We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Dean Court Hotel which is opposite York Minster and close by the Shambles. We were on a bed/breakfast basis, the food was delicious and hot, Jane was a pleasure to meet each morning and looked after all our breakfast requirements. We didn't have a view from the room but it didn't matter as after a full day of sightseeing it was nice to be greeted by a large comfy clean bed. Hotel looking a bid jaded now and needs a lick of paint but otherwise really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and could just see part of the roof of York Minister so would request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831annies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    379
    116
    28
    22
See reviews for
241
870
62
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for one night and were very happy. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff were very attentive. You can't beat the location, literally right across from the York Minster which makes it very easy to beat the crowds to the Minster! The breakfast is delicious, one of the best meals we had on our entire trip. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaydarVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay at the Dean Court Hotel. The location was absolutely perfect and as we had booked a deluxe room we had a beautiful, 2nd story view of the minster. The room was large with a comfortable four poster and plenty of living space. Our room was decorated in a classic style (so if you are really into your contemporary stuff you may be less keen). The room was lovely and clean but, in places, perhaps getting a little dated. Certainly the corridors and public spaces need a lick of paint here and there. As we were celebrating my husband's birthday we were really touched that the hotel had left him a card- it's touches like this which make for happy guests and 5* reviews.
Breakfast on day one was disappointing; cold plates meant that our cooked breakfasts were soon unpleasantly cool and it felt (given the speed of the dishes coming out) that they had been served from pre-cooked items in the kitchen which, in our case, had been sitting there a while. On the second morning, however, our breakfast was wonderful! Delicious bacon, sausage etc etc. My husband, put off from the previous morning, opted for a simple poached eggs on toast option and was then highly jealous of mine! I can only think that for some odd reason we were unlucky (maybe we were towards the end of the breakfast service) and, as such, I've not marked it down- anywhere can have a bad day! The highlight of breakfast was that we got a superb table on both mornings and, even more fantastic than the view was the calibre of service from Jane (I think she was called) who was running the breakfasts. Jane should be held up as an example of how to do it. She was warm, friendly, interested, professional and really had time for all her guests. She chatted with everyone and was a delight- Best Western, if you do read this review- give that lovely lady a raise!
All in all we had a marvellous trip and will return. £220 per night isn't cheap, and you may be able to find accommodation which beats it, but as an overall York experience and location- it may well be tough to beat.

Room Tip: The Melton Room had the beautiful minster view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are not ones to moan but this was truly awful.
Checked in earlier today and because of brilliant weather we just put our bags in the room and went into York. Came back later and noticed the bedroom really stunk! Carpet in bedroom & hallway was filthy , went to reception to complain - did offer to move us but the whole hotel seemed filthy! Manager commented it was not the first complaint of this nature received. We had a full refund and went to another hotel. Really confused as all other reviews are good but this is nothing like what we experienced!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GraceJayne9309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This little hotel is right opposite the minster. Its in a great location for sight seeing and shopping. and in the evening all the restaurants and bars. The room I had (10) was small and had no view but the facilities were great. Everything you could have wanted was available. The best thing about this place was the staff. The lady who takes the orders for breakfast must be very well paid as she was so cheery - nothing was too much trouble. I can honestly say that there wasnt a single member of staff I cam across who wasnt really friendly and helpful. They offer fresh milk for tea/ coffee etc in your room too. The valet parking is a great advantage .
Breakfast was lovely. plenty of choice. everything on the buffet was fresh and good quality and hot breakfast cooked to order. The best scrambled egg I've ever had in a hotel. Well done Dean Court. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front to get a view of the minster. room 10 is tiny and only has a 4 foot bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with lovely staff. Just be aware that rooms are a little small and some have quite a 'closed in' outlook at the back of the hotel. However,the staff are helpful,friendly and very understanding and the facilities are good. Breakfast offered a variety of options all of which were freshly cooked and tasty.I will definitely be staying again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank judb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is located just besides York Minster and very close to the rest of main attractions. The staff is very friendly. They have valet parking what makes your life much easier. The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast is served downstairs and the quality of the produce is very good. Buffet Continental breakfast and optional cooked breakfast, I had pouched eggs with smoked salmon and it was fantastic. My mum tried the full english breakfast and the portion was too big for her, but surely many other people would be very happy with it.

Room Tip: I asked a room with view to York Minster but as we went the day of strong storms it was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smcwtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing