We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothin Beats a chain Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothin Beats a chain Hotel!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were there for a weekend & our room was amazing. It was a standard room but it was absolutely huge. Massive bed & sofa but still pleanty of room. it was almost like to small rooms had been converted into one. Bathroom was lovely as well. it is a new hotel so you could still smell the fresh paint. had a bar downstairs which was good & it was close to the town centre. Would go again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for your comments. We are all delighted here at the hotel that you enjoyed you stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    997
    467
    147
    84
See reviews for
897
917
61
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Had 3 nights over the May Bank Holiday so hotel was very busy but the staff really went the extra mile to accomodate the packed hotel. Had an Executive Room and the reception staff really tried hard to repair our Espresso machine and fridge with some success but they understood and tried hard so that was fine! We had a great stay, lovely walk along the river into York. bar prices abit prohibitive but plenty of pubs nearby.... Happy to return again one day, very good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Good morning. First, I would like to thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable time with us. I have noted your other comments. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

High points - location is great, close to centre with option of nice walk along the river. Also has an open top tour bus stop practically on doorstep.

Breakfast buffet ok but the fatty flabby bacon and so called toaster let it down a bit.

Low points - Executive room surprisingly small. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Separate toilet all very well ut with no sink? How unhygienic, with door handles and light switches being touched en route to the main bathroom to wash hands. Even worse in middle of the night with a narrow gap between bed and bathroom doors to negotiate. A strange design decision.

Not sure if we'd return as other central hotels on offer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Good morning and thank you for your valuable comments. Please do rest assured that I have shared all comments with the team and have taken note of your suggestions for us to improve our service to our customers. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Just got home from a 2-night stay at this hotel, and have no complaints- the room was spacious and clean and the hotel nice and quiet- we didn't experience any disturbances at night. Guests were being placed on the non-river side of the hotel where possible, I believe, as across the river was a noisy funfair that would have interrupted sleep.
Hotel was within easy walking distance from town and had a swimming pool which, whilst not huge, was good for a cool-down after a day out in the sun!
The highlight of our hotel stay was probably Jean Luc, the gentleman working at the bar- he was very friendly and helpful in recommending places for us to visit during our short stay, and made us some delicious cocktails - brilliant service!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Good afternoon. First I would like to thank you for your comments. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. I will certainly share your comments with Jean-Luc when he comes on shift later on and praise him for making your stay even better! Thank you once again and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 46 in York
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing