We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a great place to stay.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights to celebrate our Silver Wedding anniversary. We arrived at the hotel and after checking in we had our car valet parked and this was the last time we saw the car until we departed home. Our luggage was taken to our room and our enjoyment began. All the staff were absolutely excellent, very friendly, efficient, and helpful to a fault. We enjoyed our meals in the bistro, and our evening meal in the D.C.H. restaurant was splendid and the breakfasts a delight to start the day with. The location of the hotel must be the finest in York being as central as it can get and right next door to the Minster and the peeling of the bells. Being so central there is street noise partic. at night but this did not bother us at all. I am a wheelchair user and would like to make a few points partic. to people who may have read a previous review that was slightly critical. I use my wheelchair permanently so feel I am able to comment more accurately on accessibility than someone who could walk up the steps and leave their wheelchair in reception. I could navigate the entire hotel i.e. bar, bistro, restaurant, corridors, etc without any problem whatsoever, in fact access was excellent inside the hotel. We also had room no.20 which was excellent for a wheelchair with a well equipped wet room with a bath as well. The lift was directly outside our room and I can assure the reader that all doors are easily manouvered even with my power chair. To be fair having to use the ramp at the side entrance was not perfect but the staff were excellent and assistance immediately on hand so even this was ok.Needless to say we enoyed York, and we enjoyed this hotel. Full marks to the staff for making our break all the more enjoyable and can find little fault at all. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidcwalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    396
    120
    30
    23
See reviews for
255
905
65
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stay at the Dean Court Hotel every time we stay in York now - having tried a few other hotels in the past. I like the rooms, and love the D.C.H restaurant; but for me it has to be the level of service provided by all of the staff, from managers to housekeeping staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they strike a delicate balance between professional and friendly; they are appropriately attentive but never intrusive. And the food in the D.C.H restaurant is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SylviaDaisyPouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for one night we arrived straight from work tired and ready to relax. We were greated by incredibly helpful staff and straight away felt at home

Hotel is a very short walk from the train station and is opposite the Minster, you could not wish for a better spot, minutes walk from lots of great bars and restaurants.

This is not a typical chain hotel the rooms are very homely/romantic not steralie and soulless as you find with many other chains but I appreciate these may not be to some people's more modern taste.

Overall excellent location and outstanding staff

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reviewjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We visited this hotel with a view to having lunch there with a couple of friends of many years standing and therefore wanting something just a bit special. On the prep visit the staff were helpful and courteous so we booked a table for four for 5th December.
This was a good decision as the meal was excellent in all respects. Clearly the chef and his staff have high standards, so well done to them. The bar service could perhaps have been a bit slicker, but once they got going the staff were attentive.
If you're looking for a meal in York do not overlook the Dean Court Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian_sellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have wanted to stay at the Dean Court Hotel for a very long time. It did not disappoint.
The position of the Dean Court is fantastic - right on top of the cathedral, close to all of York city centre and a short stroll from Bettys Cafe!! What more could you want?
On arrival outside , we parked our car and entered the reception with our luggage. We checked in, our luggage was taken to our room for us, and our car was taken to be valet parked. Our room was on the second floor over looking the front of the hotel. There was a tiny lift which we decided not to use as it was so small it would not fit us both at the same time!! I have never seen such a small lift! I used the lift later in our stay and it was fine, just very very small.
Our room was lovely. It was large, nicely decorated and well furnished. The bathroom was also spacious and really nicely decorated in dark blue and white.
The bed was very comfortable and had a choice of pillows (firmer memory foam pillows are stored in the wardrobe). We found we needed to open a window during the night (we like some fresh air). This meant that we had some noise from the taxi queue on the opposite side of the road all night long. This didn't really disturb me but my husband noticed it more.
Breakfast is in the main restaurant. There is a good choice of cooked items to order as well as a good buffet of continental breakfast items. The full English included fried bread, which I love! Toast arrived promptly, so did the hot drinks.
On the day we were leaving, we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel all day, and leave the car in the valet parking until we needed it. When we collected everything later it was all done very efficiently and quickly.
We didn't try the bistro during our stay.
We had a lovely stay in York and definitely hope to be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent the most wonderful night here, and was gutted I was only staying one night. I was lucky enough to be upgraded into a suite, and was blown away by the stunning decor and the gorgeous corner bath. However, even if I hadn't been upgraded I would still be reviewing this as excellent as I was really treated well by the staff and the breakfast was perfection! Such a wonderful stay.

Only negative would be the parking is quite expensive, but then you are in the centre of York!
Otherwise, great location and great staff, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This has to be the most perfect location in York, the view from the room and restaurant of the Minster was stunning, and so quiet for a central location. The shops and theatre were practically on our doorstep! The breakfasts were freshly cooked and served by friendly, cheerful and helpful staff. Our room was clean and spacious (No 15) , very warm with tea/coffee making facilities and a seating area, also two TV's which pleased my husband greatly! We stayed for our Wedding Anniversary and found a hand written card in the room on arrival, just one of the smal details that made our stay special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motherofthetwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 47 in York
1,476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing