We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location & Service”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is ideal for everyone and the service provided was 10/10. The rooms maybe considered small to some but that's because of the age of the building.
You can walk from the train station to the hotel in 10-15minutes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank east15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    400
    122
    31
    23
See reviews for
265
918
66
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this hotel particularly for its location. Being so close to York Minster it was ideal for us as we were in York to attend an ordination service on the Sunday morning. Our room was on the third floor with views of the Minster. It was very quiet - nothing and no one disturbed our sleep. Breakfasts were a delight with an extensive and attractive buffet table and hot food cooked to order. Throughout our stay we were impressed by the helpful and efficient staff.
An excellent base from which to explore this interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 487JayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had the pleasure of spending two nights in this hotel this month, and I have to say it was the most friendly and comfortable place I have stayed. My room was lovely, the staff were very helpful, the food was as good as you can get, and the location was second to none, facing the Minster. It is the hotel I would choose the next time I am visiting York.

Room Tip: I only have experience of one room so am not in a position to offer advice, but my room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Dean Court for a long week and couldn't fault it. The location was superb right opposite York Minster, which we had a view of from our room. The staff were very helpful and attentive and found them all very friendly - especially the lady at breakfast who was lovely. The rooms were spotless and had everything you would need. The breakfast was fantastic and set us up for a full day of sightseeing. We didn't eat in the hotel, but I wished we had now, but did have drinks at the bar, which we were surprised at how reasonable they were. Straight out of the hotel you could find loads of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops, with the Shambles being just a couple of minutes walk. Loved our stay here and plan to go back again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quemerford
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Fantastic location, lovely hotel, room overlooking the Minster, extremely helpful, happy staff - nothing was too much trouble. Ieva is the only name of one particular member of staff but they were all excellent. The doorman/car parking/ baggage-carrying chap was super as well. We dined in the bistro on the fisrt evening and had an excellent meal. Just what we needed after a puncture in the Dales and a long wait for the assistance chap! Long story.
All rooms had an umbrella in the wardrobe which was most helpful. We needed it and managed not to lose it! There was also an iron, ironing board, bath robes, tea and coffee making facilities. Every comfort. Comfortable bed; I am fussy about hotel beds. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Minster. Unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pingopolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Dean Court proved to be a excellent location for a stay of a couple of days in York. Situation immediately next to York Minister, the hotel was clean, efficient and staffed with pleasant and attentive locals. We mass at the Minister and walks in the lovely streets nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junde01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing