We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Parents Stayed Here And Am Writing Their Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My Parents Stayed Here And Am Writing Their Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked a well earned break for my parents and due to a request to see what Gluten Free food would be available I called the hotel. Went through various options with the lady and decided to carry on doing the booking so I settled upon a twin room on the third floor which was quieter, but as she did say it was a dark room, upon arrival they did say they would have liked the room more if it was decorated in much lighter tones. The areas of the hotel they went to were all clean.

On the whole the staff were friendly and helpful, they did not eat in the main restaurant as nothing on the menu appealed but both the breakfast and evening meals taken in the hotel were very good. Its a good central location but I presume by now their website will have changed to show that the parking is off site and is £13.50 per day, you arrive at the hotel, your luggage is removed and they take the car either until you require it or are departing, the service for this was fine but the bad part of my review would be I did not calculate the full price of the room on booking as when chatting thought it was £148 per night, this was not the case it was different prices each night, apparently its their practice if these cases to add all together and just give you the final total, so my fault that I did not break it down, so it was over £40 more expensive than I initially thought, (I hear the hotel saying they told me the total and yes they did but I had not added 3 x 148 together and queried the difference so yes I agreed payment but stupidly had to come back to them when things did not tally for their explanation), I also specifically asked about parking and the process was explained, but, not the charges, just before they were due to go I went online to get postcode for sat nav and saw the parking charges on one of the Best Western sites so called the hotel, they said it was my error and it was on my confirmation. I checked and it was not so I emailed the hotel. My parents in the meantime went to the hotel and I informed them that they were likely to be charged for parking and that's when the room pricing came to light so I called back about both things - the room pricing policy was explained (as above) so there was nothing I could say about that, my fault for not doing some math's, but the parking charges were certainly not nor were they on the confirmation or even the link that they give you to go to on their confirmation - yes if you want to spend several days trawling through every scrap of info the link sends you to I am sure there will be the parking info but it was not apparent on the page it sends you to unlike another best western site - something the bookings manager and hotel manager were at all bothered about over the phone or in the hotel! My parents got 1 night free and paid the other 2 nights. They are a professional organisation and if the customer should be getting info from a link and staff then it should be easily obtained!

Room Tip: They could see the first two floors could be noisy, theirs was on the third floor not overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happychickens_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    374
    113
    28
    22
See reviews for
240
857
59
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great find, perfectly located in the heart of York. Walking to everything, which is great because York driving is a nightmare. Very accommodating staff, well appointed rooms. My only complaint is no AC and you could feel the springs in my mattress. I'd stay here again though. The breakfast that comes with the bed and breakfast rate includes cooked food, so it's a greate value. Definitely have the local ham and the Belgian waffles. The cafe also serves delicious food at reasonable prices, especially with it being a hotel cafe.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vermonterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great central location across the road from the Minster. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet room for a busy town centre bank holiday weekend. Nice little extra having a brolly in the room. Good choice of breakfast. Room 45 bathroom could have been finished off better, no major concern. Would recommend for a stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milburn990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The location is ideal for everyone and the service provided was 10/10. The rooms maybe considered small to some but that's because of the age of the building.
You can walk from the train station to the hotel in 10-15minutes

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank east15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this hotel particularly for its location. Being so close to York Minster it was ideal for us as we were in York to attend an ordination service on the Sunday morning. Our room was on the third floor with views of the Minster. It was very quiet - nothing and no one disturbed our sleep. Breakfasts were a delight with an extensive and attractive buffet table and hot food cooked to order. Throughout our stay we were impressed by the helpful and efficient staff.
An excellent base from which to explore this interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 487JayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had the pleasure of spending two nights in this hotel this month, and I have to say it was the most friendly and comfortable place I have stayed. My room was lovely, the staff were very helpful, the food was as good as you can get, and the location was second to none, facing the Minster. It is the hotel I would choose the next time I am visiting York.

Room Tip: I only have experience of one room so am not in a position to offer advice, but my room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing