We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, friendly and wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly and wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 night break with our 5 yr old Daughter. The hotel is in the most wonderful location, a moments walk from Betty's Tea Rooms and the main shopping area and of course opposite the Minster! Our family room for 3 was spacious , spotless, well equipped and nicely decorated . The main reception area and bar/bistro is beautiful and photos do not do it justice. The quality of the food and the choice of food at breakfast was outstanding , we have stayed in higher grade hotels and it wasn't as good as here . Overall a great hotel, we will be returning. It is elegant , modern and traditional all at the same time. ( certain areas in room ready for a touch up of paint but that's been really picky!!)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clair1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    380
    116
    28
    22
See reviews for
242
871
62
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Dean Court Hotel for 2 nights with our 15 year old son. We chose the hotel for its location right opposite the Minster and for its character. The room had a separate area with a bed for our son which wasn't huge but was plenty big enough for a couple of nights.Cooked breakfasts were particularly good and we enjoyed the view of the Monster from our breakfast table. The reception staff were very helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank 942louiseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We went to York today to try and book 11 double rooms for 2 nights. This was for our family who will be attending our daughters wedding.

Receptionist really unhelpful. No way of booking 11 rooms. I asked how we were to book 11 rooms - no helpful reply given. Therefore we went to the excellent Cedar Court which sorted out our request with polished efficiency.

Just a pity DCH could not oblige as their location was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 150Gordon_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a fabulous location, I could almost touch the Minster from my Bedroom. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Food was really good and the overall ambience brilliant. I would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Have a Best Western Diamond Club card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely room ,lovely staff nice choice of hot drinks in the room .
Lovely view of the minster could hear the bells but not to loud sounded lovely to hear . Breakfast amazing staff so friendly and felt well looked after :-) thanks deans court for a amazing stay :-) x x

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Res2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, right in the centre of the city! Everything we wanted to go to was nearby and so easy to find if you got lost. The staff were really friendly, excellent rooms and a great bar. Would (and will) highly recommend to others.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights last week. This place really is spot-on, but what sets it above others is the standard of service provided by the staff. No matter who you speak to and what you ask for, nothing is too much trouble, and I cannot praise them highly enough.
The hotel itself is in the best location, next to the Minster and so near to the historic old town. Whereas parts of the hotel may need a touch of TLC (as with most older hotels), the rooms are spotlessly clean, well equipped and well maintained. Breakfasts are superb.
We shall return, hopefully later this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcash375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#19 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing