We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay at The Grange Hotel, this was a special weekend to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. We were looking to spoil ourselves with some luxury surroundings in this Beautiful city so chose The Grange. On arrival the building is very pleasing and impressive and we really appreciated the free convienient parking provided.
Our room was nice although it did lack that wow factor we were looking for. The double bed was spacious but it was hard not to notice the join in the middle where two singles had been pushed together. With this discomfort we might as well of had a twin room!
Our room was at the front on the hotel on the first floor, this is right above the front door so at night the extremely bright spot lights used to display the hotel was shinning directly into our room. There were no blackout curtains provided, because of this we had to call the night ported on both nights to have the light switched off. Only for it to be switched on again in the early hours. I found this very inconsiderate and somthing maybe a hotel aiming to provide customer comfort should be aware of.
The bathroom could do with being resealed and the tile grout
Improving.
The breakfast was over cooked and had obviously been waiting under a hot light.
In all I was very disappointed at my choice of hotel on what was a very special occasion and I would not have paid the price we did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jopauln5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay at The Grange. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service but it appears that we didn't get it right for you on this special occasion.

We are in the process of ordering black out blinds for the room in which you stayed.Unfortunately the night porter didn't realise that the outside lights are on a timer which is why they came on again.

We refurbish a number of rooms each year but addressed the issues in the bathroom in terms of grouting immediately as you would expect.

I have reiterated our food and service standards with the team, not least at breakfast, to ensure that breakfast is served to a consistently high standard. I do hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    361
    172
    81
    30
See reviews for
153
698
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Recently stayed there on a "mummy break" with my friend (child and husband free) to chill out and relax. Fantastic staff, excellent food, very comfortable rooms and well worth a visit. Having spent many a happy year living in and subsequently visiting York, the Grange has always had a first class reputation and now having had the pleasure of staying there, I can see why. It really is first rate and could not be more recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We would very much like to thank the staff for providing a hotel which in our view was outstanding.

From our first contact with your staff to departure the staff were outstanding. At check in the young lady on duty was so polite and exuded a genuine warmth to us as if we were old friends returning. Most first contacts tend to be very polite but matter of fact, but she was so warm and friendly it was refreshing to be met by such a kind caring young lady. The room was outstanding and was exactly what we wished to return to after a day of shopping and sightseeing around York.
When we went for our evening meal we met Mick, he introduced us to Chase Vodka, his product knowledge was second to none and his conduct reflected the hotels aim to provide good old fashioned hospitality to the highest of levels. The young lady who served our meals was too of the same calibre as the rest of the staff. Food wise we had a very high standard of dining in beautiful surroundings.


Will you express our gratitude to the staff and if I can say anything, it would be keep up the good work as this is what makes people return in this very competitive world service counts more than price in my view and we shall be back.

Room Tip: speak to the staff when booking they want to do the best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steno101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had only booked for 1 night but wished it had been 2. Our room was comfortable, with a massive bed and lovely bathroom, with TV at the end of the bath. The ambience of the hotel is warm and welcoming, which was also carried through by the helpfull and cheerfull staff. We ate in the brasserie in the barrel vaulted cellar and the meal and service was excellent, and definitely not over-priced. We will certainly go back, and next time, will treat ourselves to one of the sumptuous four poster rooms. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to be close enough to the town to walk, but far enough away to relax. One minor issue was a noisy door below us which interrupted our late afternoon nap (but not during the night) and a bit of noise from the side street.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Loved it. Our bed was amazing. We had a huge bath with a TV. The food for dinner was top class. The dining room at dinner looked very nice. Definitely recommend it.

This review must be at least 200 characters. Strange!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We opted for the premier double room for two nights at the weekend. Arriving at 6.30pm there was plenty of room in the car park - although it might have been more challenging if all 30+ rooms were filled and required car parking space.
The room was clean and spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds and excellent quality duvet and pillows. Nice touches included the fresh milk in the fridge and quality individually wrapped Yorkshire tea bags!

The first night we ate in the Ivy restaurant and the second night in the Bistro bar. We experienced excellent service in both and food to an extremely high standard. This might sound unadventurous and usually we would do anything to avoid in the hotel but actually it was so welcoming and comfortable that we decided on the easy option after a hard days retail amongst York's individual and interesting shops.

The staff were all courteous and friendly.

This is not a cheap hotel but for a mid January cheering up it was value (especially when booking through Quidco and using a one free night voucher that we had saved)

Thoroughly recommend and will look forwards to going back at some time in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited The Grange Hotel in York which is about 10 minutes walk into the city centre. There was a lovely greeting from the lady on the reception desk. We found the room very comfortable, bathroom exceptional, very clean and loads of hot water. The only drawback was that the room was situated down the side street, you could hear all the traffic and bin men come and go. Also the door round the back entrance you could hear opening and shutting all the time.
The building itself was very interesting and straight away you get the feeling that it was a former house of gentry, in fact two houses converted together.
The food also was excellent in the evening and we enjoyed it very much, the service from the staff was also excellent. The breakfast was as we thought going off the food and service we had in the evening. We shall certainly return to this hotel when visiting York again. Many Thanks for a lovely break. Mr & Mrs Jones.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing