We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff that aim to please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Right across the street from the Minster and around the corner from 2 different areas with small shops and venues to explore, the Dean Court is a great location to stay for a walking vacation in York. I spent 2 nights here.

I arrived early, and they do mean it when they say '2pm checkin', but they delivered my bags to my room while I dined in The Court restaurant in the hotel lobby. My room and a few others were in corners of the hotel that are not lift accessible, but for checkin and checkout the porter was fast enough at picking up my bags that it wasn't a problem.

The room I was in was beautifully decorated, though there was some peeling paint in the bathroom. In addition to the main bedroom the room included a den with two bunk beds, additional tvs and many board games, so it would be an excellent choice for family stays.

All of the desk and wait staff were friendly and gave excellent directions to various destinations in York. During my stay in Sheffield and Manchester earlier in my trip I was unpleasantly surprised at the low quality of service in various restaurants, and that definitely isn't the case in The Court.

I recommend the Dean Court as your base of operations during your next York vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2009

My husband and I love staying at the Dean Court Hotel when we come to York. It has a beautiful location overlooking the York Minster but this is not the only asset...the hotel is comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful and according to my husband the breakfast kippers deserve the "5 kipper hotel" recommendation....highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMAYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Dean Court for a week this summer and it really wowed us. The location is wonderful. York Minster is a stone's throw from the hotel, which made it easy to walk to all the in-town sights, and even the train station for day trips. We used a taxi only to carry our luggage to and from the train station.

The room was not the largest I have had in the UK, but it was spacious enough. The decor was modern, and comfortable, although like many hotels, lighting could be improved. Because the hotel is an older building, it is not air conditioned, although there was a fan in the room, and a portable air conditioner is available for an additional fee of 25 pounds. We found the fan kept the room adequately cool. The view from our window was spectacular. York Minster filled the entire three pane window. Magical.

The full english breakfast was of an extremely high standard with a buffet of cold items, and the waitstaff provided cooked-to-order eggs with all the sides one could wish (potatoes, bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes. . .) There were also other prepared hot dishes available such as eggs benedict, smoked salmon, etc. It isn't just the variety of items which impressed but the quality of the basic ingredients and the care with which they were prepared. It measured up with the best breakfasts I have had in the UK, even in posher hotels.

We never ate lunch in the hotel, but we did have dinner one night. While the menu is limited, the cooking was of extremely high quality and well deserving of its two AA rosettes.

Negatives are few and certainly easy to put up with given the overall value this hotel provides. The elevator is small and slow, and corridors are narrow - what you would expect in an older building. There are limited public rooms, although they were adequate except when there was a wedding party in the hotel.

For its price point, this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yougowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

my husband and i visit York every year to have a few days away and celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have stayed at many of the different hotels in the city centre but after our most recent stay at the Dean Court Hotel i can honestly say we have found the best hotel and the one we will return to on every future visit to York. The staff were the most friendly and professional anyone could ask for, the hotel iitself is not only located in the most beautiful position of the shadow of the York Minster but it's decor is warm, clean and stylish. the accomadation was perfect, the food delicious, and the service was nothing more than brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctwPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Dean Court, and cannot do other than give it the highest praise - for its thoughful hospitality, cleanliness, quality and choice of food, helpfulness of all staff, and general "ambience". Given its position opposite the Minster and in the centre of the city, it could not be bettered.
Bob Wilkinson

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hevershambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed for one night here -it is a great location directly opposite the Minster, and in easy reach of all the sights. Room was clean and comfortable -with a huge bath, which was a nice surprise. The hotel has valet parking (expensive at 12 pounds per day) -so you don`t have easy access to your car if you need anything from it. The breakfast was good, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Luckily it was not hot -so we didn`t need air conditioning. The hotel offered to hire an air conditioning unit if needed - for a mere 25 pounds a day!! I think this is a bit of a cheek, and would be unhappy if I had to pay that on a hot day. Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay (or business trip) to York.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Recently stayed with my wife for 2 days. No air conditioning but wasn't needed. Rooms were larger that I expected and a huge bathroom. Very accomodating and location could not be better for the Cathedral, Ghost Walk or the Shambles.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papaw61665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
2.2 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,569 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,571 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Duncombe Place, York YO1 7EF, England (Formerly Dean Court Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#4 Business Hotel in York
#6 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: £81 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the finest location in the city, standing in the shadow of York Minster. All York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The hotel recently received a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. A contemporary design, with emphasis on elegance and comfort. Rooms are well-equipped and individually styled. Superior and De-Luxe rooms have outstanding views of the Minster. Rooms have flat screen TVs, 30 ftv channels and DVD players. A range of DVD's and an iPOD docking station. Little "extras" include robes, brollies and mineral water. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Dean Court is notably child-friendly with four well equipped family rooms. Guests with limited mobility or in wheelchairs will also enjoy facilities in a quartet of rooms. Ramp access is available with staff assistance. The AA Rosette restaurant D.C.H has Minster views or more informal dining in The Lounge-Bar serving snacks and sandwiches. The hotel has it's own secure car park. No smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Prestigia, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing