We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel York Centre
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in York
GreenLeadersBronze level
Exeter, Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Good location within easy walking distance of both the station and the city centre with all its delights. Hotel lacks historic character but is clean, comforable and welcoming. Bar area is not very inspiring. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildaExeter_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Good morning. Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    971
    457
    142
    82
See reviews for
870
901
60
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Our trip to York was over two nights and it was really enjoyable. The hotel room was excellent with plenty of space and it made a nice change to have a couch to relax on, rather than having to sit on the bed. The bathroom was clean with good fixtures. There was a separate toilet which you don't have in most hotels. After checking in, reception called to ask if everything was OK which was a nice added touch.

We visited the bar on the first night for a cold guinness (or two) and a gin & tonic (or two). These came with complimentary nuts. The little touches such as this, are always appreciated. The meals were very good, the food fresh and tasty.

The hotel is not centrally located, but the sightseeing bus has a stop out the front. We used this during our stay as the tickets last 48 hours. I would certainly recommend the Novotel for anyone visiting York.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor. I am obviously very pleased you had a good time and we hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Typical Executive Novotel room, plain but very comfortable and an excellent nights sleep in a relatively quiet and convenient location. Seemed a touch run down though with ripped sofa fabric and a broken light in bathroom. Internet was quite slow during day and bar and restaurant a little expensive. Otherwise all okay, very clean, friendly and efficient staff, comfy bed and excellent shower. Certainly better than some previously experienced, similarly priced, hotels near-by.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Good morning, Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and have already addressed the issues you raised with regards to the defects in your room. Thank you once again and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Ideal location with ample parking at £7 per day. In the lounge area there was a wii and XBox 360 for children to play with so really child friendly. We had 4 rooms in total and all located next to each other. I believe we had the refurbished rooms and they were very comfortable with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. Good selection at breakfast and nice eating area.

The only disappointment for me was the size of the swimming pool. I was looking forward to using it but didn't in the end. I felt it was far too small to accommodate the amount of guests with children staying at the hotel. Worse still it has no showers so I didn't fancy a swim then having to change back in my clothes then go back to my room for a shower!

Room Tip: ask for a refurished room with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to the pool area, a full refurbishment is scheduled to happen and will address some of your concerns. Thank you again for your comments and we all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel York.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Nice hotel, rooms were a good size and clean. Perfect location and had car parking :-)

Would go back

Only 3 small issues breakfast was quite expensive, car park wasn't free and no air con in bedroom.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Good morning. Just a few words to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Novotel York. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Stayed 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. We chose the hotel for its location and the fact that it is one of the very few hotels in york which guarantees parking and at a much lower rate than the city's ncp car parks.

The hotel is a very good quality, excellent staff who were extremely friendly and helpful.The only slight hiccup we had was on arrival when we were checked into a standard room even though we had booked a superior room but this was quickly rectified.

We visited york monster, 35 stonegate and experienced some great cafes and eateries including ambient tapas, cafe concerto and vj,s. Were also told of about a medieval drinking establishment above the bottle shop in stonegate, full of character but expensive if u fancy a pint of strawberry beer!

Overall a brilliant stay in york which was enhanced by the novotel! Thanks for a great short break

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowsurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Good morning. Thank you so much for your very nice comments. All have been shared with the team and we are all delighted you had a good time. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to York.

Kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
118 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Arriving after midnight, the check-in was very fast and efficient. Nice, clean and quiet room. Seemed a bit overpriced. The breakfast was average. Walkable distance to the city center of this very nice town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopheUghetto, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write a comment following your recent stay. I will share your comments with the team. We do hope to welcome you back to York in the future.

With kind regards,

Christophe Ughetto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 45 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel York Centre

Property: Novotel York Centre
Address: 4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in York
#8 Business Hotel in York
#9 Family Hotel in York
#14 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel York Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel York Centre hotel is a 3 star hotel, ideally located on the banks of the river Foss, alongside the historic city walls, within 5 minutes walk of the main city centre and a short drive to the University of York. All the en-suite contemporary rooms have internet access and satellite TV. Facilities include Elements Restaurant, Bar, indoor heated swimming. There are 8 fully-equipped function rooms for up to 210 people, perfect for meetings or weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Hotel Novotel York
York Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing