We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Loved our stay here, in a great location opposite the main doors of York Minster. We booked a superior room and were upgraded to a deluxe with a direct view of the Minster. It was a great room, very spacious, comfy king bed, spacious on suite with shower over bath, Lcd TV and dvd player, and tea/coffee makings. An excellent breakfast in the DCH restaurant was included and valet parking was extra at a reasonable price. reception, porters and restaurant staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Room 61 looking out over the Minster is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captnkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight in a small double room last week. Exceptionally clean and comfortable but possibly a little bit overpriced at £110 for the amount of space I got and the view (out the back ) of next door's leftover fruit crates!! The staff working outside at the back were a bit noisy too at times. York Minister was literally my next door neighbour at the front of the hotel. Couldn't fault the staff, service or breakfast though. I'd definitely stay again if I was heading back to York. Lots of nice shops nearby and side streets to walk around because of the central location. Taxi rank opposite for convenience. Local maps and route advice provided by reception team too.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, lovely food, rooms clean and well stocked at all times. Staff make the difference in this hotel! Every member of staff we dealt with was friendly, efficient and helpful. From the receptionists initial welcome and helpful advice, cleaners efficiency and waiters personal and attentive service. We requested an extra blanket which wax delivered promptly with the option of a fan heater if required. First class personnel. Thank you for making our stay a special treat.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaileysQueen143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My husband and i came for valentines day for one evening and had a fantastic time. We arrived about 11am and left our cases and car to spend the day in york.Your car is valet parked for £13 for 24 hrs. When we returned about 4pm we had been given a free room upgrade and the cases were already in the room for us,room 28 is fab great views of the minster.We had booked a meal in the restaurant which was the valentines menu. The food and service was fantastic.Next morning down for breakfast which again was yummy i had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs my husband had bacon eggs etc.We checked out about 10.30am not wanting to leave.This hotel is 5 star service with lovely staff thank you so much for our well deserved break.

Room Tip: Room 28 has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Star-trek-rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I used to live in York and visit often, so I know a lot of the hotels. I'd never stayed here because i assumed it would be too expensive, given its location and appearance. But I got a very good deal through booking.com (Weds to Sun in February, so low season). It's rare to find a hotel that does everything so well. The food at breakfast was very good indeed, the room was all I needed, with a good shower. Good quality pillows. Commitment to eco-friendly practices and support of charities (there was a teddy in the room that you could buy for a donation). On the breakfast table was a daily report on the day's weather--very useful. Free wi fi of good quality, and with no fuss was an important decider for me in booking and it worked very well. But most importantly, the staff were relaxed, friendly helpful. They always smiled and said hello when passing you, and you never got that impression you do in some places, that things would work a lot better if it wasn't for the guests! I was there four nights and the whole time it was a warm and enjoyable experience. It must be the result of good management and leadership there--something, in all events, works, and I hope it continues to, because I plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: I was in room 16, a single--it was small of course, but not cramped. No view, but so what--the entir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jess176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here for one night (dinner, bed and breakfast). The service was excellent - staff all extremely welcoming. Room was spacious and spotless, with a great view of the York Minster. Meal in DCH restaurant was excellent and the breakfast quality and choices were also very good. Prime location in York. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Excellent location next to York Minster and within easy reach of numerous attractions including Bettys tea room where we enjoyed afternoon tea.Joined by friends who had travelled from Scotland we all agreed we could not have chosen a better hotel.Rooms,staff and breakfast were all first class and I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £93 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing