We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Dean Court has to be the Best Hotel we have stayed in during our many visits to York. Wonderful location right opposite the Minster; our room overlooked the Mister absolutely brilliant.
We found all the staff to be very helpful attentive and friendly. The breakfast was fantastic and set us up for a day of sightseeing around York., which are all an easy walk distance from the hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening, only because we were spoilt for choice with various restaurants, cafes, and bars close by the hotel. Brilliant hotel with a unique location opposite the Mister

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAJ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel.

It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed the quality of our rooms and the standard of service from our staff.

Do try our restaurant on your return visit - we have just been awarded our 2nd AA rosette!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    400
    121
    31
    23
See reviews for
265
918
66
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull/Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My partner and I visited the Dean Court Hotel for one night earlier this week, and had a great stay. The location was perfect - right opposite the Minster, and down the street from Betty's. We parked up right outside and a staff member immediately took my car to the car park, (the parking was good value at £13.50, and they were happy to keep it for as long as we needed after we checked out the next day for no extra charge). Every staff member which we encountered was as friendly and helpful as the last, particularly the reception staff. We were in room 21 which didn't have the most enchanting view (into a courtyard), but we're not fussy. The only minor issues were that the room was located in between the main staircase and the lift, but I'm a heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me that much. Also one of the window panes was quite badly cracked (with sellotape on, from what I could gather), which could do with attention, but I don't think these small issues were worth dropping the experience down to 4*. The breakfast was also great quality and value, and I was pleasantly surprised that the cooked breakfasts were made to order, and the choice was very good (eggs benedict, smoked salmon, porridge, waffles, full english). Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit York, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: One facing the Minster would have a spectacular view, and the street outside was very quiet despite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samgiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback.

The small room issues you experienced have been addressed, thank you for bringing them to our attention.

We hope our hotel will be your preferred choice on your return visits to York.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Everything about this hotel was nice except our room (standard double). It is in a very old building that was once part of the minster. The room had all of the amenities listed on the web site, but it was in a part of the building not serviced by an elevator and faced a light well with inadequate ventilation. A fan (wobbly and noisy) was provided, but it was still uncomfortably stuffy. On the other hand, location was superb, breakfast was super and the staff very accommodating. I would consider staying again, but I would upgrade to a better room.

Room Tip: Some rooms are served by elevator. Standard doubles are fairly small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susmertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your pleasant review of your recent stay with us.

Please do consider booking one of our higher standard of rooms as some have lovely views of the Minster.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Wonderful to find such an excellent hotel in the middle of such a beautiful city that is so close to all the major landmarks. Even better was that garaging was available for our car and that it was stored safely and securely for the whole of our stay. Walking is by far the best way to see York, losing the car to safe storage was a huge bonus. The room that we had exceeded our expectations, the view straight out on to The Minister "doubled its credits"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jeffrey H

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much!

It was also great to see you took advantage of our valet parking service. I hope you'll agree it takes the worry - about what to do with the car during your stay - away.

We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. We arrived a little bit early but were checked in straight away and when we returned a couple of hours later, our bags had already been taken to our room. We also used the car parking facility and found this to be excellent. The porter takes your car to a secure car park and it is returned when you leave the hotel. The room overlooked the Minster and was of a very high standard. No problems with noise from outside but it was not as hot as it has been so we were able to close the windows. Breakfast was very nice and there was plenty choice. The location of the hotel can not be beaten. Everything is within walking distance. Great little hotel that I can't wait to go back to

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

A pleasure to read your complimentary review of your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to see how much you enjoyed our superb location and the standard of our rooms.

Thank you once again for your lovely comments, we hope to see you on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
770 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Best Western’s Dean Court Hotel has got the best location for visiting historic York! Just next to the York Minster with views over rooftops of York and opposite grassy greens, it's a lovely hotel that is not sandwiched tightly between other buildings like other hotels in York. You've for breathing space here!

It is a few steps to York Minster and to High Petergate which has tons of shops, pubs and restaurants. You can easily access The Shambles from here! You can basically make a big circle from high Petergate through the quaint historic part of York and all the great shopping, and come back to the Dean Court via Davygate and Blake Street.

If you need anything at all from buying a new piece of luggage to having your Sushi indulgence, the Dean Court is best placed to experience the best of York! All the world brands are based in this part of York.

This was our first time in York and we could not have chosen a more ideal hotel!

During our initial research we had found hotels across the bridge closer to the train station. On this point, the hotel is within walking distance (about 12 minute’s brisk walk) from the train station. But honestly, it is worth the small fare to take a taxi if you're arriving by train, if only for the convenience, as it is not fun manoeuvring crowded pavements with suitcases and there are a couple inclines (like up and over the Lendal bridge) that could prove challenging if your cases are heavy.

Check-in was smooth and efficient and our room was ready for us. The bathroom looked newly updated and the bedroom was charming and comfy.
Our only peeve is the time it takes to get from the top floor to the bottom in the world’s slowest elevator!

Breakfast service in DCH restaurant was excellent and the food came out quickly which is always appreciated first thing in the morning. We also tried their Court Café & Bistro for a light lunch and the food there was fine though service was a bit slow.

Our stay at Dean Court Hotel helped to enhance our York experience given its perfect location, good night's sleep and very good service. This will be our hotel of choice on any return visit!

Room Tip: Duncombe Place is a quiet street so all floors are fine. I would choose a lower floor as the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We are pleased to hear of your appreciation for the city and the location that our hotel is in for you to enjoy your surroundings fully.

Please call in again when you are next in York. With this being your first trip to the city we hope you will visit many more times to come!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Please note, I did not stay at the hotel so will not comment on accommodation. We had the 12 seater private dining room for our daughter's wedding breakfast. We had drinks on arrival in the bar and then went through the restaurant with the grubbiest carpet I have ever seen to our own dining room. The size of the room was perfect for our needs. The staff were attentive, professional, friendly and helpful. I understand our wedding function was the first time the young lady from Latvia was in charge and she was a credit to your establishment. As for the food - WOW! Admittedly we had already pre-ordered our meal but the food was so flavoursome and cooked to perfection. Huge compliments to the Chef. The courses were paced perfectly as we were able to chat, eat and drink without either feeling rushed or waiting ages between courses. The room was ours for the evening so once we had eaten we were able to play games (the ladies let the chaps win) but the staff didn't neglect us, keeping us topped up with drinks and wedding cake. I would recommend the private dining room for any small function - not just weddings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeanCourt, Manager at Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your lovely comments.

Your compliments to our chef have been passed on. Moreover Ieva and the team are delighted with your feedback regarding their attention to your party throughout the event.

We would love to welcome you back soon where we would be thrilled to deliver our high standards of food and service to you once again!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing