We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel in York”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

we booked 3 rooms altogether for a family get together and booked in to 2 rooms to begin with whilst waiting for other family to arrive when we went back to book these in we had been upgraded 2 of us got four poster bed rooms and one got a king size bed, all rooms were excellent and with all the trimmings you would expect when booking a 4 star hotel. We were all pleased with our rooms, and only two minor niggles, the rooms were so hot it was difficult to sleep and one of the rooms did not have an iron and ironing board in it but that really didn't spoil the stay. The staff really were attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. There is valet parking as the car park is a way away and we had forgotten something from the car they collected it for us with a smile. Ian one of the night staff gave us some good tips as to where was good to visit. The breakfast was varied and first class and again the staff excellent. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend others to stay there as well. Well done to all staff thank you for making this stay special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilary734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    385
    117
    30
    22
See reviews for
245
882
62
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

First visit to this hotel, certainly will not be the last! Fabulous room with everything you could possibly want, beautifully furnished and bathroom larger than expected and stunning. Nice touch to find an umbrella to borrow also lovely fluffy bath towels. Location of hotel superb just minutes away from station, city centre and lots of the major attractions. Breakfast was wonderful, great choices, always freshly cooked not a hot plate in sight!! . Add to that views of York Minster while you ate. Evening food also of high standard with a wide choice. Staff very friendly and efficient, nothing too much trouble and always done with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tank50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I can only reiterate the comments made by so many others: The location is terrific right next to York Minster and walking distance to everything; The hotel staff are very efficient and friendly; Breakfasts are really very good; evening food is also of a very high standard and well presented. Valet parking is also a boon (costs £13.50 per night)
We stayed 2 nights in October in the four poster room on the first floor overlooking the Minster & was huge and contained two sofas, coffee table, small round table with chairs and a desk & chair. Complimentary bottled water and fruit bowl. Very good quality tea & coffee in room. Bathroom had a bath and shower head in bath. Good pressures and loads of hot water. Good dressing gowns provided. Safe in room was very useful. Big flat screen TV.
All in all we had a very enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nelsenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before and I think its possibly the nicest hotel in York. The hotel staff are lovely and are always pleasant and friendly. The rooms are fabulous: its a bit on the expensive side but in my opinion 'you get what you pay for'. Their breakfast is fabulous, and the the breakfast menu is extensive. The room we were in had a brilliant view of the Minster. I doubt we would stay anywhere else. Valet parking is a welcome addition.

Room Tip: I would recommend the superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Nice hotel in a very convenient location. It's a short walk from the train station, right next to Minster Cathedral, and a block away from the Shambles (I.e., old town York). Free wifi as well. One thing to note is that there is no A/C, however the windows do open in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_from_IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This beautiful little hotel sits at the foot of York Minster and is operated by a friendly and patient staff. The room had free wi-fi and there was a tremendous feeling of acceptance for my young daughter. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Runton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a lovely nights stay at the Dean Court. When we arrived our car was taken for us using the valet parking and reception staff and porter who carried our luggage could t have been more helpful. We had a very comfortable room at the front of the hotel with a lovely view of the Minster.
We had dinner in the restaurant that again I can strongly recommend and the friendly French waiter added to the enjoyment.
Next morning we had a first class breakfast served by their excellent staff.
We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing