We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food for small wedding party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food for small wedding party”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Please note, I did not stay at the hotel so will not comment on accommodation. We had the 12 seater private dining room for our daughter's wedding breakfast. We had drinks on arrival in the bar and then went through the restaurant with the grubbiest carpet I have ever seen to our own dining room. The size of the room was perfect for our needs. The staff were attentive, professional, friendly and helpful. I understand our wedding function was the first time the young lady from Latvia was in charge and she was a credit to your establishment. As for the food - WOW! Admittedly we had already pre-ordered our meal but the food was so flavoursome and cooked to perfection. Huge compliments to the Chef. The courses were paced perfectly as we were able to chat, eat and drink without either feeling rushed or waiting ages between courses. The room was ours for the evening so once we had eaten we were able to play games (the ladies let the chaps win) but the staff didn't neglect us, keeping us topped up with drinks and wedding cake. I would recommend the private dining room for any small function - not just weddings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your lovely comments.

Your compliments to our chef have been passed on. Moreover Ieva and the team are delighted with your feedback regarding their attention to your party throughout the event.

We would love to welcome you back soon where we would be thrilled to deliver our high standards of food and service to you once again!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    393
    120
    30
    22
See reviews for
250
898
64
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

All I can say is absolutely fabulous. On arrival we were upgraded and in room were nibbles and a bottle of champagne. (The hotel were aware it was my partners 50th) the room had a stunning view of the minster. Nothing at all was too much trouble. Staff, room, hotel in general and location fantastic. Thanks to everyone at the Deans court for making this a special couple of nights for us both

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Teena H

Many thanks for your review of our hotel, we are delighted we fully lived up to your expectations

Your compliments have been passed on to the staff who will be more than pleased to hear that their efforts were appreciated.

Do come and visit us again soon when you are next in York.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel staff very helpful and the room was excellent, a great view of the Cathedral. One small problem was the toilet kept filling which kept us awake some of the night, this was reported but nothing was done. The first breakfast was 30 min served after we ordered and not everything was hot, the second breakfast was served within 10mins but again not warn and items missing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Christine V

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel.

The maintenance issue with the toilet in your room has now been resolved, we would like to apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay.

Your feedback regarding your experience at breakfast has been noted and has been addressed with the relevant department manager.

However overall we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back to York and see us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights...room fully met requirements and was very central...we were able to see Minster from our room...staff were very friendly, breakfast was good...only sorry didnt stay for longer but we are now in Oxford in an apparently 5 star hotel which is nowhere near as good as Dean Court...would definitely visit again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, I was pleased to read that you stay met your expectations. We look forward to your next vist where I am sure you will enjoy a longer stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Friendly & helpful greeting from reception Staff, The room was very comfortable & clean with a large four poster bed & view overlooking the Minster. Great central location for shopping and sightseeing. Excellent restaurant with wide choice of tempting dishes. We would very much like to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Over Stowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I didn't stay there but met my mother and stepfather there for dinner as they were staying at the hotel for a week and we decided to eat in the restaurant. First the location is spectacular opposite the West door of the Minster. I am not personally a great fan of Best Western, but this one seems a good exception. One problem to be aware of is the parking and the traffic getting into the vicinity, but that is York for you. The dinner was most excellent. I had the crab and my mum had the arancini. We shared the Cote de Beouf and my stepfather had the duck. The Beef was near, well lets say absolutely perfect. I liked the beetroot dauphanoise and I have a really lovely Bordeuax with the structure to support it. Great service. A French sommelier who understood the product and was not from central casting and a very able and charming lady Maitre d' from Romania. She carved the beef at table with perfection. We were finished at that point but the pudds looked good. A true quality dining experience with old school of a type I thought extinct in this country but without the stuffiness of some of the so called "institutions". I can't vouch for the stay (although I am told v. good) but the restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSTLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing