We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing New Year Break.”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing New Year Break.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked our two night stay at The Grange through Secret Escapes and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff at The Grange were very welcoming from the minute we checked in. We stayed in one of the standard rooms on the second floor which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The morning room is beautiful and a great place for afternoon tea and relaxing by the fire. The hotel is a short walk from the centre of York and we timed our walk which took 10 minutes from the hotel door to the Minster. The food in The Brasserie was beautiful and the breakfast was lovely. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    376
    174
    82
    31
See reviews for
159
735
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Grange from 24-28 December 2013. The hotel was very nice and the staff helpful at all times. It made a tremendous difference that one of our rooms was upgraded to the suite at no extra charge. There were seven of us staying as a group and it was lovely to be able to gather privately to celebrate. This was a lovely touch.

We however found the standard of the food very up and down. There were simple things that could be improved to make the experience a lot better. Fresh bread selection rather than sliced bread at breakfast would be an improvement. There were no biscuits or cake provided when tea and coffee were served one afternoon which would have a nice touch, we had to request some biscuits but they did not arrive before we had finished. The food at the dinners was variable but the Christmas Lunch was good with a lovely atmosphere. In general the lack of fresh vegetables at the other meals was regrettable. The two very poor dishes were the butternut squash risotto and a peppered brie mousse. The Christmas Evening Buffet was disappointing, the main issue being where it was held. It would have been so much pleasanter if it had been held in the dining room rather than downstairs which was very dark and dull. The dining room is lovely and would have been so much better.

Part of the Christmas package was a tour of Yorkminster which was lovely and we had a very good guide. The lunch however was on the whole awful. The rabbit stew was served in cold dishes and had to go back and even when it was returned, very anaemic looking and tasting. By contrast the vegetable lasagne was very hot but over cooked. I would advise that you do not use this restaurant again for your guests.

On the whole we had a very good time. You have a wonderful asset with your hotel and the friendliness of your staff. My personal opinion is that that simpler menus that were a consistently higher standard with more fresh fruit and vegetables would transform the experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLong1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at The Grange for the Xmas period it was a lovely hotel great staff and a wonderful stay it was our 1st Xmas away and we had a great time we had great food,nice room,good service we couldn't ask for better. A few minor problems were quickly resolved and we would definitely stay at The Grange again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Grange Hotel York from the 24/27 December Christmas 2013. First impressions were not favorable, as I had to dust the inside of the wardrobe before using it as to remove a thick layer of dust from the shelves within.

The pillows were very uncomfortable, as they had now substance and were lumpy. I did request to have them changed, but if they were, the pillows did not improve.

The noise from the room above was terrible as you could hear loud music and every evening people moving about until the early hours. I did phone the reception as to inquire if anything could be done. Perhaps in the future some type of insulation might help to lesson the noise for the people below from the creaking floorboards above. Due to the noise we had very little sleep.

All our tea and coffee was served Luke warm.

As part of the Christmas 3 day package we were all taken for lunch at the Black Swan this was not a pleasant experience as the meal was terrible. We were requested to pre- ordered our meal and we had chosen the Rabbit Stew, but unfortunately had to send it back so did others as it was cold and tasteless.

On a very positive note, the Christmas night buffet was well presented, a good selection, and the quality of food was excellent. Also, the staff were friendly and done their best as to make use feel welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just got back from a second Christmas break at the Grange. As last year was so wonderful, we were a little worried that it might not live up to our very high expectations and that there might be certain omissions and corners cut, as has been the case in some other hotels we have stayed in. We needn't have worried. Everything was perfect from our room to the service and the food. Christmas Eve was particularly magical with a generous champagne and canapé reception and carols round the splendid tree. We would like to thank Steven and his team for all their hard work. I should also mention the fabulous buffet in the evening on Christmas Day and the Boxing Day lunch at the Black Swan pub. We shall be back.

Room Tip: We had a superior double in the so-called new bit. it was very spacious and a short journey down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very charming, lounge cosy with the fire blazing. Staff very helpful. Great location and only a short walk into the city. Car park is a little tight but the team do their best to accommodate everyone. Really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you have trouble with stairs request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebell1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and the staff were very pleasant but we could hear the people in the room next door to us, who weren't being noisy at all - presumably they could hear us too and we felt we almost had to creep around to avoid disturbing them.

We had a very nice meal in the brasserie on our first night and on the second night we decided to try the restaurant but we were somewhat disappointed with the service and some of the food. We waited the best part of an hour between ordering and receiving our food. Adjacent tables had starters and them moved on to mains while we were waiting.

Also, I had the vegetarian option, which was very bland and didn't have enough sauce with it. To their credit, the hotel took money off the bill for the inconvenience and we wouldn't necessarily rule out staying here again but it probably won't be top of our list either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyCatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing