We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Dean Court.

The location is excellent, bang opposite the Minster and 5 minutes walk to The Shambles and all main shops.

On arrival, all we had to do was leave our car outside, next thing we knew our car had been valet parked, and the bags in our room waiting for us!

We had a fantastic room (no 17) which overlooked the Minster and had a four-poster bed with lounge area etc

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful! The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked, hot and lots of choice.

Me and my partner would not hesitate to stay here again on every visit to York!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Dean Court last November. We had a twin room on the front of the hotel it was fabulous the view of the minster where wonderful. The hotel is well situated for any of the many attractions in York. The facilities where also good, giving us a good supply of hot drinks and biscuits.
We had our tea in the bistro bar which was also very good (little expensive but that was to be expected for a city), The staff where polite and curtious and nothing was too much of a problem.
The Breakfast was also very well stocked and I didn not feel I had been robbed lol.
All in all I would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit York for a few days. Infact we recently got our parents to book for a few days to celebrate there ruby wedding.
I look forward to the time I will go again. My sister organised our trip and for an over night stay and travelling from derbyshire on train it cost approx £80. This was because we picked sunday into Monday. So even for a small budget it is accessable (ive a very small budget)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location for visiting York. Within walking distance of the rail station, York Minster and shops and restaurants.
Very friendly and helpful staff, and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay great.
Room small but adequate.
Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OMB7939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed with my mother at the Dean Court on 20th September. The location is excellent, opposite York Minister and a few minutes walk to the centre of York. The room was ideal. Although we had booked for a twin room we were given a "family" room with separate bedrooms and a bathroom in between affording us space and privacy. We had a meal in the restaurant that night. The food was very good, well cooked and the service was prompt, efficient and polite. In fact, the staff we came into contact with throughout the hotel were friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was very nice, made fresh to order and served piping hot. All in all, a wonderful hotel which I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlin118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

stayed at dean court on 19th sept. Great location. Check-in quick and efficient and car parking was via valet service. I was taken to my room (12) and surprised how small it was. I have travelled with work for quite a while and cannot recall ever having a single bed and the smallest room for as long as I can remember. For >£100 per night I would have expected more-Still tea/coffee facilities were present and the bathroom was fine. So ok for 1 night. Good choice for breakfast (full english or simple fruit or cereal. Staff from reception to the bar and breakfast were courteous. Would I stay again....yes, but, I would ask for a different room.

Room Tip: rooms on the front can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarringtonVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

First thing to say about this hotel is its great location. Only a 5 min walk past the minster to the centre of York. We were upgraded upon arrival which was nice. Lovely big room and overall a nice stay. I've read the comments on the breakfast and expected better. We had a cooked to order full English which was average at best - Not hot and I've had better buffet breakfasts at Travelode/Premier Inn.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris338833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Right across the street from York Minster cathedral, Dean Court Hotel could not be better located for a tourist visit to York. It is also a very comfortable place to stay: luxurious rooms, excellent service and a first-class restaurant (DCH). An excellent breakfast from an extensive menu was part of the rate we paid: not only a pleasure, it was also a fine start to a day's sight seeing. It is not a bargain but as a splurge, it definitely gives full value for money. My wife and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,948 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £89 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing