We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We stayed here for one night in January 2009. On our arrival we were met by friendly staff, used the hotels valet parking service, which was no trouble. We were offered an upgrade to a four poster room which we gratefully accepted!
Room was beautiful, clean, with great views of the minster. Hotel is very central to all amenities.
We did not use bar or restaurant, but breakfast was lovely.
Would visit this hotel again if we return to York.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmylouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    392
    120
    30
    22
See reviews for
250
894
64
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

My Mum and I stayed at the Dean Court for two nights in Feb for few days of history and shopping. Can not fault this hotel, our twin room was spacious and clean. There was plenty of wardrobe and draw space, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was also roomy with a bath and separate shower. We had a great view of the minster. This hotel is just a 10/15 minute walk from the rail station and a 5-15 min walk from most of York's attractions, the perfect base for a sort trip to the city. The breakfast was amazing with ample choice from the menu which boasts many locally produced ingredients. Staff were friendly and efficient. I would certainly use this hotel again and would have no problem recommending it to others.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola_l_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Returned from a recent stay in York. Chose to stay at the Dean court for its central location (adjacent to the minster) and for some good reviews of its award winning restaurant. During our stay, the menu never varied and although well presented I felt the meals were not value for money...the wine list was also a little on the high side.
The bedroom was warm and comfortable and although it faced the road this did not cause an issue. Our only problem was if you sat at the dressing table, it was difficult to see in the mirror because the chairs were to low.
Although very efficient I did feel the hotel staff were "just doing a job" and could have shown a little more warmth and interest.
Overall just an ordinary 3* hotel in a great location but nothing to make it a memorable stay

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank glenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

My partner and I had a two night break at the Dean Court Hotel. Our room was fabulous, overlooking the Minster, and was quiet and very warm considering the very cold weather outside. On the first night we ate in the hotel restaurant and were in for a treat - not only was the food excellent, it was very well presented, and although the restauant was "formal", the staff were exceptionally friendly and we felt immediately relaxed and at ease. On deliberating the wine menu, Alex helped us out by offering his advice and by allowing us to sample some different wines before we made our choice. His wealth of knowledge was both interesting and very helpful. The next morning, after a hearty breakfast we set off to explore York, with its gorgeous architecture and cobbled streets. York has an amazing assortment of little independent shops, and is really the most attractive city. The next evening we ate out then returned to the bar for a night cap, where Alex kept us entertained once again. He clearly enjoys his job and is an asset to the Dean Court team. We found all the staff very friendly and welcoming, so congratulations to the Dean Court hotel and it's staff - a cut above the rest.

  • Liked — location, friendly staff, warm room
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol5LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Undoubtedly a nice, well-run hotel in a splendid, central location. We were there for two nights, and have just two criticisms to make, one minor; one major.

(i) Evening bar service very spotty. As often as not, it took a walk to reception to produce anyone serving behind the bar counter.

(ii) BE WARNED against booking on Best Western's website. We booked way back in June at their "Advanced Purchase Rate" [money taken immediately; no refunds] of £279 for the two nights -- having read Best Western's spiel: "Save up to 30%. If you book more than 21 days in advance, you can enjoy huge savings."

Ten days before our arrival, Best Western's website was advertising the very same room at an "Advanced purchase rate" of £198 . . . but NOBODY WANTED TO KNOW.

Best Western's supposed "guarantee" is only good for 48 hours after the initial booking, while David Brooks, the Dean Court's General Manager, was "surprised and taken aback" that anyone should consider themselves hard done by. He was certainly NOT about to issue a credit for a future stay at his hotel.

My strong advice if you're going to book this hotel: Book at the slightly more expensive "Best available" rate. That way you can at least cancel -- and re-book at a lower rate -- up to 48 hours before arrival -- should the rates drop.

The above experience certainly cast a shadow over an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Super location and view
  • Disliked — The feeling of being ripped off.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterDevon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

On arriving at the hotel we were given a free upgrade to the Four Poster Suite, an excellent large corner room overlooking the Minster. I was very impressed with hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful, great location, and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend!

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

First visit to York, we decided to go by train, excellent choice, 10mins stroll along York walls to Hotel. What a location, adjacent to the Minster, a short walk to the shops, Shambles and Betty's tea rooms(tip go for evening meal, no queues). The hotel is newly decorated with plenty of relaxing chairs for evening drinks.
We had a 3night deal with standard double on 3rd floor, well furnished and comfortable king bed. Good view of side of Minster and town rooftops and adjacent garden.
Good breakfast, and polite staff, made a memorable stay.
We like quiet rooms, and this was, no creeking floorboards, and road is only used for taxi's. very quiet.
So much to see, too icy to walk the walls and Minster tower, but will return, and definately stay here.

  • Liked — Location, comfort and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 2Wayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 46 in York
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
605 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dean Court has the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. Everything is within walking distance, including city walls and all York's famous attractions.The hotel recently received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence and is a previous winner of the regional Hotel of the Year Award.Entering one finds contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and de Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. There's an extensive range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance, all public rooms and restaurants are on one level, no steps. D.C.H the Restaurant has a 2AA Rosette Award whilst THE COURT Bistro & Bar offers a more informal menu in a setting with mixed seating styles. Both eateries offer the finest food and service, with local and seasonal local produce predominant in menus.There is an impressive range for vegetarian guests and those with gluten free diets. The eighty-bin wine list offers twenty wines by the glass, and a large choice of beers from local breweries and around the world. An extensive cocktail list is available too.The hotel is non-smoking. Public areas are air-conditioned. The hotel has its own secure car park which is competitively priced and includes a valet-parking service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing