We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, perfect location. Would most certainly stay when visit York again. The Breakfast was very nice, very hot and cooked to a high standard . Nothing was too much trouble for the staff . It is only a ten minute wall from the Minster and Shambles.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kennedy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass them on to the team.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    361
    172
    81
    30
See reviews for
153
698
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary with our 3 month old baby daughter. All the staff were extremely accommodating and highly pleasant. I cannot believe there were people in the reception moaning that there was no lift, or that the floor boards squeaked! Obviously trying to pull a fast one to get money off their check out bill! You know who you are!
We cannot recommend The Grange highly enough, especially when the staff were more than happy to help me jump start my car!

Staff= wonderful
Food = delicious
Decor and atmosphere = stunning
Attitude of particular guests = outrageous

Many thanks to all at the grange for making our wedding anniversary exceptional.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Firstly, Happy Anniversary! We are really pleased to hear that we helped make your wedding anniversary 'exceptional'. I will pass on your kind words to the team.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster

ps...I hope your car is fixed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I can whole-heartedly recommend the Grange Hotel in York. It is a medium-sized hotel in walking distance from centre and railway, handsome building, stately sitting room and comfy restaurant. Best thing was comfort of bedrooms - gorgeous huge bed, fluffy towels and everything as it should be. The staff were enthusiastic and friendly but just a tiny bit chaotic. All the hotel needs is a ward matron-type manager to go from very good to excellent.

Room Tip: We were in Room 10 which was easy to find and well-appointed. All the rooms I saw were of high quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are extremely proud of our hotel and we appreciate your feedback on the quality of our rooms.

We are continuously developing and training our enthusiastic team and I am confident that when you return we will be not be chaotic.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A very comfortable and well run hotel, with exceptionally helpful and welcoming staff. How nice to find an hotel which has a beautiful guest lounge with roaring fire. We stayed in the suite, with large bright rooms, perfectly prepared each day. Love that there is fresh milk for early morning tea!
The Brasserie is relaxing and the food there is good value. Our only disappointment was the restaurant which is less bright in every way than it should have been - the dinner did not live up to the expectation created by the hotel website, and the dining room itself is tired and lacks sparkle. That said, we would stay here again for there is a great deal of charm to the place, it is so convenient for walking to all the sights and there is car parking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normad800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your lovely comments and I will pass them on to the team.

I'm sorry that the restaurant was not up to your expectations. I would like the opportunity to discuss this further. My phone number is 01904 644 744 and my email is food&beverage@grangehotel.co.uk

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have spent the most wonderful time at the Grange Hotel in York. It was a surpeise for my 60th birthday on the 30th of March. We arrive on the previous Tuesday and our room was number 4 with the 4 poster bed, fabulous. Very clean and welcoming. The staff are all lovely, made us feel so welcome and always smiling. Meals .... delicious and hot, lounge was so comfy and peaceful. All in all a lovely experience, thanks to all for making it so special.

Room Tip: Room 4 is so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. I will pass them on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming back to The Grange next time you are in York.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for the last 4 or 5 years, and it has been very good - a lovely building within a few minutes' walk of York Minster, and with lovely food.

Sadly, we won't be visiting next year because the food this time was very disappointing, and miles away from the quality that we have eaten in the past. For convenience, we ate in the hotel both of the nights that we stayed, and found the food to be equally poor both times. It is such a shame, and I hope that the management get a grip on the food, because, otherwise, this is a splendid hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Firstly, thank you for your feedback. We need to know when we get is wrong as well as right so that we can improve our service for the future.

I am sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurants was not up to our usual high standards. I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly to discuss this further . My phone number is 01904 644 744 and my email is food&beverage@grangehotel.co.uk

As a valued customer I do hope we get the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Typical Victorian type of hotel, nicely situated close to the city centre. Friendy staff, good breakfaste. Confortable bed but the room was very small. Parking is a bet of a problem, being very small. But the hotel staff will do any thing to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room. Some of their rooms are very very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batrottet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Our team will be pleased to read your comments!

We do have limited car park spaces due to our location. But we are one of the few hotels in York that do not charge for car parking. If we are full we offer discounted rates in our local pay & display car park.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Forster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing