We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed here the weekend before Easter, and had didn't have a great stay. The location is by far the best part of this hotel, a great walk along the canal into York centre. However, the facilities within the hotel are very poor. The breakfast was very average, and miles away from a gentle start to the day. There were very few staff members working, and hence it felt like everybody was running and rushing around. Understandable when the restaurant was busy, however this seemed to be the case even when most tables were empty. The lack of staff continued onto the bar in the evenings. We stayed over a weekend, and the bar got quite busy at some points, however never was there more than one person working. Unlike all other hotels I have stayed in, children seemed to be allowed to do whatever they want at whatever time in the hotel. At night when we returned after dinner, wanting a quiet drink, many kids were running around the bar area even up until 11pm. Many parts of this hotel are shabby, including the pool area, the bar, and the stairways all of which look very dated. The rooms are acceptable, however not near the level for the price we paid. All-in-all, great location, poor hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Good morning and thank you for taking thetime to write a review about your recent stay. I am obviously disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay and can assure you that all comments are taken seriously and will be looked into. Should you wish to discuss the matter further, please do contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com and I will be delighted to assist you.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    1,003
    473
    148
    85
See reviews for
899
929
61
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was our second visit and we have found this hotel excellent in both localtion and for our hobby of running. The hotel is on the banks of the River Fosse and in a few metres it joins the Ouse...many riverbank walking and running routes, as well as the city walls which can be run too.

It is 10 mins walk into York.

The room was large.

Only complaint..the shower hot water was on the hot side, just, of warm. The valve needed altering and we lodged a complaint at reception.

And a comment - internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay with us. I am happy to read you enjoyed the hotel location and would agree that we are on a perfect spot for a run or a relaxing stroll along the river banks. I also wanted to let you know that an engineer has been contacted to investigate the hot water issue as we could not detect any fault ourselves. Once again, thank you and I hope we will welcome you back soon to the Novotel York Centre.

With kind regards,

Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vava'u Islands, Tonga
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2011

great location, when we booked we assumed it would be the same standard as other novotel but we were disappointed.
this hotel has a modern reception area with bar and wii facilties but the rooms should be updated too. our room was dark, small and needed updating.
pls note we visited about two yrs ago but judging by some of the reviews posted on here, the rooms r the same.
obviously i would understand this if we had paid less than usual for the same standard room but we had not.
we did share our concerns but never got a response. maybe this hotel is very busy so they dont need to be too bothered about customer satisfaction.in fairness however cosmetic updating of rooms is an issue that novotel company needs to address rather than the staff who work there.
there seems to be rooms in the building tht were much more roomy and nicer than ours so perhaps we were unlucky .
TIP?..just do your research before you book rather than assuming all novotels r the same !

Room Tip: ask in detail about your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qaztrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Good morning and thank you for your comments. I just wanted to reassure you that we do take every steps necessary to maintain our product and have actually just completed the refurbishment of a further 24 rooms at the begining of March. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you require further details. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Novotel York.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were there for a weekend & our room was amazing. It was a standard room but it was absolutely huge. Massive bed & sofa but still pleanty of room. it was almost like to small rooms had been converted into one. Bathroom was lovely as well. it is a new hotel so you could still smell the fresh paint. had a bar downstairs which was good & it was close to the town centre. Would go again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for your comments. We are all delighted here at the hotel that you enjoyed you stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Had 3 nights over the May Bank Holiday so hotel was very busy but the staff really went the extra mile to accomodate the packed hotel. Had an Executive Room and the reception staff really tried hard to repair our Espresso machine and fridge with some success but they understood and tried hard so that was fine! We had a great stay, lovely walk along the river into York. bar prices abit prohibitive but plenty of pubs nearby.... Happy to return again one day, very good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Good morning. First, I would like to thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable time with us. I have noted your other comments. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

High points - location is great, close to centre with option of nice walk along the river. Also has an open top tour bus stop practically on doorstep.

Breakfast buffet ok but the fatty flabby bacon and so called toaster let it down a bit.

Low points - Executive room surprisingly small. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Separate toilet all very well ut with no sink? How unhygienic, with door handles and light switches being touched en route to the main bathroom to wash hands. Even worse in middle of the night with a narrow gap between bed and bathroom doors to negotiate. A strange design decision.

Not sure if we'd return as other central hotels on offer.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egon_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Good morning and thank you for your valuable comments. Please do rest assured that I have shared all comments with the team and have taken note of your suggestions for us to improve our service to our customers. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,753 reviews
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing