We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, convenient location and hassle free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient location and hassle free parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We chose the hotel for its location and the fact that it is one of the very few hotels in york which guarantees parking and at a much lower rate than the city's ncp car parks.

The hotel is a very good quality, excellent staff who were extremely friendly and helpful.The only slight hiccup we had was on arrival when we were checked into a standard room even though we had booked a superior room but this was quickly rectified.

We visited york monster, 35 stonegate and experienced some great cafes and eateries including ambient tapas, cafe concerto and vj,s. Were also told of about a medieval drinking establishment above the bottle shop in stonegate, full of character but expensive if u fancy a pint of strawberry beer!

Overall a brilliant stay in york which was enhanced by the novotel! Thanks for a great short break

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowsurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Good morning. Thank you so much for your very nice comments. All have been shared with the team and we are all delighted you had a good time. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to York.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    971
    457
    143
    82
See reviews for
872
901
60
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Arriving after midnight, the check-in was very fast and efficient. Nice, clean and quiet room. Seemed a bit overpriced. The breakfast was average. Walkable distance to the city center of this very nice town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay. I will share your comments with the team. We do hope to welcome you back to York in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

My partner & I went to this hotel to stay for one night. We paid £135 for the Executive room. When we went to make a drink, the coffee machine had not been cleaned from the previous user so there was empty coffee sachets in the machine. The cups were dirty and still had a bit of coffee in them, the spoons also had coffee on so none of that had been cleaned.
The rest of the room was nice including the bathroom. Location was good as it was right next to York centre. It was £7 to park in hotel car park.
The bed was comfy and we slept well but I wouldn't go to this hotel again. For the price I paid I expected at least to have clean cups.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_louise_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Good afternoon. I would like to thank you for writing a comment following your recent stay with us. I am obviously disappointed to read that your coffee machine and cups were not cleaned. I can assure you that this is not a true reflection of our usual high cleanliness standards and that steps have been taken to avoid any reoccurence in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Christophe.Ughetto@accor.com should you wish to discuss the matter further. Thanking you for your honest feedback. Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at the Novotel York Centre hotel recently for 3 nights in an executive room and couldn't fault it in any way! We found the staff very attentive, helpful and polite. We asked for feather pillows and Maria who found it difficult to understand what we wanted, persevered and returned with two. We ate in the restaurant on the first night without high expectations - although we hadn't booked and ate late we were accommodated and the food was superb. I asked for soya milk at breakfast and it was delivered with no problem whereas other hotels have not always been so obliging. The location is perfect for sightseeing in York and the walk from the hotel along the canal is a very pleasant way to reach the many places of interest. Our stay at the Novotel York Centre far exceeded our expectations which is a great credit to the Manager and Staff. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkSupersec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for your kind comments. I will personally share them with the whole team as feedback from our guests is invaluable to keep improving our service delivery. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards, Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Warm welcome by friendly staff. Room was a good size but even getting into a superior room proved tricky with a buggy due to the room layout. However it was very clean and comfy and the travel cot with bedding was already set up for us - although the queensize bed accommodated all three of us with ease! . We made full use of the small play area and visited the pool each day of our stay
I was taken aback somewhat at the cost of the breakfast which I had pre-booked, but it was fantastic and well worth it, plus our little one ate for free. All staff were wonderfully friendly and the service was second to none.

Unfortunately our room overlooked the entrance at the front of the hotel so traffic noise was noticeable late at night as well as guests coming in etc, and due to the interior of the hotel, unfortunately you could hear every trip to the bathroom by neighbouring guests!

Although classed as 'centre' it was a good ten minutes walk to the city centre itself.... howewever saying that - all in all a very relaxing and enjoyable stay... we would have loved to have checked out later as advertised on the website (5pm) and enjoyed a leisurely lunch, however a later check out of 1pm gave us the opportunity to take our little one for a final dip in the pool before departure.

We stay in York every year and would definitely stay here again..... just wish it was closer to the Centre!

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior & get a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunderlandcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Good morning. Thank you so much for your very nice comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed in the Novotel for the bank holiday weekend. Arrived at noon and did not expect the room to be ready but whilst checking in we were told our room was immediately available.

Rooms large - modern furniture and very large comfortable bed. Only downside was the room got hot overnight and as we were on the front of the hotel we did not have the window open due to general noise. Inside the room there is a 'inner door' which meant that we heard no noise from the corridor which is not normally the case in a large hotel.

Breakfast was the normal self service buffet but possibly better than other places I have stayed as they had smoothies and large variety of breads, fruits and juices etc.

Location was great- easy to find and safe parking on site although chargeable separately. Walk into town not a problem- ideally located.

If I was going to York again I would not hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancsstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Good morning. I would like to thank you for your comments following your recent visit to our hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and would consider us again for your next visit. Thank you very much once again.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

Three of us (myself and two children) stayed in a superior room for three nights. The room was very good, a kingsize bed and a single sofa bed. It would have been cramped with four in the room but it was fine for the three of us. The room was very attractively decorated and bright and airy. Nice flatscreen Tv, minibar and good hanging space. The bathroom was very attractive but the separate toilet was a bit institutional, more thought could have gone into its decor. Having said that it does make things easier to have a separate loo when you have two daughters monopolising the bathroom.

The breakfast was very good, a good variety on offer and all well presented. The staff were attentive and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant one evening and were disappointed that many of the children's menu items were not available. However the food we did have was very good.

The pool is small and crowded at times but the children enjoyed it. The reception area is attractive, but spoiled for me by TVs showing football in every area.

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre and seems to attract families rather than the hen and stag parties we saw emerging from the nearby hotels. Free internet would be a good idea.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Good morning. Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted you had a good time and am looking forward to welcoming you back and your family to the Novotel York. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing