We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Southend, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at the Grange in York on numerous occassions, many years ago. I stopped staying there, because you couldnt drop straight out of the front door and into the hurly burly of the alleyways.

Recently, I have needed to travel to York twice and needed to take my dog on both occassions. She is a middle aged miniature dachshund, who we have inherited recently, and I was a little unsure how she would cope with the joys of being a guest. This was explained before we arrived.

I have to say, I am not sure if having the dog with me opened my eyes to the service of the hotel, but the care they lavished on the dog, was certainly reflected in the way they treated me.

It has a slightly faded elegance, and matching pace. It feels airy and light. It feels like the perfect space to both be and work... and the dog loved it to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmw26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

As you know, we are happy to welcome dogs as long as they are well behaved and I must admit we haven't had a bad experience yet!

Have a lovely Easter and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    357
    168
    81
    30
See reviews for
150
691
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This Hotel is beautiful!!! the staff are excellent and the food, brilliant.

We had afternoon tea for 25 adults and 8 childerens meals .... the staff couldn't do enough for us.

10/10 recommend to anyone.

Stef

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night..
The staff were lovely! Warm and welcoming.
Rooms were of a good size, and clean! And the bar had a beautiful lounge! The bar tenders were friendly and they had a decent selection of alcohol to try out.
Would definitely go back!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manishasrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We appreciate your kind words; I will pass them onto the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Jackie Millan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful room with a comfy four poster bed. Helpful and polite staff. Great breakfast one of the best we've had in similar hotels. Parking is a little limited but fantastic location for the city centre. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. We had a lovely one night stay and will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were more than happy with our choice of hotel for our four day visit to York. From our point of view everything was perfect. The room and breakfast were both first class. We would certainly return to the Grange if we visit York again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay; I will pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit York.

Kind regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked this hotel for one night, for a mini-break with my husband, and didn't expect a great deal given the bargain price for a last minute king room. The hotel exceeded our expectations: it is located a short and pleasant stroll from the minster and has real kerb appeal. We managed to park in the car park and our room was large and beautiful and even though it was on the ground floor and at the front of the building, right next to the road, we had a great night's sleep with very little road noise. Really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMGMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for The Grange. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

One of the best beds I've slept in, brilliant sized room furnished very nicely. Although the bathroom was a bit pokey, could use a little updating. Never got round to the breakfast, would have been nice not to have to leave so early due to check out times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cami64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a great nights sleep. There are some bathrooms that are on our 'to do' list and will be undergoing refurbishment soon.

It's a shame that you didn't find time to have breakfast. Room service could have been the answer or organising a late check out. Perhaps next time!

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#15 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing