We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok...”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The most positive thing about this hotel is the staff - they are really well trained and lovely! The free (inclusive) WIFI is good as well - and the breakfast was nice enough. The hotel is close enough to the city to amble in and out all day.

Parking is not the best - the car park is too small and to get there and be told you have to park at an NCP some distance away for an £7.50 until 10am the next morning then more cost... is not the best of welcomes.

The room was small - disappointingly small. Chairs were faded - it just looked a bit shabby. Pity really when the room rate was so high. Shower didn't aim where I wanted it to and the bath water wasn't warm enough. The room was at the front and we heard constant road noise all night. Once the heating was sorted out the second night was cooler - the radiators were on full I think!

So a mixed review when I wanted to have an amazing time and leave a fully positive one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back the road noise is loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange.

We are delighted with your comments about the staff and the food.I shall feed this back to the team.

Room temperature is a very personal thing; we have fully adjustable radiators set at the half way mark. I understand that housekeeping turned your radiator off after your first night, however, I apologise if this, along with the traffic caused you to have a poor nights sleep.

We have 26 car parking spaces with 38 rooms. I wish we had more but on the plus side we are the only hotel with free parking in York to my knowledge.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was a wonderful all round hotel. The room was beautiful, spacious, with feather pillows. The food was excellent and the staff very courteous and the food extremely nice. The filthy Otterburn Castle Hotel, in Northumberland was a shock after this place. I would most certainly go back and recommend it to anyone. What excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange; I will pass your comments on the the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

To all the people who have read previous reviews where people are moaning it's too far out of town this is nonsense, it is ideal it is a 5 minute walk in to town at most. The hotel is traditional to fits in with York. We would reccomend anyone to stay here. The bar is a tad expensive but I don't suppose people visit York and spend all the time in the bar in the Hotel so this can be forgiven. The Hitel free parking is limited so need to be there early to grab that car space to the rear if the Hotel. Breakfast very good we had traditional English and was all cooked nice. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. YES WE WOULD STAY AGAIN.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just back from a stay at the the Grange and must say that we really enjoyed it. There seem to have been some negative views on here regarding the breakfast but I thought it was excellent you have the usual choice of cereals, fruit juice, yoghurt, pastries etc then you get tea/coffee and toast then your hot breakfast, the eggs benedict is "delicious" - all served piping hot! We had rooms on the first floor, "beware" we got lost trying to find our rooms several times, the building is very quaint with lots of nooks and crannies but this adds to its character. The staff are very helpful particularly Dave and all seem very hard working, Would definitely return if coming back to York. About 5 minutes walk to the Minster so great location. Try Cafe No 8 Bistro for a meal you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 37 and 38 - love these rooms, really huge bed and the bathroom has a telly in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grange Hotel in York for a long weekend in late March. We used a not so secret Hotel website to make the booking where a good looking offer was taken up especially as we'd always wanted to go to York. We both absolutely loved York but not the hotel unfortunately. We found the hotel scruffy especially the lounge area in the hotel which could be cosy with a nice country house drawing room feel but unfortunately the two battered and worn and torn sofa's make it look more like a dentist waiting room. Add to that pictures and lampshades that were constantly askew, it gives a tired, apathetic feel.

The service in the restaurants (Brasserie for dinner one night) and breakfast was amateurish with young staff who seemed very inexperienced. At dinner in the Brasserie, our main courses arrived whilst we were still eating the starter with the young waiter shoving the main courses onto our table with little or no explanation. No complaints about the food though which was of a good standard in the Brasserie.

Our room was small but to be honest very functional and not a problem until we realised that the dividing wall between us and the adjacent room was in fact a thin stud wall and not stone as the building would suggest. This came to the fore at 06:30 on the Sunday morning when our neighbours child was up and running about with every word and footstep reverberating through into our room making sleep impossible and an early wake up call we would rather not have had. Fortunately Reception advised that the adjacent room was being vacated that day and would be empty so no further action was needed but the damage was done. The shower in our room continuously flooded the bathroom floor because the shower screen was ineffective and we resorted to holding the shower in order to keep the floor relatively dry.

All in all this could be a great hotel as it is a beautiful building in an excellent location but aspects of it let it down and make it ordinary and no better than a budget option. Should we return to York we will not stay at this hotel nor reccommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review of The Grange Hotel. We take comments such as yours very seriously and will improve immediately the things that we are able, for instance the service issues and the adjoining room with a family.

With regards to the fabric of the Hotel; I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We do have a rolling refurbishment plan and address a number of rooms each year,

We appreciate your positive comments about the quality of our food.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Really nice and beautiful , splendid location in York.
Wonderful , superb rooms with celan bathrooms .
Nice Staff.
Really good breakfast and nice beers on the bar.
Without any doubt If I come back I will choose it again !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocobeita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My sister was looking for a good old fashioned afternoon tea in York for part of her Hen Weekend and we stumbled upon the Grange Hotel. Claire in the Sales Team was incredibly helpful from the start - arranging for a nice set deal, a private (and lovely) room then dealing with all our personal preferences and requirements. The Afternoon Tea was very good value at £15 each with what felt like unlimited tea/coffee and a really nice selection of cakes. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenjones610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted with your comments which will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards, Jackie Millan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,438 reviews
2.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £95 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing