We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Grange”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Grange”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I really wanted to stay here based on the reviews on trip advisor,but every time I went to check availability on trip advisor it always said not available. I emailed the Grange directly and got an immediate reply that they had rooms and a special for 3 nights, which I accepted and was emailed a confirmation.
Upon arrival, good location in York, their car park (free) was full and I was a little upset as what to do. I went to reception and Rachel, who was on the desk, could not have been kinder. She said to leave the car, she sent a bellhop to get the luggage, and asked us to leave the car keys and they would move the car for us. Rachel, Chris and Graham were 3 employees who were most kind and helpful answering our questions.
We were given a room in the new part of the hotel with a king bed made beautifully and with high thread count sheets. The room was a little small but for England not bad. The bath was very nice a good size with a seperate tub and shower.
Breakfast was included in the room price and was excellent. If you are going to York UK this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Old charm of the building and cheerfulness of the employees
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelerMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    361
    171
    81
    30
See reviews for
152
698
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Just returned from a weekend at the Grange Hotel.

The location - approx 5 min walk from the shops and a few mins longer to the station was great and wouldn't cause a problem for anybody bar the bone-idol.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly. We arrived early and the man at the reception was all too happy to store your bags until your room was ready - with the bags delivered to your room. Also noticed a similar service being offered to people leaving as well.

The hotel itself is quite stylish, without being pompous. Being a summer weekend, the hotel was hosting a wedding. So a certain amount of noise, kids running around was experienced. Not the perfect place for a quiet weekend away, but to be honest the noise wasn't a huge problem.

Beds were confortable and the rooms generally were decorated to a high standard.

Bathroom was in the traditional style of the hotel itself, but the shower/ bath was hot and water pressure good.

Breakfast was good, we had no service problems. Tea/ coffee/ toast/ cereals and a cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and efficient in service. The little book in the room does mention that 0930 - 1000 on a Sunday morning was busy so best avoided if you want a quieter breakfast.

In summary, can't really fault the hotel it was great. Location was good. Just a bit pricey. To be honest I have stayed at better 4* hotels for cheaper, but don't let that put yourself off the Grange, Get a good price on the rooms and the hotel could be excellent value as well.

  • Liked — Good Quality accomodation - helpful staff
  • Disliked — Rooms are a bit pricey
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peterborough-stig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Returned to York for Birthday Treat & what a treat it was to stay at The Grange.

On the M62, a rock hit our rental car's windscreen shattering it. We arrived in York, told the front desk who took care of everything we needed to replace the windscreen. They couldn't have been more helpful.

Great central location - the 5 minute walk along the river to York is beautiful from start to finish.

The room is lovely & elegant in a traditional English style (perhaps small based on US standards).

Breakfast was enormous, with a varied menu & great fry up.

There was a lovely lounge area - perfect for our 2 year old.

The staff were welcoming & helpful - helped point us to all of the best parks in the area.

This is a great hotel & well worth the price.

  • Liked — Great location & classical style
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JennTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed at The Grange for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel was just the size that we like, not too big and with plenty of character. The staff were very friendly and the bed was comfortable. It was only a short walk to the centre of York.
The downfall was the breakfast. First day it took ages to come and when it did come it was cold . Tthe second day wasn't much better - it came minus the egg and with the wrong beverage (twice)! The service was awful. For the price that we paid we expected better - it wasn't cheap.
There were three weddings at the hotel while we were there and the hotel guests seemed to have to take second place to the wedding guests by having to wait at the bar for a drink and then having no where to sit!.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast food and service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greenall26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2008

handy for the city, walking distance from the centre, and with parking spaces this is a comfortable and welcoming hotel splendidly furnished in country house style with squashy sofas in abundance in the public rooms. Our bedroom no 28 was on the small side but attractively decorated and very well-appointed, good bathroom and quality bed. Stylish restaurant staffed by local lasses with dinner menu offering generous and original dishes using local produce and a plentiful Yorkshire breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — e;egant relaxed and comfortable
  • Disliked — quite small room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank muckspreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We have just recently celebrated our daughters Naming Ceremony at The Grange Hotel. Let me tell you that after searching for the perfect venue we definately found it. We held our reception in the Drawing room and library which was a private room that was absolutely beautiful and for no extra cost !.

The service we received right from the start was excellent. They offered so much flexibility around choices. Suzanne the Conference & banqueting Manager was right on the ball and kept in regular contact with us, nothing was too much trouble.

The food and service was fab, modern, hot, tasted good and very well served.

The wines were good and reasonably priced.

Overall the experience was wonderful and The Grange Hotel helped to make our daughters Naming Day a very memorable occasion. We left a CD and they even posted it back to us.

We would definately recommend them for any special event.

Diane & Anne marie.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeAnnemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

When we started our search for a reception venue, our priorities were quality, ambiance and flexibility. From the moment I first called the Grange to enquire if they had availability for our wedding day I received all three in spades!

We were able to book the Library and Drawing Room for our reception - the perfect venue I would recommend to any couple searching for an intimate setting. Suzanne was incredibly prompt and thorough in her replies (by email and phone) to each of our questions, and her suggestions for how to arrange the tables, flowers, cakes, drinks, music, etc. were fantastic and greatly appreciated!

The staff went well beyond what we expected. For instance, we had individual homemade cupcakes instead of a traditional cake. As it was such a lovely warm day, we were afraid the icing might run, but they were to store the cupcakes until we arrived in the afternoon. Suzanne even personally helped to arrange the flowers and greenery on our cake stand - the result of which was stunning! We did very little decorating of the venue beforehand - we didn't feel we needed to. We were wholly comfortable leaving the table decorations and party favours in their hands - everything looked beathtaking when we arrived. Moreover, we had forgotten to bring many things for our 2-yr-old, all of which Amie (the GM) recified in mere moments. Above all, everything on the day was done very descreetly and well that we felt completely relaxed and able to fully enjoy the celebration - something I will cherish!

Best of all was the food - absolutely gorgeous!! And they were very flexible, easily complying with dietary/vegetarian requirements and strange requests from grandparents. :) Afterwards everyone commented on how fantastic the food was. My husband and I stayed the night and both had a full English breakfast in the morning. We simply couldn't stop commenting on the quality of the food. We will DEFINITELY stay there again, if only for the food!

Our room was in the new extension and although some of ceiling was sloped, there was loads of space. The bed was so large that I woke up in the night wondering where my husband had gone, only to find him asleep on the bed. :) The bathroom was gigantic with a 2-person bath AND 2-person free-standing shower; and besides his and hers bathrobes, there was also a television at the end of the bath! After such a warm day, the air conditioning was most appreciated! :)

Overall, my husband and I had a very memorable experience and bemoaned the fact that we hadn't arranged to stay longer. We will definitely be staying at the Grange again! Thanks again for everything!

  • Liked — the air conditioning and bathroom
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piercel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing