We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York hotel”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed at the Grange hotel for 3 midweek days in February. The location is excellent only 10 mins from York Minster. Breakfast where good with staff very helpful and pleasant. Was in room 35 tv in the bathroom. Bar staff and bistro brassier where exelent. We had the burger and chips which was exelent. All in I found this to be a good place to stay in York and would return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zetdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

just returned from a weekend break and found the hotel to be comfortable, breakfast choice was excellant but on our first morning we waited for 40 mins for breakfast which was not a very good start, if we had not gestured the waiter we would still have been waiting!!!!! but on the whole we enjoyed our stay. we have stayed in york on a number of occasions and although we enjoyed our stay we have stayed in better accomodaition with the same amount of stars!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Grange. I agree that 40 minutes is far too long to wait for breakfast and I must apologise for that. After asking some questions it seems that both waiting staff were under the impression that the other had taken your order. Some additional staff training is required I think; thank you for bringing it to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Antique chic. Very comfortable with a relaxing ambiance.

Well appointed room with TV in the bathroom. Evening meal and breakfast were very good and with excellent service. All staff were friendly and helpful.

The position is great, with a direct walk to the Minster taking under 10mins.

Would recommend this hotel, and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinAshdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just arrived home after a three night stay at The Grange Hotel York. We arrived on Friday morning and walked from York Train Station, perhaps a 20 minute walk, would take a taxi the next time. The hotel itself was relatively easy to find. Its beautiful exterior stood out alone on the street. We arrived at about 12 noon and there was no trouble in checking in and being assigned to our rooms immediately. We were in large family party and all rooms were available at this time.

The interior of the hotel is exquisite and clean. It is very warming and welcoming and has a "homely" feel about it, a charming old building. We stayed in room 16 on the first floor, there are no lifts in the hotel but being an older building that was to be expected. Our room was large and spacious and beautifully decorated with paintings, books etc. There was a mini fridge containing fresh milk daily and complimentary bottle water. There was a safe, that didn't work, but we didn't bring this to the managements attention. The bathroom was clean with a great powershower. The only downfall was that we felt it was sometimes hard to find bedrooms due to signage. The best plus for us was the comfort of the bed, nicest bed we have ever slept in, soft mattress, warm quilt, soft pillows, magic sleeping

The hotel is about 7-10 mins walk to York City Centre and a taxi will set you back about 6 pounds sterling. The pints on draft were San Miguel 4 pounds 15 pence, Carlsberg at 3 pounds 55 pence. We ate breakfast each morning which we found very impressive, but costly if not included in your deal. A yorkshire breakfast containing black pudding, beans, 1 sausage, 2 rashers and an egg is almost 17 pounds. Other delicious meals were eggs benedict, eggs florentine and one or two other options. There was an enormous selection of cereals, breads, fruits , yoghurts juices etc.

We have to mention the staff, they were wonderful, every single person we dealt with. Super friendly, smiling helpful staff, well done The Grange on having some of the most excellent staff weve ever encountered.

We were at a family wedding and had after party drinks in the cellar which was cosy and quiet a nd a beautiful venue within itself. Not a great hotel for wheelchair users as there are no lifts, steps going in to the front and back however the hotel combatted the steps to the front with ramps.

As for York itself we found it to be like a fantasy world of nooks and crannys and the most amazing shops and we have decided immediately that we will be returning to this wonderful city, and without a shadow of a doubt we will be returning to this Gem of a hotel, The Grange.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sineadandbrendan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Perfect hotel, stayed for my birthday with an offer from travelzoo for one night with evening meal and breakfast next day. We arrived at 11 am in York and thought we would try and park at the hotel, went in to ask if this was ok, the extremely helpful receptionist told us our room was ready and we could check in there and then. We were given a four poster room on the ground floor, which was amazing. After a great day walking the walls and seeing a lot of the sites we returned to the hotel for a relax before dinner, which was excellent. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing all the sites.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supersue1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was the perfect place to stay for a mini-break to York. The room was so pretty and my favourite thing was that there was fresh milk in the fridge for our tea rather than those annoying little UHT things. Breakfast was delicious. Nice bar too. We had afternoon tea in the drawing room as part of an excellent special offer (booked directly through their own website) and it was very good, although the sweet cakes were not my cup of tea (coffee and nut flavours rather than chocolate, but that's just me). The location was very good, just a 5 minute walk to the city walls.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liaisonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We chose the Grange because it was close to the Minster and the theatre also it stated on the website that it was linked to Sawdays which it certainly is not. Though I understand they were at one time. May be the Sawdays logo should be removed as this is totally misleading.

The staff, from start to finish were excellent, and the drawing room with its beautiful open fire was sheer joy, perfect for the chilly weather.. Our bedroom was drab but the bed was excellent as was the bathroom.

The main complaint is the appalling food.On arrival after a very long journey we ordered smoked salmon sandwiches, scones with jam and cream. The sandwiches instead of arriving beautifully cut and presented well, came in the form of a triple decker, the bread tasted just awful ( same at breakfast, must be the cheapest rubbish on the market ) The scones were dry, the jam a glutinus substance tipped out any old how enough to feed an army and the cream tasted and looked synthetic. I really do think chef has a lot to learn

I get the impression with this hotel that it is uncertain of its market, they do not seem to know who they are catering for. Consequently the beautiful drawing room does not match with the rest of the place. I also felt that no one is in charge, no sign of managerial expert staff

We would return for the drawing room alone, which is a rare these days, also it was peaceful more like a luxurious library with no tinkling music. But I would not eat here. The location is excellent.

Room Tip: We by mistake chose a room in the so called new block. Very disappointing, drab and chilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanoverCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food at The Grange; it's a great shame for us that you didn't make us aware at the time. We have a manager on duty at all times who would have gone out of his way to put things right if he'd known that you were unhappy.

I have reiterated our standards with the team regarding sandwiches and breakfast and have introduced small sealed pots of jam since your visit.

We are glad that you enjoyed the morning room, it is indeed most relaxing. For information we are listed in the 15th edition of Sawday's (the most recent), entry 240.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 47 in York
1,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £93 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing