We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in York
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just arrived home after a three night stay at The Grange Hotel York. We arrived on Friday morning and walked from York Train Station, perhaps a 20 minute walk, would take a taxi the next time. The hotel itself was relatively easy to find. Its beautiful exterior stood out alone on the street. We arrived at about 12 noon and there was no trouble in checking in and being assigned to our rooms immediately. We were in large family party and all rooms were available at this time.

The interior of the hotel is exquisite and clean. It is very warming and welcoming and has a "homely" feel about it, a charming old building. We stayed in room 16 on the first floor, there are no lifts in the hotel but being an older building that was to be expected. Our room was large and spacious and beautifully decorated with paintings, books etc. There was a mini fridge containing fresh milk daily and complimentary bottle water. There was a safe, that didn't work, but we didn't bring this to the managements attention. The bathroom was clean with a great powershower. The only downfall was that we felt it was sometimes hard to find bedrooms due to signage. The best plus for us was the comfort of the bed, nicest bed we have ever slept in, soft mattress, warm quilt, soft pillows, magic sleeping

The hotel is about 7-10 mins walk to York City Centre and a taxi will set you back about 6 pounds sterling. The pints on draft were San Miguel 4 pounds 15 pence, Carlsberg at 3 pounds 55 pence. We ate breakfast each morning which we found very impressive, but costly if not included in your deal. A yorkshire breakfast containing black pudding, beans, 1 sausage, 2 rashers and an egg is almost 17 pounds. Other delicious meals were eggs benedict, eggs florentine and one or two other options. There was an enormous selection of cereals, breads, fruits , yoghurts juices etc.

We have to mention the staff, they were wonderful, every single person we dealt with. Super friendly, smiling helpful staff, well done The Grange on having some of the most excellent staff weve ever encountered.

We were at a family wedding and had after party drinks in the cellar which was cosy and quiet a nd a beautiful venue within itself. Not a great hotel for wheelchair users as there are no lifts, steps going in to the front and back however the hotel combatted the steps to the front with ramps.

As for York itself we found it to be like a fantasy world of nooks and crannys and the most amazing shops and we have decided immediately that we will be returning to this wonderful city, and without a shadow of a doubt we will be returning to this Gem of a hotel, The Grange.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    351
    165
    81
    29
See reviews for
146
670
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Perfect hotel, stayed for my birthday with an offer from travelzoo for one night with evening meal and breakfast next day. We arrived at 11 am in York and thought we would try and park at the hotel, went in to ask if this was ok, the extremely helpful receptionist told us our room was ready and we could check in there and then. We were given a four poster room on the ground floor, which was amazing. After a great day walking the walls and seeing a lot of the sites we returned to the hotel for a relax before dinner, which was excellent. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing all the sites.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supersue1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was the perfect place to stay for a mini-break to York. The room was so pretty and my favourite thing was that there was fresh milk in the fridge for our tea rather than those annoying little UHT things. Breakfast was delicious. Nice bar too. We had afternoon tea in the drawing room as part of an excellent special offer (booked directly through their own website) and it was very good, although the sweet cakes were not my cup of tea (coffee and nut flavours rather than chocolate, but that's just me). The location was very good, just a 5 minute walk to the city walls.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liaisonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We chose the Grange because it was close to the Minster and the theatre also it stated on the website that it was linked to Sawdays which it certainly is not. Though I understand they were at one time. May be the Sawdays logo should be removed as this is totally misleading.

The staff, from start to finish were excellent, and the drawing room with its beautiful open fire was sheer joy, perfect for the chilly weather.. Our bedroom was drab but the bed was excellent as was the bathroom.

The main complaint is the appalling food.On arrival after a very long journey we ordered smoked salmon sandwiches, scones with jam and cream. The sandwiches instead of arriving beautifully cut and presented well, came in the form of a triple decker, the bread tasted just awful ( same at breakfast, must be the cheapest rubbish on the market ) The scones were dry, the jam a glutinus substance tipped out any old how enough to feed an army and the cream tasted and looked synthetic. I really do think chef has a lot to learn

I get the impression with this hotel that it is uncertain of its market, they do not seem to know who they are catering for. Consequently the beautiful drawing room does not match with the rest of the place. I also felt that no one is in charge, no sign of managerial expert staff

We would return for the drawing room alone, which is a rare these days, also it was peaceful more like a luxurious library with no tinkling music. But I would not eat here. The location is excellent.

Room Tip: We by mistake chose a room in the so called new block. Very disappointing, drab and chilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanoverCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food at The Grange; it's a great shame for us that you didn't make us aware at the time. We have a manager on duty at all times who would have gone out of his way to put things right if he'd known that you were unhappy.

I have reiterated our standards with the team regarding sandwiches and breakfast and have introduced small sealed pots of jam since your visit.

We are glad that you enjoyed the morning room, it is indeed most relaxing. For information we are listed in the 15th edition of Sawday's (the most recent), entry 240.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just arrived home from a 2 night stay at The Grange Hotel, this was a special weekend to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. We were looking to spoil ourselves with some luxury surroundings in this Beautiful city so chose The Grange. On arrival the building is very pleasing and impressive and we really appreciated the free convienient parking provided.
Our room was nice although it did lack that wow factor we were looking for. The double bed was spacious but it was hard not to notice the join in the middle where two singles had been pushed together. With this discomfort we might as well of had a twin room!
Our room was at the front on the hotel on the first floor, this is right above the front door so at night the extremely bright spot lights used to display the hotel was shinning directly into our room. There were no blackout curtains provided, because of this we had to call the night ported on both nights to have the light switched off. Only for it to be switched on again in the early hours. I found this very inconsiderate and somthing maybe a hotel aiming to provide customer comfort should be aware of.
The bathroom could do with being resealed and the tile grout
Improving.
The breakfast was over cooked and had obviously been waiting under a hot light.
In all I was very disappointed at my choice of hotel on what was a very special occasion and I would not have paid the price we did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jopauln5kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay at The Grange. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service but it appears that we didn't get it right for you on this special occasion.

We are in the process of ordering black out blinds for the room in which you stayed.Unfortunately the night porter didn't realise that the outside lights are on a timer which is why they came on again.

We refurbish a number of rooms each year but addressed the issues in the bathroom in terms of grouting immediately as you would expect.

I have reiterated our food and service standards with the team, not least at breakfast, to ensure that breakfast is served to a consistently high standard. I do hope that you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Recently stayed there on a "mummy break" with my friend (child and husband free) to chill out and relax. Fantastic staff, excellent food, very comfortable rooms and well worth a visit. Having spent many a happy year living in and subsequently visiting York, the Grange has always had a first class reputation and now having had the pleasure of staying there, I can see why. It really is first rate and could not be more recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We would very much like to thank the staff for providing a hotel which in our view was outstanding.

From our first contact with your staff to departure the staff were outstanding. At check in the young lady on duty was so polite and exuded a genuine warmth to us as if we were old friends returning. Most first contacts tend to be very polite but matter of fact, but she was so warm and friendly it was refreshing to be met by such a kind caring young lady. The room was outstanding and was exactly what we wished to return to after a day of shopping and sightseeing around York.
When we went for our evening meal we met Mick, he introduced us to Chase Vodka, his product knowledge was second to none and his conduct reflected the hotels aim to provide good old fashioned hospitality to the highest of levels. The young lady who served our meals was too of the same calibre as the rest of the staff. Food wise we had a very high standard of dining in beautiful surroundings.


Will you express our gratitude to the staff and if I can say anything, it would be keep up the good work as this is what makes people return in this very competitive world service counts more than price in my view and we shall be back.

Room Tip: speak to the staff when booking they want to do the best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steno101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#13 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#22 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#12 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing