We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minster-Adjacent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My daughter (15) and I really enjoyed our stay at the Dean Court Hotel. The only reason I gave it a "very good" rating instead of "excellent" was the lack of air conditioning. I tend to run hot, so I do love me a nice cold room. Otherwise, the service, the staff, the food, the cleanliness, and the facilities were excellent. Our room had a beautiful view of the Minster and the park across the street, and, unlike some, I did not notice any excessive noise and I'm a very light sleeper. Our room was small (to be expected in such a location) but beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and even had a little table and chair. The bathroom was very nice, as well as being very clean. The location can't be beat with the Minster on your doorstep and the rest of historic York a short walk away. I have a bad knee and had no problem walking to everything we wanted to see on our visit. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definitely stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manray1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Dean Court has to be one the of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in, the staff really could not do enough for you - in a most genuine way.

The location is excellent, with very close proximity to the minster, train station and centre of town. If you have a minster facing room - you might be awakened by the sound of bells though.

Breakfast was amazing - cooked to order, and the quality was excellent.

Room was cosy - yes, that does mean small, but for a single occupancy it was absolutely fine, but it would have been quite small for two people.

I would most certainly look to book again as a preference if I returned to York.

Room Tip: Room facing the minster have great views, but you may be awoken by the peel of bells - but that is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisybee116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On arrival very pleased at room as was at front of hotel overlooking minster. Unfortunately room had no air conditioning and was quite stuffy so window had to be kept open !! Very noisy location as taxi rank just across road outside and people at weekends seem to party until four next day. If I was to go back I would forfit minster view for a quieter location. Decor nice but carpet looked rather tired !! Staff were wonderful and their customer service was fantastic. Fantastic choice of breakfast menu and effecient and cheerful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back if you want to get any sleep, also see if they have airconditioning !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 176michellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were on our way to Coventry from Scotland and decided to spend the day in York. We enjoyed the city so much we decided to skip Coventry and spend another day As luck would have it the Dean Court had a vacancy for their family room. Wow! Was the only word uttered from both my boys when they showed us the room. We were on the top floor in the corner room facing the Minster. The room was huge with plenty of room for four.
All the amenities were there: cool bottles of water, full tea tray, every toiletry you could think of, robes, extra pillows, wifi, large television, room service, large and comfortable beds, fans, etc.
Breakfast was probably the boys favorite part. The breakfast room was large and elegant with large windows allowing the sun to come in and the patrons lovely views. The staff was cheery and efficient and the breakfast choices were many and delicious.
Had we the time and they the availability we would have spent several more nights there.
We highly recommend this hotel. The price was very good as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This beautiful hotel, just opposite York Minster is a gem. From the free valet parking (the actual car park site does have to be paid for) to the friendly and helpful porter, everything about this hotel screams classy. The staff are immensely caring about their hotel and very keen that you should have an enjoyable and memorable stay. My room was on the 3rd floor, but was a lovely attic with slanted ceilings, a corner bath with seat and most efficient shower, a towel rail that worked without actually burning you, and all the little touches that make staying in a hotel that bit nicer. The coffee/tea/chocolate in the room were all branded, and there was also a cafetierre should you long for the real stuff. 2 packets of biscuits, a light in the wardrobe, a complimentary umbrella and robes that you could buy if you wished. A little teddy bear was on the very comfy bed, available to take home after a donation to the Children's Hospice. I cannot fault this. The bistro food was excellent value and very tasty; the breakfast was unbeatable with, again, super staff to help. If you ever go to York, do stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely building and fabulous location. Our room was a good sized double but no air con meaning a noisy fan all night. I wouldn't want to stay in very hot weather. The staff were extremely friendly and professional and breakfast was in line with 4 star.
We had dinner here on our first night which was very good value for money, the fillet steak was a lean piece of beef.
The lift is the smallest I have ever seen so if you are a larger person and can't manage stairs, this will be difficult.

Some of the carpets are wearing and the dining room woodwork needs a repaint. Lovely atmosphere but needs some investment soon.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

When travelling for business you get used to hotels saying they are 4 star but in reality they are an optimistic 3 star. Also with business booking you get shoved in the old rooms. So I was really surprised when I got a lovely room, great size, tea tray with about every drink you could think of on it. The room was clean, bathroom a good size and the bed was really comfortable, the sheets had not been sterilised to an inch of their lives, so where soft not scratchy.

The staff where just wonderful, felt really safe and nothing was a bother, I had room service and there is a good selection of veggie options and the food is not over priced. The breakfast selection was good too. To top it off, you're a stone's throw from the Minister, so can hear the chimes when you have the window open.

Felt like a mini break rather than a business trip, just need to find a reason to go back to York to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,562 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £74 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. All York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The hotel recently received a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. A contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and De-Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. A range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance. The AA Rosette restaurant D.C.H has Minster views or more informal dining in The Lounge-Bar serving snacks and sandwiches. The hotel has it's own secure car park. No smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing