We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On previous trips to York, I've often walked passed the Dean Court Hotel on my way to the Minster area. I had some serious shopping to do so decided to make the most of it and book a night. It was a very good choice - lovely staff, great location and, although my room was on the small side, it had everything I needed. The breakfast was first class. All in all it was very good value. I will definitely be making more visits to Dean Court.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    989
    385
    117
    30
    22
See reviews for
245
882
62
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is probably the best hotel in city for location, for the first item visitors the hotel is superbly placed right next door to the minster meaning you should never get lost.

The hotel itself has great modern rooms with free Wi-Fi and high quality toiletries, a top notch restaurant serving very tasty food – especially the full English breakfasts. Many of York’s great bars, coffee shops and theatres are close by all within walking distance.

The Dean Court is one of the most expansive hotels in York but it is also one of the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mackyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel incorporates several buildings into one, which makes it quirky and atmospheric although access to some areas may be tricky for people with mobility problems. I have stayed in 7 different York hotels over the past few years and this is my favourite because of its plush but unstuffy atmosphere and its unbeatable location right in the centre of town. In spite of this I have not found it noisy at night (other than the minster early-evening bell-ringing practice, which is actually rather nice!) On both of my two stays so far I have been upgraded from my booked single room into a small double, which is a good size for one person but would be small for two people for more than a night or two. The staff on the whole are professional and approachable and some are extremely personable. My only grouse this time was that I asked for the same items from the bistro menu on two consecutive nights, only to be told that they were not available. I heard another lady ordering something else, which was also not available. Otherwise I was totally happy and will definitely stay again when next in York.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems check that your room will be accessible by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WeymouthJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Great room overlooking the Minster and St Michael-le-Belfrey. So central and so convenient for the city and all the sights. And so much to watch happening just outside the window - street drama one day and a marathon the next. We were not disturbed by noise at all and the room was very comfortable - although starting to look a little worn in places. Very useful having the valet parking - you certainly don't need a car to explore York. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have to say i only booked this hotel after reading so many excellent reviews of the Deancourt Hotel. So i did have high expectations...On arriving in Room 15 The Holgate suite, me and my husband were delighted to see how lovely the room was. They even added the extra touch of rose petals on the bed and an anniversary card. we also had a stunning view of the Minster. Everything was perfect ( although the floor boards are very creeky ) but this didnt really bother us. You cant get much closer to the centre of York and everything is accessable. The reason im giving this hotel 4 stars is that i came home absolutely shattered. I didnt sleep very well in the hotel bed, neither did my husband. To sit on it was lovely and soft, but during the night it felt like the bed was lob sided and i was leaning to the edge of the bed. we both had to have an afternoon nap in between sight seeing, and im only 32. The staff was very friendly and helpful esp the french guy who took our breakfast order ( didnt know his name ). My husband is very fussy and always has milky coffee. Wherever we go staff in cafes, restaurants etc always bring him a latte. At the Deancourt hotel he knew exactly what we meant and made the coffee perfectly, Nothing was too much trouble. The food at breakfast was to die for which set you up for the day and had a wide selection of cereals, juice, fruit etc on the buffet. I would deffinately recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Dean Court is ideally placed for visiting the attractions in the old centre of York. It is right next to the Minster but do not worry, the bells of the clock are silenced from 8.00pm to 8.00am so there is no problem sleeping. Our room was large and well furnished. Modern bathroom, good shower. Lots of little details, like an umbrella and bath robes.

Breakfast is very good and the service is quick and friendly. That goes for all the staff who clearly like to look after their guests. Food in the bistro is unfussy and good.

In all, this is a friendly, modern hotel hidden inside an imposing historic exterior. We travelled by train, so cannot comment on parking. There is a taxi rank right opposite the hotel.

We would definitely use this hotel again if we return to York.

Room Tip: Although there is no overnight noise from the Minster bells, there are two popular pubs in the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing