We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique Hotel”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Yes this is a great hotel. The situation in the centre of York is perfect for the visitor, a short stroll to anything. The food both breakfast and, where we ate for two nights, in the Bistro was excellent, particularly the latter. All was good on the first night as the hotel dining seemed quiet, however, on the second night, when busy, we felt that the staff were quite pressed. We waited just under 40 minutes for our first course, the first glass of wine went back as it was warm and the second, after a considerable wait, was not much better. Breakfast the next day showed similar pressure, I had to ask for our coffee and tea again after waiting 10 minutes and it appeared quickly. Sounds very picky but if it has 4 stars this should not happen. The room was very comfortable, it just had a hidden cupboard in the wall that was used for hotel storage and which kept popping open. Bathroom was large and well equipped. Staff were very friendly and helpful but, as a fellow guest commented, it seemed as if there was a bit of a "manana" attitude.

I would certainly stay there again as it was elegant and nothing like chain hotels, heaven bless it, but it needs to up its game a bit if it is to retain the 4 stars. Food was, I repeat, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found The Grange so convenient to explore the wonderful city of York.

I've passed your lovely comments regarding the food to our chefs and can only apologise for the fact that we gave the impression that we had a laid back attitude towards customer service. We aim to be attentive and efficient throughout the 'peaks and troughs' of service but it appears that we failed somewhat on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    365
    173
    82
    31
See reviews for
154
707
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A fabulous two day stay in York with my father whom suffers from Parkinson's, the staff are attentive and quite genuine too, a rare quality these days.
I was quite specific with my room requirements and nothing was too much trouble to ensure we had the right one.
The Ivy restaurant is quite divine however the Bistro is slightly over priced for similar portion sizes one would expect in a more fine dining establishment.

One key highlight was the most superlative breakfasts served, stunning fresh array and lovely cooked scrambled eggs, difficult to fault and bravo to the chef.

Perfect location moments from the Minster and a historically stunning large house, forget the big hotels and stay here, totally worth it and great midweek prices too.

Lotty

Room Tip: All are quite stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotty1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments; it was our pleasure. I will pass your compliments on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I cant complain here, room was beautiful and hotel exquisite. My only one complaint was as a Coeliac, they didn't substitute anything on the breakfast and still charged me full rate of £10 for the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange, we appreciate your lovely comments. We do hope that you will come again when we promise to make alternative menu choices available to you. Please let us know in advance.

Kind regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We only had a small wedding party but the grange looked after us from the champagne and canapes to a wonderful meal in the evening with excellent service from all the staff. They gave us a room upgrade which was the cherry on top! Its a lovely hotel with each bedroom having a different theme. A light a spaceous reception with the restuarant having such a lovely and unique mural of York Races.

thanks Kelly Price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KELLY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We're so pleased to hear that we managed to help make your big day a memorable one. I'll pass your comments on to the team.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A very stylish and elegant hotel. Great location with a short stroll into town, good parking and very attentive and polite staff. A lovely restaurant with a great breakfast ( I was eating out sadly).
My room whilst comfortable and clean was very Victorian gentleman residence style and for me a little austere and certainly too dark (green everywhere) for my liking and for the size of room - made it feel too closed in. I would suggest perhaps some soft closers for the bedroom doors and the hallway doors might help as it was a little noisy. TV in the room was ok but a bit poor on signal and channel choice but not an issue for me as I prefer to read.

I would stay again but perhaps would prefer a brighter room style!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lighter colour finish - more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Grange. The team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments.

The room in which you stayed is quite dark I agree and wouldn't be my first choice either as all of our rooms are very different. We do however have guests that prefer that room so there's no accounting for personal preference. Of course if you do return we will make sure that you have a much brighter room.

I shall look into the soft door closers for those doors that don't already have them.

Thanks once again for your comments.

Kind regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight, was a pleasant change from chain hotels. Staff were pleasant and the rooms as were the lobby, library and bar. Nice touches, situated just out side the walls a great location to explore York, all within easy walking distance. Breakfast was great, cooked to order and with free parking added a very nice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvisPhish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments which I will pass onto the team.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Like other reviewers, I would agree that this hotel drips elegance - superb location and beautiful period house. There are moments and places where you catch a glimpse of a top quality hotel, but then it lets itself down in others. So for example my room has a TV in the bathroom - wow! - but half the channels don't work properly - no signal on BBC1, which is a bit of a disaster when the world cup is on! The control for the telly was damaged and the waterproofing breached - not great for a bathroom appliance!. I would have no complaints over the service - all staff I interacted with were excellent; the food was OK but not remarkable, and on a warm summer evening, white wine was served at room temperature. My room was very pleasant, the bed was comfortable - chilled water and fresh milk were a nice touch, but corridor had broken and discarded furniture lying around - you kind of get the feel that the place has been set up to a really high spec, but no-one is maintaining it. This is really a hotel that is missing the mark as a four star, when it might be better to over-deliver as a three star. It is not an unpleasant stay, has much to commend it, and it is certainly not an "avoid" but it does not quite manage to be all it is cracked up to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrangeHotel, Manager at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review The Grange. Your constructive comments are very welcome and will be immediately put to good use in our quest for improvement.

I'm very pleased to hear that you encountered friendly and efficient staff and apologise that we were having problems with our TV's whilst the World Cup was on. I hope that you managed to watch it in The Brasserie where we have 3 plasma screens.

I hope that when in York you'll consider choosing The Grange again.

Kind Regards, Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing