We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grange is great”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in York
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grange is great”
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We had a lovely stay at the Grange. The room was comfortable and clean. The bed was great. The bathroom was huge, well-lit, and the shower was fantastic. Last, but not least, the restaurant in the basement of the hotel was excellent - great for staying in on a rainy night. Although about a 15 minute walk from the city center, it is a great place to stay. Check their website for any last minute specials. PS, if you are looking for great fish an chips in town, go to Whackers, which is on the way into town.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    361
    172
    81
    30
See reviews for
153
699
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Disappointed as the initial booking had been very helpful and efficient and in view of the price we expected excellence. However, although a potentially good hotel, its promise is not delivered owing to many irritating failures:
After a three day experience it seems the quality of service is something of a lottery ranging from individuals whose performance was very poor to others who were good.
First impressiion scruffy corridors; piles of used linen and vacuum cleaner left in corridor outside our room for most of the day.
The room was in excellent state of decoration, but spoilt by torn fabric on the lampshades.
We had been recommended to pay extra for a room to the rear of the hotel, however when there is a noisy function this does not help.
Checking out took a long time as they had calculated our bill incorrectly, charging us for items we had not had and not charging for what we had.
We booked a meal in the Ivy restaurant with a guest on our first evening. However, they seemed surprised to see us in the restaurant. The "head waiter " was scruffy" and unable to answer our questions about items on the menu, saying it was "new", but no attempt was made to find out from anyone.
The young New Zealander who did serve us was friendly. However, my husband (the only one to order a dessert )was brought the wrong one, the coffee was unremarkable and when we had finished our meal we could not find anyone (the restaurant was quiet that night) we therefore left the table. We let the receptionist know that we had not been asked to sign for our meal (however, when we finally booked out they had failed to charge us for the meal) they seemed to doubt our word that we had had a meal, but on checking in their reservations book they found our name, but our attendance in the restaurant had not been noted. They then had to run off and find out what we owed. Incidentally we had been charged for items we had not had and so the bill had to be recalculated.

We asked for an early room service breakfast on our first morning (6.30am). This arrived exactly on time, but although we had ordered croissants we were given white toast as apparently croissants were not available until the chef came in. Why offer them then???
On the second morning I ordered poached smoked haddock for breakfast. This was cold and raw in the centre. Again, we could not find a waiter and so I ate what I could and reported the problem later. They were mean with the butter. Marmalade was just a runny syrup with some rind in it and the ?jam was something unrecognizable. The glasses on the table were dirty with lipstick on them.
Finally on our third morning (a Saturday) there was a much more impressive team of breakfast waiting staff. They were very efficient, helpful and attentive, there was more butter and buffet table was fully stocked.
The complementary tea/coffee tray in the room was not topped up daily, nor was the bottled mineral water. We were given one biscuit on our final day.
Be aware that you can get locked into the car park, despite staff assurances that it will be no problem!!
We will definitely not stay here again. There are many better places in York that will meet your expectations.

  • Liked — clean, decor good, room service was good, staff generally cheerful
  • Disliked — very late making up room each day
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

Stayed here for our wedding and had the reception here as well. Very helpful staff wonderful room, although as it was the suite I would expect no less! But having seen other rooms I would highly recommend it. Not too sure about price as it wasn't cheap but we felt it was value for money. Very comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

This is a typically old fashioned English hotel perfect for a romantic break. The furnishings are fabulous and the food is sublime!!! stay in for dinners in the warmth by the fire. It's also a nice place to have a relaxing dring pre and post meal (quiet drink not much happening but chilled). I have never eaten such wonderful food in a hotel definitely worthy of awards and fairly reasonable. For breakfast you have to try their home made porridge with honey and there cumberland sausages( wow). For dinner I only ate up stairs although downstairs is meant to be good too.

You are paying a little extra considering no facilities but everything is of a very high standard and quality. I love having facilities on holiday but gladly sacrifice to stay here. The town center is very close and this time round took the train up from london (only a coupleof hours). Next time I want to stay for more than 2 nights as I love north yorkshire then I'll bring the car. I've been there twice now and generally don't return to hotels this place won't let you down. I would rather stay here than 5* chains as I did in the past. I paid a little extra for a 4 poster room which paid dividends with the Mrs. We had fun although I'm not so sure the next room did lol.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dynham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

This is a lovely hotel just a pleasant short walk (ten mins) from the City centre. We stayed there for one night and found it to be clean and comfortable, well maintained with excellent friendly service. The upstairs restaurant looked lovely, as did the one downstairs (although that was closed the evening we stayed). We had already planned to eat at La Tasca in the city so we just had a drink in the bar - the bar staff were very helpful with directions and the drinks were reasonably priced.

The decor in the hotel itself is contemporary, however we did feel our room was a little old fashioned - floral wallpaper, which is not really to my taste but it was well decorated and maintained.
We booked through expedia and paid £99 for the two of us for the night (this did not include breakfast) and it was well worth the money. We had plenty of tea and coffee although you had to dial room service for milk! Lovely shortbread biscuits too! Toiletries are also provided as are bath robes, a hairdryer and an umbrella!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Floral wallpaper!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golcarilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

This is a nice, traditional (if rather old fashioned) English hotel. Location is good, about five minutes walk from the Minster. The rooms are big and clean, with all the usual facilities. Bed was comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very nice. There's a lounge area and a bar. Would probably suit older travellers very well as has quite a nostalgic air, but was also reasonably child friendly. Teenagers may not be so appreciative of the oil paintings and regency atmosphere. There's also nothing for young people to do at the hotel (no gym/pool/games rooms etc.).

Only downside was the plumbing, which was noisy and not terribly reliable, and the heating, which had two settings - too hot, and too cold. The windows were also rather rattly and draughty, though I was staying during exceptionally high winds so this may not be such a problem normally.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, spacious room
  • Disliked — Noisy plumbing, heating
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FearfulFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

This is my idea of a nice hotel.
Not sure if the previous reviewer was in the same Grange hotel in York that my wife and I stayed in. It was my birthday so we had 3 nights in February.
Rooms where very nice, and included safety deposit box , mini bar., bath robes, porterage from car park to rooms.
They turn down your beds in the evening and restock your tea and coffee . Just ring reception and they supply fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room. We had a king size room. ( See pictures.)
Hotel is well kept and oldie worldy. Decor is nice. See pictures of lounge with proper fire place.
We had good breakfast, staff were all very friendly and we willl use this hotel again.

  • Liked — quality of hotel
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hedley House Hotel
Hedley House Hotel
#14 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Property: The Grange Hotel
Address: 1 Clifton, York YO30 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Family Hotel in York
#16 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Hotel is a beautiful award winning Regency townhouse, located just a few minutes walk away from York Minster and the city center shops and attractions. The AA 2 rosette awarded restaurant, The Ivy Brasserie is situated in the old brick vaulted cellars creating a truly unique experience. Private car parking on - site subject to availability. Deep comfy sofas, real fires in the colder months and fresh flowers throughout the hotel, create a relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing