We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Decided on a short break in york and used trip advisor to locate the hotel and its perfect location to the minster
Excellent reception from the staff on our arrival, and pur car was parked securely for us
We had reserved the supreme double for our stay as this was all that was available, the room was clean and adequate but does not justify the additional cost, normal tariff £210 per night

All the staff were very good and helpful,
Only neagtives were
The quality of the cooked breakfast which on the first morning was overcooked and i suspect been on the hotplate for a hour at least as the black pudding was inedible.
The price of the bar drinks , pint of local bitter and large Gin £12, we there fro eat and drank in local resturants for tehremainder of our stay
So hotel is clean and staff helpful, location great, but for drinks and food use local resturants and try to book as a deal to get best value for money

Room Tip: Go for basic double as these can be purchased at £99 on a deal and give value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    384
    117
    30
    22
See reviews for
245
881
62
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here on a shopping trip to York and could not fault any aspect of our stay. Nothing is a problem to the staff, we arrived early and left our bags and after checking out we continued to drop shopping off until it was time for our train. You couldn't get a better location right opposite the Minster. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and we were very impressed with how friendly and courteous ALL the staff were. The room and facilities were excellent too! We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I brought my mother, who is 96 years old, to stay at the Dean Court as both her and my father worked here up until December 1945. I had a reference given to my father by the manager at the time and took it to show Mr Brooks the current manager. Both he and all of his staff treated my mother with the utmost respect and showed a great deal of interest in her and her memories. I cannot thank them enough for the wonderful stay we had. Dean Court is a lovely, well run hotel with an excellent restaurant, hopefully following in the tradition started by my late father who was the chef there!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for just one night, and despite being too early for the room, the reception staff were wonderfully friendly and organised everything for us. The car and bags were taken care of which was fabulous, allowing us to go off and explore and have lunch of course! The location is superb. Next to York Minster so perfect access to all the shops. My parents came with us and my mum can't walk too far which is why I chose this for its location. I asked for a room with disabled access for my mum and although it wasn't ground floor, the room was right by the lift and was a great size, along with a wet room style shower which was perfect. Breakfast was lovely and breakfast staff really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Scrambled eggs weren't great, and kipper portion disappointing that my husband had, but we're not bothered for the time we were there. Rooms were very hot, hence the fans provided, but I agree that the charm of the place should be retained. Front rooms are slightly noisier with people talking but the Minster bells don't chime from between about 10pm-8am so that's fine. The road outside isn't like a main cut through so you get occasion traffic rather than a steady stream. It was a pleasure to stay here and I would go back again.

Room Tip: Front rooms are slightly noisier but with the view of the Minster, does it matter? Who sleeps prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCat013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Booked in for 1 night only for a visit to Grand Opera House. With many visits to York over the years wanted to stay.
Hotel on the outside olde worldy. Inside 4* accommodation. our room was really a mini suite with 2 televisions. Second one in a small lounge area. Bathroom beautiful. Plenty of room and hospitality tray very generous. Full English breakfast cooked to order and good quality food produced. Excellent hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the hotel and was so quiet we couldn't sleep. The York Minster bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenkodonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Recommended for great service from friendly staff and great food. Well done , it is a refreshing change from other hotels I have stayed at. Attention to detail was good and for a short business stay it ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing