We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have visited York many times and used about 8 hotels. My favourite is the Dean Court which cannot be beaten for cleanliness, food, comfortable beds and staff who are so helpful.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIVIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

It was a brief visit to York (by steam train). We had been recommended to try the Dean Court restaurant but it was closed, so we decided to try the Bistro for lunch.
The welcoming staff, modern decor and brilliant location, opposite York Minster, all boded well.
We were both hungry, so we opted for the fish and chips, followed by apple crumble and ice cream.
As the fish and chips appeared, it seemed a very artistic presentation. However the rather meagre portion of chips was well hidden under the fish in a wire basket. Nicely cooked but overpriced for the amount on offer.
The apple crumble appeared to be simply heated apple puree over which had been sprinkled muesli without the fruit or nuts!! It was tasteless and simply not crumble as we know it! When I commented on the strange composition the waiter politely insisted that he had seen it prepared in the kitchens.
The diminutive size of this dessert was amazing. The spoon seemed to be a teaspoon, the ice cream (delicious, by the way), was in a eggcup sized container and the crumble itself was in a small ramekin. For £5.50 it was extremely poor value.
To their credit, the manageress DID deduct £5.50 from our bill. We were grateful for this, but left still feeling a little hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreyFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After being badly let down by the Lamb & Lion despite booking weeks before, we decided to do to the Court Bistro. on Saturday 21 April. Despite being the only party there, we had a fantastic meal, toppped by outstanding service by our Waitress. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt really valued.

We had a brilliant time, wouldn't hesitate to return, this is a real gem in York.

Many Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STUART D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Just back from a delightful stay at the Dean Court. I had a single room overlooking the Minster, which was still pretty spacious and very well appointed. There were lots of thoughtful touches - slippers/robe, umbrella, cafetiere and teapot together with well stocked hospitality tray. Service was friendly and attentive at both reception and in the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent, with good choice of both hot and cold options.

I am a regular business traveller to York and have tried many hotels - the Dean Court is the best I have found so far and I will most certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

12 of us just stayed here for a long weekend break. The location was fantastic, best view in town. The staff were really excellent the whole time, from the friendly receptionist and helpful porter when we arrived, the restaurant staff who were so patient, every day with such a large party, in particular Sonny with his great sense of humour, and the night porter who moved the heavy chairs around so that we could all sit together for a late drink. We had pre-booked dinner in the DCH restaurant on the night we arrived and the food was delicious. We were also impressed with the selection on offer for breakfast,can recommend the eggs Benedict and the kippers. Our rooms were quite small but very clean and warm with lovely modern bathrooms. York was a great place to visit, plenty to do and see and if you stay at this hotel you don't have to worry about parking your car, for a reasonable fee it will be parked for you in their secure car park.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a larger room with amazing views of the beautiful Minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

After the shambolic service at the Lamb and Lion we needed to find somewhere else to eat and we stumbled across the Dean Court Bar and Bistro for dinner. We weren't too sure what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised. For a Saturday night it was very quiet as we were the only ones in there for the first hour. The waitress was exceptionally good and very accommodating regarding our food requirements. The food was simple bistro/good pub food from the set menu but portions were very generous and the deal also included a free glass of wine each. The Mocha cheesecake was lovely! Very good value for money and although a little quiet on atmosphere I think our small party livened up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed here 4 times, and it is consistently good. Every member of staff is welcoming, efficient and friendly (a special mention for the porters, who walked with my partner to and from the nearby secure car park several times to retrieve and deposit his pushbike) and the location is fantastic. The food is excellent - we always choose something from the cooked breakfast menu (kippers, kedgeree, eggs benedict, smoked haddock) and this time we had dinner in the DCH, which was equally delicious. A couple of details in the room let it down a little (e.g. a chip in the washbasin) but overall we are very satisfied with the accommodation, and the combination of the central location and the warmth of the welcome means we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,508 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £73 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. All York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The hotel recently received a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. A contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and De-Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. A range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance. The AA Rosette restaurant D.C.H has Minster views or more informal dining in The Lounge-Bar serving snacks and sandwiches. The hotel has it's own secure car park. No smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing