We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very charming, lounge cosy with the fire blazing. Staff very helpful. Great location and only a short walk into the city. Car park is a little tight but the team do their best to accommodate everyone. Really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you have trouble with stairs request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    365
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
154
708
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and the staff were very pleasant but we could hear the people in the room next door to us, who weren't being noisy at all - presumably they could hear us too and we felt we almost had to creep around to avoid disturbing them.

We had a very nice meal in the brasserie on our first night and on the second night we decided to try the restaurant but we were somewhat disappointed with the service and some of the food. We waited the best part of an hour between ordering and receiving our food. Adjacent tables had starters and them moved on to mains while we were waiting.

Also, I had the vegetarian option, which was very bland and didn't have enough sauce with it. To their credit, the hotel took money off the bill for the inconvenience and we wouldn't necessarily rule out staying here again but it probably won't be top of our list either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyCatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during December in a double superior room which was large and clean. The hotel is close to York city centre with car parking available at the hotel. York is always a great place to visit and this hotel is in a good position to explore the many sites of the city. The staff were polite and the meal we had in the brassiere was good, overall I would definitely recommend and will return when visiting next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26 which was large and had a good sized double bed and away from the main road, he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very elegant and comfortable hotel. Good room, comfortable bed and lovely food.
Did not like the automatic 10% service charge on dinner bill. Food and service was excellent but I would like to tip the staff directly.
I don't understand the previous review, the hotel is less than a ten minute stroll to the Minster which is the start of the city centre and being able to park behind the hotel was a big plus.

Room Tip: Front room was a little noisy from road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdavies50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed with my daughter as we were visiting York Uni, which is only a 15 minute walk, as is the centre of York, with all the lovely shops and FAB restaurants. Enjoyed a good nights sleep in a very comfy bed and pillows as good as mine at home, which is VERY rare as both are normally too hard/too soft and the pillows horrible polystyrene things which actually prevent you going to sleep !!!
Breakfast lovely next morning, all staff brilliant, would def stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovegoodfood22596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel but the website blares the fact that it is a city centre boutique hotel. It isn't city centre; it's in a suburb called Clifton. The city centre is one and a half miles away. Not far, I agree, in the scale of things, but I intended on my mid-evening arrival to stroll around the city centre sites by simply walking out of the hotel's front door. Well, there is nothing outside the front door except a busy road heading even further out of town. I hate it when hotels exaggerate but when they lie so totally - aaagh.

Room Tip: If you want a city centre hotel in York, go somewhere else. Somewhere that is actually IN the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Winter break in York for two nights in November. Regency style luxury, extremely helpful and professional staff. Breakfast was one of the best I have had, a huge choice in an interesting dining room, with very attentive staff. Lovely log fire to settle around in the evening. Will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the main road (not my normal preference, but was not aware of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowa2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing