We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay and friendly service”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel simply oozes character, the decor is very elegant and traditionally English. All the staff were courteous and helpful, and location wise you are walking distance from all the attractions. Only minor thing was our room was very small. I would, however highly recommend this for a York City break

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange; we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a lovely stay over the May bank holiday weekend, the hotel is very close to the centre which is ideal for a short break away. Our room was very big but did look as though it needed a bit work done as it didn’t quite match with the high modern standard of the brassiere.
Although nothing to do with the hotel, if you are planning a stay in York, the ghost trail (the one that meets outside the Minster at 7:30pm) is well worth doing with it being so informative and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the city of York.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very well placed . Only a 5 minute stroll from York Minster. Complimentary car parking.
Has a restaurant (The Ivy) and a brasserie. Our en suite room was adequate and clean although the carpet was stained. The bar area is too small. The brasserie was dark and unwelcoming. Serviced by one member of staff who had only been at The Grange for 2 weeks. He did his best but was clearly floundering. The brasserie food was reasonable. Breakfast was awful; taking a bespoke order is one thing but my fried egg had been cooked long before it was ordered. Tasteless fried tomato. Dinner, bed and breakfast(and my wife does not drink alcohol) for £254.18 was not good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJS582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange; your feedback is very important to us. I will look into your comments and make improvements/changes where necessary.

Kind Regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked a small double room and was given room 13. it was a very small room.the one side of the bed is pushed up against the wall and with the tv at the bottom of the bed you have no choice to climb over each other to get out.I personally think the room is too small and with all dark green walls and matching ceiling it felt like a small box. the hotel and staff where lovely and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne2014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange; your feedback is important to us.
I agree that the small double is small; as a result it's always the last room that we sell. I will pass on your lovely comments regarding our team; they all work hard to make your stay enjoyable.

Kind regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

spent a long weekend here for Easter break, good deal on Expedia as a "secret Hotel" . Staff were friendly and accommodating. the room was very clean and a decent size. The location is great very easy to reach on the road into York and a 5 min walk to the minster and the main attractions.

the car park is on the small side and you are not guaranteed a spot so be prepared to park elsewhere if there is no space - parking in york is expensive - we were lucky enough to get a space on our second attempt, and once the car was parked we did not move it until we left.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grange. Parking can be expensive in York so we're so pleased you managed to get a place in our car park.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had just spent a week touring around North Yorkshire. I feel that this hotel was an excellent choice for facilities,location and most importantly service. This was a special celebration and needed to be special;i was not disappointed. I will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

6 of us arrived at 2pm yesterday for a pre booked afternoon tea to celebrate my 40th birthday.

On arrival we were shown into a lovely (but very very warm) private room that had been laid out in advance.

A gentleman named John seemed to have been assigned to serve us and despite the fact that the afternoon tea menu states that there is a choice of teas and coffees he proceeded, without asking, to just bring out 3 pots of tea. The ladies that required coffee had to ask for it and, as I wanted to take the champagne option, I also had to ask for this.

The sandwiches and little cakes were then brought out, which were lovely and we all enjoyed them. John then brought us 2 plates of scones, one fruit and one plain.

I was the first to get up and get a scone, only to find that one of the fruit scones was mouldy. At this point we had probably been there for half an hour, and although the restaurant was very quiet at this time neither John or any of his colleagues had bothered to come and see if everything was ok, therefore I had to go in search of a member of staff to let them know about the problem.

I approached a lady at the bar who said she would get John and five minutes later he ambled in to the room and told us that he would go and "check" with the kitchen. What he was checking exactly I'm not sure but he took both plates of scones away with him and returned a few minutes later with just one plate of plain scones with the excuse that the others were old ones that had not been in a sealed container so had accidentally gone into the oven with today's, he then very proudly told us that the new ones had been made today and when we were ready for some more to just let him know.

At no point during this conversation did John offer an apology for serving us mouldy food and during the rest of the time we were there, neither he nor anyone else came to see how we were so we would have had to go in search of staff yet again.

When we decided we would like the bill I again had to go and look for John who eventually brought it for us.

When I checked the bill we had not been charged for the champagne. I assume that this was left off by way of recompense for the problem that had occurred, but again no apology or explanation was forthcoming so for all I know they might have just forgotten to add it on!

One positive mention does have to go to the young lady who looked after and then brought in the birthday cake that my friends had brought, I'm sorry that I did not get her name, but she really was the only bright spot in what was an otherwise disappointing experience for what was supposed to be the highlight of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigermel_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, General Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. I sincerely apologise for your experience whilst taking Afternoon Tea with us. This is not our usual standard and steps have been taken and training undertaken to ensure that we don't repeat these mistakes.

Kind Regards, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
#10 Business Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £76 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. There is a private on site car park which is charged at £10 per night. York Railway Station can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing