we were ignored for an age! Eventually we tracked down a waitress but they soon forgot about us again and I ended up having to knock on the kitchen door. It seemed a shame to end on this after a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flissyfloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

I decided to book this hotel for a romantic break for myself and my boyfriend. For a little bit extra I booked the four poster bedroom (room 20), well worth the extra money. On arrival we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and showed to our room... Wow! The room was fabulous.. The following morning we ate breakfast at the hotel which was small, but adequate, certainly enough for me to be honest.. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which Ide never had before and I loved it.. My boyfriend had the full English breaskfast which he polished off with no complaints only adding the occasional 'mmm'. We decided to eat out the following night at The Kings Restaurant, which I can also recommend!! All in all well worth the money......

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SarahJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2008

I travelled worldwide for 25 years in my former working and private life staying in top hotels and I have a high criteria for a hotel to meet. Presently I organise a private club for people who enjoy the Arts and good food. We at Arts/Gourmet Liaisons require the best for our discerning clientele and know we will find the ambience, food and staff to be the best standard at the Grange Hotel in York. We have returned many times to the hotel and will continue to do so in the future as up to now we have no complaints!

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel because I know you will enjoy your stay!

Anne Ma'aye
Arts/Gourmet Liaisons

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rouge444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We have just returned home after our Wedding Weekend at The Grange Hotel in York. One word - PERFECT.
The staff are THE most friendly, genuine and kind group of people we have ever come across and we could not have even imagined how perfect they would make our stay - especially the General Manager Amie - the best host a Bride and Groom could ask for. Our family and friends were treated with the utmost of respect and kindness from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out. Nothing was too much trouble 24 hours a day. Simply divine.
As the Bride and Groom we were supported at every moment during the big day. The whole thing went like clockwork. Gorgeous food by the excellent Chef, James and his team working away in the kitchen. The ceremony room and wedding breakfast tables looked stunning and the staff waited on our guests like they were royalty.
Our hotel rooms were lovely - so characterful, clean and GREAT bathrooms. The cleaning staff were so busy all the time but always had a ready smile and didn't mind at all when our room was given the confetti treatment! In fact the whole team engaged in the fun as much as we did and it really made our time at The Grange so special.
The hotel is very close to the city centre - a five minute walk to the Minster and the lovely cobbled streets, shops and tea houses so all our guests could sample the delights of York too.
We travel at least three times a year to hotels in the UK and abroad and we have never had such a wonderful time. Thanks to all at The Grange, you made our day unforgetable!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happycamper077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

We wanted to spend a pre-Christmas holiday in York, and York lived up to its` reputation, just great. In fact, York saved us from checking out early, as there was so much to see and do, and we were happy when out in the city. The staff at The Grange were very helpful, though mostly inexperienced, but that seems to be normal in a lot of places these days.

However, we were not prepared to put up with really bad service and had reason to complain on the first night. When we went down to the bar at 7.00 for pre-dinner drinks (on the time that we had reserved), there was no-one to serve or greet us, not a problem if only a few minutes elapse, but not good if the wait is extended. There were a few people waiting for attention and looking lost, but generally, it was quiet in the bar and restaurant.
We waited and waited, and finally got our aperitifs.

Much later,our order for Dinner was taken, and finally after a further half hour, we were invited through to our table, where we sat, and sat, and sat.......... for half an hour before the first course arrived - with one wrong order, which had to go back to kitchen. It was now 1 hour and ten minutes from giving our order. We complained about this delay, after all it was not rocket science to produce our starters of soup for one person and a slice of game terrine with salad leaves for the other, to be told we were in a queue! Why were we told our table was ready if we were going to sit waiting for half an hour before food arrived? We continued through Dinner, with more irritations too numerous to list. Anyway, we spoke to the duty manager after dinner. She dealt with our complaints with charm and politeness, and for the rest of our stay, service improved, although the food was often cooler than desireable due to delays in getting it from chef to waitress to guest.

Lack of supervision from management showed up throughout our stay. Inconsistencies happened all the time. At breakfast, one waitress would bring hot water with tea - another day, another waitress, no hot water; some days enough coffee to drown in, some days enough to fill only one cup. No-one in management could ever have sat through a meal, or they would have found the problems.

And now to housekeeping. In our room, dust remained for days and had obviously been building up before our visit. Furniture was tired, old - yes antique in a few cases, but very worn, veneer stripping off etc. black dirt all round the carpet, skirting board areas, a very bad stain on the bed throw, hospitality tray just a couple of inches above floor level, yes you read that correctly, just above all that dust around the carpet! A heat-burned lampshade - maybe not important from a cosmetic point of view but a detail which could cheaply be rectified by buying a new lampshade, and more important, a fire safety hazzard if someone is putting too high a wattage bulb in the lamp.

On the whole, the faults with this hotel are as a result of lack of supervision of inexperienced staff. A waitress should not lift the cup from the saucer, hold it to the side of the table, and pour out the hot coffee as I saw done. It is only a matter of time before someone (staff or guest) gets scalded. That is bad
management. The friendly staff really do need the support of good training from managers, it is not their fault if they are not given this support.

Reading other guests` reviews, it would seem that some have found it acceptable, so I would guess it is a lottery whether you get a clean quiet room. We were in room 11 at the back of the hotel, not quiet because of the music downstairs, definitely not clean. Hopefully,if anyone else finds themselves in this room, management will have done something about the above comments to improve your visit.. We shall not be testing that theory, and will not return.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaysmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £99 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing