We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this one a miss”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grange Hotel in York for a long weekend in late March. We used a not so secret Hotel website to make the booking where a good looking offer was taken up especially as we'd always wanted to go to York. We both absolutely loved York but not the hotel unfortunately. We found the hotel scruffy especially the lounge area in the hotel which could be cosy with a nice country house drawing room feel but unfortunately the two battered and worn and torn sofa's make it look more like a dentist waiting room. Add to that pictures and lampshades that were constantly askew, it gives a tired, apathetic feel.

The service in the restaurants (Brasserie for dinner one night) and breakfast was amateurish with young staff who seemed very inexperienced. At dinner in the Brasserie, our main courses arrived whilst we were still eating the starter with the young waiter shoving the main courses onto our table with little or no explanation. No complaints about the food though which was of a good standard in the Brasserie.

Our room was small but to be honest very functional and not a problem until we realised that the dividing wall between us and the adjacent room was in fact a thin stud wall and not stone as the building would suggest. This came to the fore at 06:30 on the Sunday morning when our neighbours child was up and running about with every word and footstep reverberating through into our room making sleep impossible and an early wake up call we would rather not have had. Fortunately Reception advised that the adjacent room was being vacated that day and would be empty so no further action was needed but the damage was done. The shower in our room continuously flooded the bathroom floor because the shower screen was ineffective and we resorted to holding the shower in order to keep the floor relatively dry.

All in all this could be a great hotel as it is a beautiful building in an excellent location but aspects of it let it down and make it ordinary and no better than a budget option. Should we return to York we will not stay at this hotel nor reccommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review of The Grange Hotel. We take comments such as yours very seriously and will improve immediately the things that we are able, for instance the service issues and the adjoining room with a family.

With regards to the fabric of the Hotel; I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We do have a rolling refurbishment plan and address a number of rooms each year,

We appreciate your positive comments about the quality of our food.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for The Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Really nice and beautiful , splendid location in York.
Wonderful , superb rooms with celan bathrooms .
Nice Staff.
Really good breakfast and nice beers on the bar.
Without any doubt If I come back I will choose it again !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocobeita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My sister was looking for a good old fashioned afternoon tea in York for part of her Hen Weekend and we stumbled upon the Grange Hotel. Claire in the Sales Team was incredibly helpful from the start - arranging for a nice set deal, a private (and lovely) room then dealing with all our personal preferences and requirements. The Afternoon Tea was very good value at £15 each with what felt like unlimited tea/coffee and a really nice selection of cakes. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenjones610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed at the Grange in York on numerous occassions, many years ago. I stopped staying there, because you couldnt drop straight out of the front door and into the hurly burly of the alleyways.

Recently, I have needed to travel to York twice and needed to take my dog on both occassions. She is a middle aged miniature dachshund, who we have inherited recently, and I was a little unsure how she would cope with the joys of being a guest. This was explained before we arrived.

I have to say, I am not sure if having the dog with me opened my eyes to the service of the hotel, but the care they lavished on the dog, was certainly reflected in the way they treated me.

It has a slightly faded elegance, and matching pace. It feels airy and light. It feels like the perfect space to both be and work... and the dog loved it to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmw26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

As you know, we are happy to welcome dogs as long as they are well behaved and I must admit we haven't had a bad experience yet!

Have a lovely Easter and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This Hotel is beautiful!!! the staff are excellent and the food, brilliant.

We had afternoon tea for 25 adults and 8 childerens meals .... the staff couldn't do enough for us.

10/10 recommend to anyone.

Stef

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night..
The staff were lovely! Warm and welcoming.
Rooms were of a good size, and clean! And the bar had a beautiful lounge! The bar tenders were friendly and they had a decent selection of alcohol to try out.
Would definitely go back!!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Manishasrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We appreciate your kind words; I will pass them onto the rest of the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Wonderful room with a comfy four poster bed. Helpful and polite staff. Great breakfast one of the best we've had in similar hotels. Parking is a little limited but fantastic location for the city centre. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. We had a lovely one night stay and will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £99 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing