We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels I have stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I have stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Recently returned from a weekend in York staying at this hotel.
You could not get a much better location as it is right opposite the Minster, the room we stayed in had amazing views of the Minster. We opted for the valet parking which for a small charge the hotel will take your car and park it in their own secure car park for you then return it when you are leaving.
On check-in a porter escorted us to our room and carried our bags which was a nice touch. The room we had was exceptional, I think it was 212, and as previously said, had views of the Minster. It was well decorated and had a 4 poster bed and separate lounge area with large flat screen TV. The bathroom was modern and had an excellent power shower and bath.
We ate in the hotel restaurant. The food is not as cheap as some other restaurants however the quality and service was as good as I have had.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for location, service and overall quality. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YNWAJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    380
    116
    28
    22
See reviews for
242
871
62
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

First of all this hotel was impossible to get to. Streets are blocked off on the weekend and even our gps could not get us there. We went down a one way street the wrong way and over a curb to get to the hotel. Really.. We did that! Two days in a row, the hotel did have valet parking which was wonderful. Suggest not driving to downtown York.
The first room we had was just dreadful. Overlooked a flat panal filled with dirty water. After much discussion the gave us a better room that we could have for one night and the had to change to another room the next day. The new room was ok but very tired. In fact the hotel was very tired overall. Higgety piggety halls and strange public rooms that were minimalist but too stark for our taste and indeed the setting, the furniture looked like it was purchased at Ikea 20 years ago.
Lo action was very good. Right across from the York minster and in the heart of shopping and restaurants. We walked over to the Royal Theater for a performance. It was a short block away.
The best thing about the hotel in addition to the location was the eggs Benedict in the restaurant. The best hollandaise sauce we have ever had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the York minster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel 26-28th November for a romantic break. Firstly the staff at this hotel take a great deal of pride in their work and it shows. They were so friendly and accommodating from start to finish and it does not go un-noticed. The room was cosy and well decorated and the location was perfect for shopping, sightseeing, and walking out in a morning to be faced by Yorkminster was wonderful! I am already planning my next trip and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. I always try to do a few cheapy hotels but value for money at this hotel is tremendous. The staff must all be hand picked for their personalities as they are all charming, the room we were in was sumptious. Breakfast was the best choice I have ever seen and wished I had stayed there longer so I could have chose more on the menu.
Even when we were having a drink the night porter was happy chatty and friendly. The position of the hotel could not have been better so central to everything.
I just cannot think of a thing to say bad about it, which says alot nowadays.
BEST WESTERN value for money

Room Tip: We had room 41 and there was a Ye Olde window which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannypiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Fantastic hotel with exceptional customer service. Excellent hotel with the perfect location - all the important elements for a great stay in York. Great for families too- we were all made very welcome from the moment we arrived to when we left. Enjoyed great food in the restaurant for breakfast and Sunday lunch - again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

just home from a 3 day trip to york for christmas shopping, stayed at the dean court and it was fantastic! valet parking, lovely greeting, showed to our room (which had been upgraded at no extra cost), lovely room with everything we needed and more. plenty of power points, big towels, extra pillows, an umbrella to borrow, great welcome tray, room safe, bathrobes i could go on and on! breakfast is amazing and there's lots of choice, handy that they serve till 10 am too. every member of staff we met were friendly, polite and helpful and the residents bar stays open all night!! absolutely faultless, will definately be returning

Room Tip: we had the room opposite the war memorial on the first floor and the minster bells dont ring during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just back from two night stay here all I can say is absolutely fab!! beautiful room on the front and quiet, breakfast just wonderful too. The staff could not do enough for you. Wonderfully situated right in the heart of the town but quite on the evenings. Would really recommend this one. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing