We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location & hotel staff very attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at the Novotel York Centre hotel recently for 3 nights in an executive room and couldn't fault it in any way! We found the staff very attentive, helpful and polite. We asked for feather pillows and Maria who found it difficult to understand what we wanted, persevered and returned with two. We ate in the restaurant on the first night without high expectations - although we hadn't booked and ate late we were accommodated and the food was superb. I asked for soya milk at breakfast and it was delivered with no problem whereas other hotels have not always been so obliging. The location is perfect for sightseeing in York and the walk from the hotel along the canal is a very pleasant way to reach the many places of interest. Our stay at the Novotel York Centre far exceeded our expectations which is a great credit to the Manager and Staff. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkSupersec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Good afternoon and thank you for your kind comments. I will personally share them with the whole team as feedback from our guests is invaluable to keep improving our service delivery. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards, Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Novotel York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Warm welcome by friendly staff. Room was a good size but even getting into a superior room proved tricky with a buggy due to the room layout. However it was very clean and comfy and the travel cot with bedding was already set up for us - although the queensize bed accommodated all three of us with ease! . We made full use of the small play area and visited the pool each day of our stay
I was taken aback somewhat at the cost of the breakfast which I had pre-booked, but it was fantastic and well worth it, plus our little one ate for free. All staff were wonderfully friendly and the service was second to none.

Unfortunately our room overlooked the entrance at the front of the hotel so traffic noise was noticeable late at night as well as guests coming in etc, and due to the interior of the hotel, unfortunately you could hear every trip to the bathroom by neighbouring guests!

Although classed as 'centre' it was a good ten minutes walk to the city centre itself.... howewever saying that - all in all a very relaxing and enjoyable stay... we would have loved to have checked out later as advertised on the website (5pm) and enjoyed a leisurely lunch, however a later check out of 1pm gave us the opportunity to take our little one for a final dip in the pool before departure.

We stay in York every year and would definitely stay here again..... just wish it was closer to the Centre!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior & get a room at the back!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunderlandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Good morning. Thank you so much for your very nice comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed in the Novotel for the bank holiday weekend. Arrived at noon and did not expect the room to be ready but whilst checking in we were told our room was immediately available.

Rooms large - modern furniture and very large comfortable bed. Only downside was the room got hot overnight and as we were on the front of the hotel we did not have the window open due to general noise. Inside the room there is a 'inner door' which meant that we heard no noise from the corridor which is not normally the case in a large hotel.

Breakfast was the normal self service buffet but possibly better than other places I have stayed as they had smoothies and large variety of breads, fruits and juices etc.

Location was great- easy to find and safe parking on site although chargeable separately. Walk into town not a problem- ideally located.

If I was going to York again I would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancsstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

Good morning. I would like to thank you for your comments following your recent visit to our hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and would consider us again for your next visit. Thank you very much once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Three of us (myself and two children) stayed in a superior room for three nights. The room was very good, a kingsize bed and a single sofa bed. It would have been cramped with four in the room but it was fine for the three of us. The room was very attractively decorated and bright and airy. Nice flatscreen Tv, minibar and good hanging space. The bathroom was very attractive but the separate toilet was a bit institutional, more thought could have gone into its decor. Having said that it does make things easier to have a separate loo when you have two daughters monopolising the bathroom.

The breakfast was very good, a good variety on offer and all well presented. The staff were attentive and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and were disappointed that many of the children's menu items were not available. However the food we did have was very good.

The pool is small and crowded at times but the children enjoyed it. The reception area is attractive, but spoiled for me by TVs showing football in every area.

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre and seems to attract families rather than the hen and stag parties we saw emerging from the nearby hotels. Free internet would be a good idea.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Good morning. Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted you had a good time and am looking forward to welcoming you back and your family to the Novotel York. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed here the weekend before Easter, and had didn't have a great stay. The location is by far the best part of this hotel, a great walk along the canal into York centre. However, the facilities within the hotel are very poor. The breakfast was very average, and miles away from a gentle start to the day. There were very few staff members working, and hence it felt like everybody was running and rushing around. Understandable when the restaurant was busy, however this seemed to be the case even when most tables were empty. The lack of staff continued onto the bar in the evenings. We stayed over a weekend, and the bar got quite busy at some points, however never was there more than one person working. Unlike all other hotels I have stayed in, children seemed to be allowed to do whatever they want at whatever time in the hotel. At night when we returned after dinner, wanting a quiet drink, many kids were running around the bar area even up until 11pm. Many parts of this hotel are shabby, including the pool area, the bar, and the stairways all of which look very dated. The rooms are acceptable, however not near the level for the price we paid. All-in-all, great location, poor hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Good morning and thank you for taking thetime to write a review about your recent stay. I am obviously disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay and can assure you that all comments are taken seriously and will be looked into. Should you wish to discuss the matter further, please do contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com and I will be delighted to assist you.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was our second visit and we have found this hotel excellent in both localtion and for our hobby of running. The hotel is on the banks of the River Fosse and in a few metres it joins the Ouse...many riverbank walking and running routes, as well as the city walls which can be run too.

It is 10 mins walk into York.

The room was large.

Only complaint..the shower hot water was on the hot side, just, of warm. The valve needed altering and we lodged a complaint at reception.

And a comment - internet access was expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Good morning. Thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay with us. I am happy to read you enjoyed the hotel location and would agree that we are on a perfect spot for a run or a relaxing stroll along the river banks. I also wanted to let you know that an engineer has been contacted to investigate the hot water issue as we could not detect any fault ourselves. Once again, thank you and I hope we will welcome you back soon to the Novotel York Centre.

With kind regards,

Christophe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

great location, when we booked we assumed it would be the same standard as other novotel but we were disappointed.
this hotel has a modern reception area with bar and wii facilties but the rooms should be updated too. our room was dark, small and needed updating.
pls note we visited about two yrs ago but judging by some of the reviews posted on here, the rooms r the same.
obviously i would understand this if we had paid less than usual for the same standard room but we had not.
we did share our concerns but never got a response. maybe this hotel is very busy so they dont need to be too bothered about customer satisfaction.in fairness however cosmetic updating of rooms is an issue that novotel company needs to address rather than the staff who work there.
there seems to be rooms in the building tht were much more roomy and nicer than ours so perhaps we were unlucky .
TIP?..just do your research before you book rather than assuming all novotels r the same !

Room Tip: ask in detail about your room
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qaztrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Good morning and thank you for your comments. I just wanted to reassure you that we do take every steps necessary to maintain our product and have actually just completed the refurbishment of a further 24 rooms at the begining of March. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you require further details. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Novotel York.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £73 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4 Star, Family Friendly service at the Novotel York Centre. Situated close to the celebrated historical City walls and only a short Riverside stroll from the centre. Novotel York is the perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city as well as its shopping, restaurants and bars. Relax with a drink in our stylish bar or our outside terrace while the kids have fun in our indoor & outdoor play areas. Car Parking is available from £13 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing